Nokian WetProof

The Nokian WetProof is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Nokian Line.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 89%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 88%
Wear 61%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 76%

Tire review data from 13 tire reviews averaging 80% over 47,100 miles driven.

The WetProof is ranked 49th of 135 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tire Test - 6th of 18 tires

  • Positive - Top marks in the wet, good on dry roads.
  • Negative - Increased fuel consumption.
  • Overall - Although the Nokian Tires Wetproof gets good ratings in both dry and wet conditions as well as in terms of wear, it does not get more than a satisfactory result in terms of fuel consumption, albeit just barely. This satisfactory assessment ultimately leads to a devaluation in the overall grade. Thus, the Nokian Tires proves to be recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tire Test - 6th of 10 tires

  • Overall - The Nokian Wetproof is excellent in the wet and solid in the dry. Not a clear recommendation however the limit of wet handling can be tricky.
View Full Test >>

2021 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 11 tires

  • Positive - Apart from a slight weakness when braking, the WetProof is very good in the wet with the fastest wet handling lap, and it's also controllable in the dry.
  • Negative - Average wet braking, average rolling resistance.
  • Overall - Very good.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
175/65 R14 82T   C A 66  
195/50 R15 82V   B A 68  
185/55 R15 86H   B A 66  
195/55 R15 85H   C A 68  
195/60 R15 88V   C A 68  
205/60 R15 91V   C A 68  
175/65 R15 84H   C A 66  
195/65 R15 91V   B A 68  
195/45 R16 84V   C A 68  
215/45 R16 90V   B A 68  
205/50 R16 87V   C A 68  
195/55 R16 87H   C A 68  
205/55 R16 94W   B A 68  
205/55 R16 94V   B A 68  
205/55 R16 91W   E A 68  
205/55 R16 91V   C A 68  
205/55 R16 91H   C A 68  
215/55 R16 97V   B A 68  
225/55 R16 99W   B A 68  
195/60 R16 89H   B A 68  
205/60 R16 96V   B A 68  
215/60 R16 99H   C A 68  
215/60 R16 99V   C A 68  
215/45 R17 91W   C A 68  
205/50 R17 93W   B A 68  
215/50 R17 95V   C A 68  
225/50 R17 98V   C A 68  
205/55 R17 95V   B A 68  
215/55 R17 94V   C A 68  
215/50 R18 92W          
195/55 R20 95H   B A 68  

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WetProof

2020-01-29 - Which tire is best: good year efg or conti premium 6 or hankook ventus prime3 or nokian wetproof or turanza t005?

If you look at the test results on the website, you will find both the Continental PremiumContact 6 and Bridgestone Turanza T005 have won multiple tests in the last few years.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Nokian WetProof Reviews

Given 70% while driving a Renault Fluence (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 easy going miles
its not quite its noisy like 71 db tires
109 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2019   
Given 93% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (215/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 150 average miles

Hello,

So far, I've been driving a set of winter Nokian tires, I think they were WRD3 and they were excellent!
And now, something about the summer Wetproof after just 200km along the main road. The general impression is, of course, that the car is more comfortable and that it flows more smoothly over the holes . I was fortunate to drive them in the dry and in the rain. On dry tires they hold the car as "on the rails" very well adhere in the curves, no creaking, slipping. The wet grip is fantastic, it seems to me that I did not drive a single tire like this in wet conditions. They literally behave the same as on dry. Tires do not feel at all tire tracks that are covered with shallow longitudinal paddles . At speeds of 100/110km/h , the paddles literally turn into dust while the car goes "by rail". There is no trouble catching the steering wheel, or moving from the direction. This only happens with the larger bars, but at that speed it's something to expect, especially when one wheel hits the paddle ... However, even then I did not have the impression that I completely lost control. As far as the sound in the cabin is concerned, it is moderate compared to the previous GY efficent grip, I would say it is similar. I wish they were a little quieter, it seems to me that it can always be more quiet because it matters to me :), but far from being annoying. This is only my first impression, I do not know how will they wear for next 20.000-30.000 km, as I expect to drive them next few seasons...
36 - tire reviewed on July 15, 2019   
Given 100% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
road grip and also price are perfect. i feel safe like reading Universal Declaration of Human Rights while driving my car.

