Vredestein Ultrac Satin

The Vredestein Ultrac Satin is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Vredestein Ultrac.

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 85%
Comfort 91%
Buy again 88%

Tire review data from 43 tire reviews averaging 89% over 369,885 miles driven.

The Ultrac Satin is ranked 5th of 146 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Tire Reviews SUV Tire Test - 7th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Very good aquaplaning resistance, relatively low rolling resistance, good grip on gravel.
  • Negative - Long braking distances in the dry and wet, lower levels of comfort.
  • Overall - The Vredestein Ultrac Satin is a tire we'd like to see trade some of its aquaplaning performance for some more rubber on the ground for improvements in the grip tests, as subjectively the tire was nice to drive on, it just lacked grip.
View Full Test >>

2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test - 6th of 20 tires

  • Positive - Very high aquaplaning resistance, good comfort, low noise.
  • Negative - Long wet braking, poor dry stability and long dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tire Test - 9th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Good dry handling.
  • Negative - Very long braking in the dry and wet, average wet handling.
View Full Test >>

2021 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2021 Tire Reviews SUV Tire Test (235/55 R18)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2020 SUV 4x4 Summer Tire Test (255/55 R18)
  • 5th: 2020 Gute Fahrt SUV Summer Tire Test (215/50 R18)
  • 5th: 2020 ViBilagare SUV Tire Test (225/60 R18)
  • 6th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 9th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 11th: 2018 Ace 235/45 R18 Summer Tire Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 8th: 2017 AMS Summer UHP Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 9th: 2017 AZ Summer Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 9th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer SUV Tire Test (235/50 R18)
  • 11th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 12th: 2017 Auto Bild Summer Tire Shootout (225/50 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    225/60 R16 98W   C A 70 11.51kgs
    205/55 R17 91W   C A 70 9.38kgs
    235/65 R17 108W XL   B A 70 12.77kgs
    225/35 R18 87Y XL   E A 71 9.13kgs
    205/40 R18 86Y XL   E A 70 8.97kgs
    235/40 R18 95Y XL   C A 70 10.08kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   C A 72 10.89kgs
    255/60 R18 108W   B A 72 14.75kgs
    235/45 R19 99W XL   C A 70 10.98kgs
    235/50 R19 99W   C A 70 11.87kgs
    255/55 R19 111W XL   B A 72 14.61kgs

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Vredestein Ultrac Satin. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Vredestein Ultrac Satin Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen golf 2.0 gt tdi (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    Dealer oredred these especially for my car, being so new he hadn't any in stock. In the past I've used Michelin Pilot Sport 3s and Goodyear Eagle F1 AS2. These Veedesteins are up there with the best. Massive improvement over the Bridgestone Potenzas that were on before - much more comfortable, less noise, much better grip. Will definitely buy these again.
    Helpful 282 - tire reviewed on April 27, 2016
    Given 73% while driving a Mazda 3 MPS (215/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
    Changed from Bridgestone potenza 050a to these. I was looking for more comfort (over bumps and quieter) and better wet grip. I definitely got both of these but I lost the precise handling and road feedback of the performance tires. After these (55000km) I changed to Goodyear as3's which gave me back the proper sporty handling plus very good confident wet grip and low noise levels.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on February 23, 2023
    Given 70% while driving a Honda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,500 spirited miles
    I'm disappointed in this tire, handling and comfort are really good but grip in the wet is awful. Sometimes there is a lack of grip on very hot smooth surfaces which didn't happen with Hankook, Conti and Bridgestone tires.
    If you are only driving your car in dry conditions this tire is amazing, so it's perfect for weekend cars. But I can't recommend it to anyone for a daily driving.
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on October 11, 2023
    Have you driven on the Vredestein Ultrac Satin tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Vredestein Ultrac Satin? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Vredestein Ultrac Satin >

