Continental AllSeasonContact

The Continental AllSeasonContact is the second summer-bias all season tire to the market, and a rival for the Michelin CrossClimate. The AllSeasonContact combines good winter and summer performances, plus best in class rolling resistance.

The AllSeasonContact will be available in 14 to 18-inch sizes, widths of 165 to 245mm, 40 to 70 series cross sections and T/H/V speed ratings.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 84%
Wear 77%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 84%
Snow Grip 85%
Ice Grip 81%

Tire review data from 31 tire reviews averaging 83% over 585,711 miles driven.

The AllSeasonContact is ranked 8th of 47 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Good handling in the wet and dry, good snow braking and handling, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - High internal noise, weak snow traction, extended dry braking.
  • Overall - The Continental AllSeasonContact might be one of the oldest all season tires in the group now, but it's still performing well with a solid balanced result in all categories. Consistency is important in an all season tire, and while the Continental didn't win any test, it didn't do badly in any test either, with a solid string of 4th and 5th places putting it in fourth place overall in the balanced score weighting, and fifth in the mild climate. Recommended.

View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test - 13th of 17 tires

  • Positive - Best winter qualities, stable wet handling, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeering handling and longer braking distances on dry roads, limited mileage and economy.
  • Overall - Fair.
View Full Test >>

2022 All Season Tire Market Overview - 8th of 37 tires

View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2022 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test (225/50 R18)
  • 3rd: 2022 Sport Auto All Season Tire Test (235/35 R19)
  • 4th: 2022 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2022 All Season Tire Market Overview (195/55 R16)
  • 13th: 2022 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (195/55 R16)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2021 AZ All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2021 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 3rd: 2021 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2021 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test (215/65 R17)
  • 10th: 2021 All Season Tire Market Overview (225/50 R17)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ADAC SUV All Season Tire Test (235/55 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 1st: All Season vs Winter vs Nordic vs Studded Tires (205/60 R16)
  • 3rd: 2020 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2020 Sport Auto All Season Tire Test (225/45 R18)
  • 3rd: 2020 Tire Reviews All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2020 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test (215/60 R16)
  • 8th: 2020 All Season Tire Market Overview - 32 Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2019 ACE GTU All Season Tire Test (205/60 R16)
  • 2nd: 2019 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tire Test (235/55 R19)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Express Winter Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2019 Auto Bild 4x4 All Season Tire Test (235/65 R17)
  • 4th: 2019 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 6th: 2019 Summer and All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2019 All Season Tire Performance Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 7 of the best all season tires (205/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2018 AMS All Season Tire Test (225/45 R16)
  • 1st: 2018 Auto Express All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2nd: 2018 ADAC All Season Tire Test (175/65 R14)
  • 2nd: 2018 ACE All Season and Winter Tire Test (185/65 R15)
  • 2nd: 2018 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2018 AZ Summer AND All Season Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2018 27 All Season Tire Shootout (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2017 All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R14 86H XL   B B 71 6.44kgs
    155/65 R14 75T   C B 71 5.53kgs
    175/65 R14 86H XL   C B 71 5.94kgs
    185/65 R14 90T XL   B B 71 6.91kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   B B 71 5.95kgs
    195/50 R15 86H XL   C B 72 7.02kgs
    185/55 R15 86H XL   C B 71 6.66kgs
    195/55 R15 89H XL   C B 72 7.08kgs
    185/60 R15 88V XL   B B 71 6.67kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   B B 71 6.67kgs
    195/60 R15 92V XL   B B 72 7.61kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   C B 71 5.90kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   C B 71 7.00kgs
    175/65 R15 88T XL   B B 71 6.50kgs
    185/65 R15 92H XL   B B 71 7.22kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   B B 71 7.22kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   C B 72 7.65kgs
    195/65 R15 95V XL   C B 72 7.71kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C B 72 7.90kgs
    215/45 R16 90V XL   C B 72 7.63kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   C B 72 7.27kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B B 72 7.38kgs
    195/55 R16 91H XL   B B 72 7.43kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   B B 72 7.31kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C B 72 8.03kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   B B 72 8.00kgs
    215/55 R16 97V XL   B B 72 8.30kgs
    195/60 R16 89H   C B 72 7.69kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   B B 72 8.65kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B B 72 8.65kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B B 72 9.23kgs
    235/60 R16 100H   B B 72 10.22kgs
    215/65 R16 102V XL   B B 72 10.35kgs
    215/65 R16 98H REN       10.30kgs
    215/70 R16 100H   B B 72 10.48kgs
    215/40 R17 87V XL   C B 72 8.22kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C B 72 8.36kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C B 72 8.97kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   C B 72 9.37kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   C B 72 9.48kgs
    235/45 R17 97Y XL   C B 72 9.86kgs
    205/50 R17 89H   C B 72 8.72kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C B 72 8.42kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   C B 72 8.40kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   C B 72 8.67kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   C B 72 8.70kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   B B 72 9.64kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   B B 72 8.83kgs
    215/55 R17 98V XL   B B 72 8.76kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   B B 72 8.87kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B B 72 10.12kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL   B B 72 10.12kgs
    235/55 R17 103V XL   B B 72 10.39kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B B 72 9.75kgs
    215/60 R17 100V XL   B B 72 9.48kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   B B 72 10.25kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   B B 72 11.50kgs
    225/65 R17 106V XL   B B 72 11.42kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   B B 72 11.77kgs
    225/40 R18 92W XL   C B 72 9.77kgs
    225/40 R18 92V XL   C B 72 9.49kgs
    235/40 R18 95V XL   C B 72 9.92kgs
    245/40 R18 97V XL   B B 72 9.85kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   C B 72 9.69kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL   C B 72 10.60kgs
    215/50 R18 92V   B B 72 9.31kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL   B B 72 9.62kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL   B B 72 10.95kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL AO B B 72 12.10kgs
    235/55 R18 100V AO B B 72 11.62kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   B B 72 11.61kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   B B 72 13.07kgs
    255/55 R18 109V XL   B B 73 11.54kgs
    225/60 R18 100V         11.52kgs
    225/60 R18 100H   B B 72 10.65kgs
    235/60 R18 107W XL   B B 72 10.77kgs
    235/60 R18 107V XL   B B 72 11.80kgs
    215/50 R19 93T (+)       13.90kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL   B B 72 11.57kgs
    195/55 R20 95H XL   B B 72 9.09kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental AllSeasonContact

