Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 is the logical continuation of the success story of Hankook’s Ultra-High Performance tires. Like the S1 Evo 2, it offers a very safe and sporting-yet-comfortable driving experience in both dry and wet conditions. The latest member of the Hankook Ventus family, which celebrated its market launch back in 1994, sets a new focus, in particular in the area of environmental protection and resource conservation.

This tire replaced the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 73%
Wear 67%
Comfort 78%
Buy again 74%

Tire review data from 27 tire reviews averaging 78% over 128,267 miles driven.

The Ventus S1 evo 3 is ranked 31st of 69 Summer Max Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Tire Reviews 17 Inch Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 9 tires

  • Positive - Extremely short wet braking distances, short dry braking, low noise, safe handling balance.
  • Negative - Undynamic handling with high levels of understeer and poor feedback in the dry and wet, higher rolling resistance.
  • Overall - The Hankook Ventus S1 Evo3 once again proves to be a tire with extremely high levels of safety by having by far the shortest wet braking distance, short dry braking, and a safe understeer balance in handling. However having tested the Evo3 in the same test as the touring bias Bridgestone Turanza T005, the tire feels dynamically closer to touring tire than UHP tire, so is one to pass on if you're looking for a sporty feeling drive.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild 19 Inch Summer UHP Tire Test - 2nd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Sport profile with outstanding driving characteristics in the wet, safe dry handling, short we and dry braking distances.
  • Negative - Average ride comfort.
View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild Sports Cars UHP Summer Tire Test - 5th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Balanced tire with good driving characteristics in the dry and wet, short braking distances, low noise, low rolling resistance, low price.
  • Negative - Limited curved aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

Questions and Answers for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3

2019-04-01 - Anyone knows, if this tire will come at 255/55R19 size? So far I can't find it at that size.

It is likely the SUV version of the EVO 3 will be produced in this size soon.


2020-07-27 - Please, i would like to know UTQG informations about Ventus S1 EVO3 225/45 R17 94Y, treadwear, traction, temperature..thanks

Unfortunately I don't have access to that data, sory. You could check directly with Hankook.


2021-07-24 - Does the ventus S1 evo3 k127 have the rim protection?

In the sizes I've tested it does not, however I expect it to have rim protection in certain large wheel sizes.


2021-12-26 - depth of tire pattern?

The Hankook Ventus S1 evo3 usually starts around 7.8mm, though there can be variation depending on tire size.


2022-01-29 - Already been answered but have any of there evo 3 k127s have rim protection as of 2022? And are these tires rated as XL tires?

Rim protection varies by size, as does the XL rating. Your tire retailer should be able to help tell you which is XL.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 2.2D 150 (215/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
Fitted a set of these to my Mazda3 Sport Nav. I’ve always been a fan of Hankook tires but have had various on different cars, Michelin to Budget.

First thing you notice with these tires is just how much they improve the ride. The car had stock Dunlop Sport Maxx TT tires and whilst these gave a sharper steering feel you felt every little ripple in the road. The Hankooks certainly smoothed things out, with only a small trade off in steering feel. Next is the grip. In both wet and dry I’ve been known to do some pretty stupid things, but I’ve yet to trigger the ABS or lose grip with these tires. They grip and go. Aqua planing isn’t any more of an issue than any other wider tire.

Downside to this tire is wear - front tires down to 2mm after just 19k but expected with a 2.2d fwd car. Even then no noticeable loss in grip. Regarding noise it seemed quieter when I first put the tires on, however these Mazda3’s aren’t the quietest and there is a lot of road noise coming through. Unsure if this is the tire itself or the actual car, but on a previous vehicle (Seat Ibiza) I noticed a similar intermittent droning noise when switching from the Ventus V12 Evo to the Ventus V12 Evo2. Will be trying the Michelin PS4 now that it’s available in this size, as had on an A3 S Line Saloon, found I got around 30k on the front tires and they’re only £10 per tire more.
112 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Fiat Bravo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Very good tires. If you put it on your car you Will not regret it.
37 - tire reviewed on September 12, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Audi S3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
Fitted as standard to Audi S3, I was bit worried as never considered the brand before but to my surprise the tires have good grip wet and dry, reasonably quiet and been 11000 miles and still 4mm tread. I have had various tires before Pirelli, Dunlop and Michelins and the Hankooks come out as good if not better than more expensive tires. ....would have no hesitation buying again.
35 - tire reviewed on September 17, 2020   
Have you driven on the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 >