    Latest Vredestein Ultrac Satin Reviews

    Given 81% while driving a Opel Insignia Sports Tourer Biturbo 4x4 (245/45 R18) on mostly country roads for 80,000 spirited miles
    I put on 4 of these when the previous Hankooks were replaced due to bad alignment having caused them to wear out on the inside tread. First impression was that they need to be aired up to 3-3.2bar or they feel wobbly in sidewalls, it felt like someone was rocking the car sideways on bad, bumpy roads. Ones that were done they were just fine and I pushed them hard on many occasions without being let down
    Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on March 25, 2023
    Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.4T 150 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Astra 1.4 150 HP, 2015 model. High wear, front set was down half by 10K mark, gave good feedback however had large understeer in the wet. Dry handling was decent and the tire felt sharp through fast bends on the dry. Very comfortable with decent noise levels. Would by again for the price however need to improve on the wear and wet handling.
    Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on March 5, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Audi (245/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    Had these on my c7 audi A6, for the price they are a great tire, very quiet and offers good grip both wet and dry, the only problem I ended up having was one of the read tires went out of shape near the end of their life and caused vibration, maybe it was a weak tire but I'd buy again.
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on November 11, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a Renault Renault Megane III Estate 1.5dci (130hp) (205/55 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 spirited miles
    I looked closely at these tires for a long time and still bought it in the spring of 2021. After Pirelli Cinturato it is heaven and earth. It became 2 times quieter, the comfort also increased, the resistance to aquaplaning is remarkable. Wear during the run is minimal (a little bit in the front, like new in the back). If you want quality tires, this is it. Highly recommend
    Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2021
    Given 93% while driving a Skoda (215/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,500 average miles
    Excellent tires also in wet, also indry. After the reading a lot s of reviews a decieded to try Vredestein Ultrac Satin, and I have to say : was the best choice! On my first trip I got cca 500 km strong raining, but my car was fixed perfectly on the highway. Before I had Pirelli Cinturanto P7 for 50.000 km. I had on my old tires always 4mm grip, but on the wet roads it was dangerous, very hard and too noise. Than I decieded to buy Vredestein tires. With Vredestein Ultrac Satin you dont feel any bumps on the road, more comfortable than Pirellis, and very low noise level. The consumption is the same like like with Pirelli. After 4500 km I cannot say anything about wear, they are like new. I will definitely buy this tires again, top quality!!
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on August 3, 2021
    Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen GOLF MK5 GT SPORT 140PS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 50,000 spirited miles
    One caveat to this review: I only had these tires on the rear of a Mk5 Golf GT TDI with standard suspension. That said, I'm just about to put a set on the front. On the rear, these tires followed through perfectly. I live in Cornwall, with lots of uneven, bumpy, twisty roads, and they put up with a lot. Wear wise I've had them on for just about 2 1/2 years, and they've done probably around 50k miles, and still have plenty of tread. In the dry, they give me confidence that if I want to boot it round a sweeping corner the rear end will stay on the road, really great. In the wet, they feel planted and secure. Comfortable too. Only negative is I would say they had increased road noise over other tires I've used, but they are on the rear of a Golf which is renowned for having awful rear noise so who knows! Probably among the best tires I've ever used, so definitely getting another set.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on June 13, 2021
    Given 54% while driving a Volkswagen GTi Mk6 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    I would not buy this tire again. Grip is good in the wet, but there's not much feel to it and the grip under hard acceleration in dry is really not very good. For a sport car just go for the premium brands.
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a Audi A4 (245/40 R18) on mostly town for 125 average miles
    Just have them for 18 days on an Audi A4 B8 2015 Quattro 190 HP with standard suspension. The feedback is very good. I'm impressed with the comfort because they behave the same way as my 17' wheels behave over bumps. Stability is much improved compared to my 4 year old Continental Premium Contact.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on March 15, 2021
    Given 100% while driving a Skoda (205/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    When choosing new tires I looked into a whole range of factors and eventually plumpt for Vredestein Ultrac Satin. I was replacing a set of Pirelli P zero nero that were dire. The Vredestein tires are with out doubt the best tires I have fitted to a car. Not a make I had come across before I did my research but I am so pleased I did. The transformation in feel and control of my VRS Fabia estate is sensational, I can now truly have some fun with it rather than worrying about when it was going to kill me! The ride has been improved so much, wet weather driving has stopped being a lottery of when will it let go. These new tires just give firm predictable grip under cornering and braking. I can't conclusively give a view on wear as they haven't been on the car long enough, but unless they wear drastically fast I will definitely use these tires again.
    Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on January 27, 2021
    Volvo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    I drive a Volvo S60 2.5T with 240hp (2008). I have had the car now for 7 years, and have driven the car with new Michelin Primacy 3, and subsequently with Goodyear Asymmetric 3. The Michelins were worn out after 25.000km. Big disappointment. The Goodyears lasted about 35.000km, but at the end they were a nightmare: no traction at all in wet weather. After reading the reviews, I decided to try the Vredestein Ultrac Satins. These are hands down the best tires I have ever had. Exceptional handling in the wet! Superb road feel back, and the ride is so quiet!! Bumps in the road seem like non-existent. I've had these tires now for about a month and have driven some 2000 km, and they constantly astound me in their quality. Of course, I cannot say anything about the wear, but I am really impressed. This has nothing to do about a budget tire: this is pure quality!
    Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on December 17, 2020
    Given 81% while driving a BMW 525D (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    In general very good tire.. But based on reviews, i am little bit confused.. They are much better on dry. I am not so confident on wet with them, especially on lower speed in sharp corners. Excellent braking on both dry and wet.
    Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on June 18, 2020
    Given 92% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    - excellent in low NOISE: this is for the speed up to 120 Km/hour - excellent in Comfort: compared to previous Michelins and Dunlops are Ultra Satin tires better - average diesel consumption went down by 0,6l / 100 km - handling on very wet road is predictible - after 2000 miles I can not value WEAR, because is not adequate.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on May 29, 2020