my previous tires were prelli and so bad according to nokian.
32 - tire reviewed on September 1, 2019   
Have you driven on the Nokian WetProof tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WetProof? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian WetProof >

Latest Nokian WetProof Reviews

Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen Passat (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 7,500 easy going miles
I live in Europe. I bought four of these tires somewhere around april 2019. At first they felt very nice on the road. The rubber was soft and smooth. Autumn the same year i switched to winter tires, stored them these in a cold dry place, avoiding the sun. I rotated them every month. The following year when i had to switch back to these the mechanic said one of the tires has lost its shape and put it in the rear of the vehicle. That same story repeated in 2020 and 2021 - only a single tire has lost its shape. This year i noticed excessive vibration in the steering wheel whenever i go above 75 mph. I thought the rims are bent to i had them all straightened. The mechanic said all 4 tires have lost their shape and i must throw them right away. Not to mention i noticed some cracks in the rubber in 2021. Definitely wont buy again. Btw check this video out. The cracks are kind of similar. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=If93_lgTeSk
0 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2022   
Given 63% while driving a Honda Accord (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Nokian is no stranger to my vehicles, I have used them for years and highly value their fantastic cold weather performance during many of the cold spells that have led to snow and ice being a daily occurance, So with this in mind I had high hopes for the Wetproof as an ideal tire for my 13 Honda Accord Tourer 2.2 which has had a remap to bring it to 230hp. I was not at all disappointed with the grip wet or dry, the cars front end felt like it was on rails even on a wet uphill slight off camber and the precision that the tire turns in with is exceptional. I have used Falken FK510 before and Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 and I have to say the Wetproof is leagues ahead in grip and feedback. My sole gripe and this is a big one is the wear rates, I don't know if it is due to the road surfaces or some other factor but after only 10k miles the inbuilt wear counters (brilliant idea!) are showing 3mm. I realise that it is impossible to have all things but for my usage less than 15k miles is not good enough for my daily drive 60 miles return. Perhaps with a slightly lighter car and a more responsible attitude to speed limits the tire could be made to last longer but for me require something a little harder wearing. I do highly rate the grip and feedback but the wear rate makes it an uneconomic choice for me.
3 - tire reviewed on July 20, 2021   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 66% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R16 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
These replaced the OE Continental premium contact 2's that had lasted a considerable amount of time. You do get a feeling of security in the wet conditions that we see all too often in the UK, though I'm not entirely convinced that this isn't subjective due to these being sold as a wet weather biased tire. I couldn't decide if the tread pattern on these was designed for LHD vehicles as it appears there is diagonal tread that would shed water from the verge to the road centre were you driving on the right hand side of the road. This tread isn't formed that deeply into the tires though so as I found out doesn't last that long. From the fitters these came inflated to 30psi, the manufacturers recommendations inside the door suggest something like 33psi on the front and 45psi rear with passengers and luggage. Needless to say this seemed excessive so the tires weren't inflated to anywhere near this. I was a bit surprised when there was appreciable signs of wear in the middle of the tires of the driven wheels when the levels of the tread depth rapidly went down to 3mm. Perhaps its the new tread compound that nokian have developed, but the amount of wear was unexpected for a mid range tire. I haven't seen tires wear this quickly since the days when I used to run budget tires. I would really like to be able to say exactly how many miles these tires have lasted, especially considering how gently they've been driven. It isn't straight forward though, as I ran them on the non driven wheels for a couple of thousand miles until I wore down the continentals, then do the swap to winter tires annually. I would estimate the wear to be less than 12k miles though, and we are down to less than 3mm, I haven't noticed an awful lot of wear yet on the pair of tires on the undriven wheels. I do get it, if you want performance then it comes at the cost of longevity, but this level of wear surprised me and did make me wonder what to replace these with or if there was a similar compound in the WR snowproofs for when my winter tires need replacing.