Latest Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3 Reviews

Given 56% while driving a Porsche Boxster 987.2 (235/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
As I bought the Boxster as my new car back in the summer of 2020, it needed new tires and I decided to switch old N-rated Pilot Sports for the Hankook Ventus S1 evo 3. Had some experience with the evo 2 and liked them, so I gave these a shot. I would not ever buy it as a UHP tire although it grips very well both dry and wet. The steering feel is just terrible and soft, you don't feel much through the tire and the rear end had a wobbly behaviour. I could not trust it. The grip is excellent, but sportiness is hardly there. Later, I put Goodyear Super Sports and I could instantly trust them. I could send it into a corner with more confidence.
0 - tire reviewed on May 25, 2022   
Given 70% while driving a MINI Cooper S Works (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
I bought these three years ago, and they've held up pretty nicely to some spirited street and club drives. Using them confidently in the rain, they have some noise and a bit of harsh road but, mine are run-flats. Now swapping wheels to something a bit wider and ditching run-flats, I'd like to try something else. I'll be keeping these on the 17" OEM wheels and in the shed in case.
0 - tire reviewed on May 22, 2022   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 85% while driving a Mazda 3 Skyactiv 2018 (215/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 1,300 average miles
Been driving these about 2000km's in a Mazda 3 1.5 120hp, drove in heavy rain, high speeds and both rough and smooth roads and some spirited action. In short, they feel like a true premium tire, especially on B type of roads with some rough bits, they make the car feel very controlled and connected, offers excellent bump absorbation and feels never crashy. In terms of sidewall rigidness, they are absolutely spot-on in terms of comfort and sportiness balance and they are always ready from the get go, no need for heat to build up to generate grip like other sports tires. These are the best aspects of S3 Evo's. If you push them hard in dry mid-corner or try to make some quick direction changes, you can feel bit vagueness or latency from steering (my previous PS3's were sharper and a bit more connected) but nowhere near bad or loose as a "efficient-energy" oriented type tires. But the worse thing is, they shift the cornering balance of the car from neutral to slightly understeery. Rear end was bit more playful with my PS3's, offering some lift-off action with pointy front end, these one's a bit more safety oriented thus less fun above the limit. In wet S3 Evo's are simply incredible, stick the tarmac like glue, both in brakes and lateral grip. I am amazed how grippy they are in the wet (at least when they are new). My problem with these are excessive road noise in some surfaces. Sometimes they are exceptionally quiet, but in some surfaces they drone like hell. I think this sound fluctuation disrupts comfort more than a steady sound, since the Mazda 3 is a poorly soundproofed car, this problem may well be escalated more. It may not be problem in a premium german car. In summary, S3 Evo's are not the most dynamic tire in nature, not a true Potenza sport like tire, but they feel like quality rubber, with great daily ride capabilites and some added sporty flavours. They will fit great in low to mid powered cars for mildly demanding drivers. Sorry for my english by the way. Ps: mines are 45"ZR"18 ones, i presume 45R18 ones offers softer tirewall therefore are more comfort oriented.
0 - tire reviewed on May 20, 2022   
Given 67% while driving a BMW 420d M Sport X Drive (255/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
comfortable tires, good grip on dry surfaces, but the tires are very soft, the sides are soft, the direction of the car is inaccurate, the car feels unstable at high speed. They are not performance tires, they are rather car tires without sporting pretensions. tire noise is high at low speeds. I switched to bridgestone potenza, which are just as comfortable, but the steering response has become much more precise. very small rim protection.
1 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2022   
Given 91% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Coupe Facelift W207 (255/35 R18) on mostly motorways for 800 spirited miles
I have recently put these on to my W207FL AMG. previous set was conti sc5. the difference is like day and night; considering the early days with contis. really good dry and wet grip. braking and accelerating is also way better. the aids are not kicking in as they used to do. the tread seems a bit soft and deep so that it makes you lean to sides a little bit while tight moves.
0 - tire reviewed on April 23, 2022   
Given 92% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLS 350 (285/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
My Mercedes CLS had the 'MO' PIRELLI P ZERO fitted when I bought it last summer, in the dry they were great but in the wet they were dreadful, roundabouts had to be navigated with caution, the P ZERO has been around donkeys years and in my opinion, it shows. I had Hankook ventus S1 Evo 3 fitted a couple of weeks ago and they have transformed the way the car handles, they are quiet too, wet handling is vastly improved, no breakaway from the rear or wash out from front. The steering response seems much sharper. It's understandable why this tire is becoming standard fit on several premium high performance cars. I would consider my driving style to be 'average', I like to push on when conditions allow but doubt if I'll ever reach the limit of the tires potential. These tires are notibly cheaper than the more top regarded brands too. I'd highly recommend them. It's early days do I can't comment on wear.