2 - tire reviewed on November 13, 2020   
Given 85% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Really really great tires. Was a bit sceptical at first, because I know that Nokian makes great winter tire, but didn't know how wold the summer tires preform. And at last, now I can say that i wold definetly buy these tires over any michelin od continentals again. They especially excel in the wet. On the highway with a lot off rain - no problem. Really good job Nokian!
6 - tire reviewed on October 14, 2020   
Given 90% while driving a Skoda (195/50 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
I have switched from GY EG Performance (reviewed) and had pretty good experience with winter WR D3 so my expectations were quite high. Since the Goodyear tire is quite common and, in my opinion, still one of the best, I think their comparison would be handier than an attempt to become a new Melville. Dry: excellent, the Wetproof is even better than GY, especially in terms of grip; braking distances, acceleration (yes, it's more because they are fresh, but they really are better even if compared to new GY). Noticeably lower rolling resistance. Handling-wise it's a draw. Wet: as good as GY which had slightly lower rolling resistance in such conditions. Safe feeling and predictable behaviour, not prone to aquaplaning even in VERY heavy rain; deep puddles are felt but without loss of control. Tie again. Noise: quieter than GY on almost any OK-ish surface, noisier on beaten rough low-quality tarmac (pattern-derived). Significantly quieter on concrete highways. Fuel consumption / rolling resistance: personally, I don't care about fuel economy figures on EU-stickers (hardly any relation to real life experience) but I have to admit they are truly impressive in the dry and quite good in the wet. Wear: no signs of any wear yet. And I don't really care, I'd rather replace a quickly worn tire than a heavily aged one with plenty of tread but no grip. Sadly, Continental PC5 no longer available. Positive: handling, performance in dry & wet conditions, price similar to Hankook; together cheapest among (semi-)premium tires Negative: no rim protection but struggling to find anything else Made in St. Petersburg, not Nokia, but quality issues from WR D4 times should have been resolved long time ago, no worry then.
10 - tire reviewed on July 14, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota MR2 mk3 Roadster (215/45 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 1,800 spirited miles
Toyota MR2 roadster 2004, This is the second time I have purchased Nokian tires and I am not disappointed, the car feels as if it’s on rails in wet weather and there is great steering feel, done about 1800 miles on them so far with no issues I previously had Nokian line which I loved and had done about 36000 on before changing but there was no stock of these when changing so bought wetproof instead. You can really transform the handling of a car by picking the correct tire
10 - tire reviewed on July 4, 2020   
Given 96% while driving a Toyota rav (235/55 R18 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
I have bought winter tires from Nokian for my Toyota rav4 4x4 prior to buying these. Guess why .. because winter tires were insanely good. I bought my car with Bridgestone dueler tires that literally slipped over anything that was a little bit wet. In contrast, I was unable to slip these tires on wet, not to mention dry road. So far tried them on tarmac as well as gravel, dirt, grass and even mud. Never had any issues whatsoever. It's not that I am an expert in the subject, but have tested few different sets of tires from different manufacturers, and so far Nokians are my favs. Absolutely recommend.
9 - tire reviewed on May 13, 2020   
Given 97% while driving a Fiat Panda (175/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 650 spirited miles
Excellet sumer tires! I did about 1000km on those already. Very quiet ride (size 175/65 R14 - I can bearly hear them) comfortable on bad roads and superb handling/ cornring on both dry and wet. Very predictable tires even when pushed hard. I really think this is the best money can buy.
12 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2020   
Given 74% while driving a Kia Motors Soul 1.6 CDI (200/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
I wasn't happy with summer Sava HP2 so I was looking for something better for my wifes car... For a moment I wanted to go all in on Michelin or Conti, but Nokian had a great price they did well on tests. After first 1000km I am not dissapointed, they seem to be a really solid tires. They are not uhp tires, but they feel safe and predictable in all conditions.
21 - tire reviewed on April 13, 2020