1 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2022   
Given 71% while driving a Nissan Juke (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 16,000 average miles
Overall a good tire - came fitted to my Nissan Juke as standard - wet grip seems to be an issue AQUAPLANING alot.
0 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2022   
Given 60% while driving a Audi Q7 (/45 R17) on mostly town for 30 easy going miles
I purchased a 2021 Audi Q7 which came with the HANKOOK VENTUS S1 EVO3 EV (K127E) and the tread did not last 6 months! I went for an oil change and the dealer pointed out that the tread is at 2! My mileage is only 18,000! My wife drives this and it is horrible in the snow! We purchased it around March of 2021. She is a comfort driver. I asked the dealer why they would sell me summer tires that last only 18,000 miles and was told that Audi can't find good tires and this was all they run with? If you are buying a new Audi - be careful! You may be getting tires that need to be replaced in a year, and they are not cheap. If the dealer you are considering buying from fails to mention the mileage you should expect form the new car, find another dealer, and one who will put that in writing! Would have been nice if my sales rep mentioned this. I feel ripped off and let down by the dealer and Audi!
7 - tire reviewed on March 21, 2022   
Given 86% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Excellent tires for sporty drivers! My coworker has a E46 328i BMW with these Hankooks, 225/40R19 (93Y) Extra Load. Just a word of caution, these tires are meant for the front of a E46 M3, not the "standard" E46's, it rubs in the wheel wells, especially when lowered!!! A 225/35R19 or 215/35R19 fits a lot better! Ok, with that out of the way, how good are these Hankooks? Dry grip, incredible! Wet grip, well above average! Wear, excellent for UUHP tires! Noise, average Road feedback and handling, very good Comfort, average I highly recommend the Ventus S1 Evo3's, and don't just take my word for it, even big car companies choose these tires! For example: Tesla Model 3 19" rims Skoda Enyaq iV Porsche Panamera And many more! Even Tire Reviews themselves recommend this tire!
1 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2022   
Given 73% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.6 FSI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15 spirited miles
Great tire for a car where you don't necessarily the sportiest tire but still like to drive quite ambitious. I have a set of these on my 2006 1.6 Jetta. The car really is not capable of pushing the limits of any more performance oriented tire, that being said I do enjoy flicking the car around roundabouts and even through mountain passes every now and then. What I really like is that the tire gives you alot of confidence all the time. It feels very safe, even when you get to the limit of its grip it doesn't just let go but gives you progressive feedback that it is at its limit. Braking is all around excellent, especially in the wet. I have driven loads of different tires and have a set of Goodyear Eagle F1 A5 on my BMW for example, and when it is rainy braking feels heaps better on the Hankook. I only have two complaints about this tire. While ride comfort is excellent, the soft sidewalls really do not transmit alot of feedback through the wheel. Steering can feel quite vague at times. The other drawback is the noise. One of the loudest tires I have driven so far. This is the only thing about it that would make me consider buying something else. All in all a very good purchase, especially at the price. The value for money is outstanding and the tire never feels budgety. For a more powerful or performance oriented car I would want something else, but for a daily average car this is a great choice, with the main point being that it feels safe and gives you loads of confidence in all conditions.
1 - tire reviewed on November 21, 2021   
Given 95% while driving a Opel MOKKA X 1.6D CDTI (245/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,600 average miles
So yeah . Here I am again. Hankook s1 evo 3 is really good Felt really grippy every corner and straights . The faster I go the more gripper it gets .
2 - tire reviewed on November 18, 2021   
Given 55% while driving a MINI Cooper SD (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 7,000 easy going miles
Dry grip is good, wet grip less so - slow corners when the tires are cold can be tricky if you're not paying attention. They're as noisy and comfortable as any other run flat I've used. Previous tires were Primacy 3 - they are still on the rear, and still have 5mm left after 25k miles, 5k of which the spent on the front. The Hankook's, which are on the front, are down to 4mm after 7k, all of which has been motorway school run. I am quite forgiving on the tires, due to their cost, and the price of fuel, and the car is always in 'green' mode - that moderates acceleration, and I'd expect them to last much longer than they have. I had hoped for 20k, but expect 10k now.
0 - tire reviewed on November 18, 2021