    2018-10-19 - I have a Volvo 850 with 205/50/R16 wheels. Is it possible and legal to fit Continental All season 205/55/R16 tires to my vehicle. Thanks for your help

    You would need to check to see if there was a safe amount of clearance as the new tires are bigger, you would also need to factor in your speedo would now be out, and you would need to notify your insurance company of the new tire size.


    2018-11-15 - Do you know the treadwear of this tire? I wonder how much mileage this tire has.

    The treadwear will vary from size to size so you would have to check directly with Continental, however if you look at this years Auto Bild All Season Tire Test it covers wear testing.


    2019-01-01 - I am looking into tires for a small car Toyota Aygo these continentals seem to come out good on reviews. Tire size 155 65 r14 needed. As there are issues with mixing summer and (winter) on front wheel drive cars (good video seen) does the same apply for all season tires. I am planning on all 4 tires being changed at he same time. Generally looking at the tread all these look directional. So what happen with the spare tire ? as this could be fitted only on one side Or do i just keep my summer continetal tire as the spare that is more flexible in term of right /left location. I would appreciate any advice

    As the Continental All Season Contact has a similar snow and ice performance to a full winter tire, I would not recommend mixing all season and summer tires as you could experience similar issues to the winter/summer setup!


    2019-05-13 - Will the Honda HRV model year 2016 LX fit to use this tire? Currently the original tire is 215 55 R16. Planning for either 16" or 17" tire and require some advise

    As long as you can find the AllSeasonContact in the correct size and load rating for your vehicle, there's no reason you shouldn't use the tire.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Continental AllSeasonContact Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Skoda Octavia Scout (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 190 spirited miles
    Initially tested on very wet and slushy country roads and additionally on 5-10 cm compacted snow in the mountains. Tires appeared to perform as well in these conditions as my full winter tires (Nokian WR D4). Dry braking performance in the 0-8 degree range seems very good but fast cornering and general dry handling was lacking a little to my summer Pirelli's when the temperatures were nearer 8 degrees. Still sufficient dry handling for all but the most spirited of drives I would say. Early impressions are good, more winter and dry testing needed but the wet performance has been exemplary. No wear yet so too early to give a wear rating.
    Helpful 168 - tire reviewed on December 18, 2017
    Given 97% while driving a Volkswagen Golf (195/65 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    After driving "crossclimate" and "4seasonG" can confirm that this tire combines characteristics of Michelina and Goodyear.
    In my car before the all year tires I had a continental summer and a special winter set.
    It is not true that it is actually winter.
    quite different in the summer than winter tires eg TS-830.
    The feel of the steering wheel is better than that of Michelin and Goodyear.
    The tire has a great traction on the snow and lateral stance as opposed to the trembling crossclimate.
    Goodyear is more comfortable and quiet, the rest is about the same.
    Continental, however, keeps the dry road better than goodyear.
    Helpful 79 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2018
    Given 74% while driving a Hyundai elantra (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    Having previously driven on 2 sets of Michelin Crossclimates (not the newer Plus model), subjectively there is a noticeable improvement in all areas. In the initial miles, dry handling was superb compared to the Michelines, tires behaved better generally in the wet and being the XL model with reinforced sidewalls, there was less perceived flex while cornering. I would say that the road noise is maybe a bit more pronounced compared to the Crossclimate. I haven't been able to test the tires in the snow as there is rarely any in my area, but I feel they wouldn't be any less competent compared to the previous model which behaved fine on slush and compacted snow. Having driven 40 000 kilometers the tires are nearing the end of their life and maybe have 5000 more kilometers in them. There is really no complaints about the longevity, especially considering the very high summer temperatures in my country and my driving style. Michelines might have lasted a bit longer, but generally after 2 years it seemed as if their compound became much harder and started behaving like a much older tire. With all of this being said I believe that in the last 10 000 km Continentals have been progressively loosing grip in the dry and wet. Asphalt in my area is less than ideal and feels like polished glass sometimes, but there is a noticeable change in tire behavior nonetheless. Continentals loose grip more predictably, whereas the Michelines would cut traction abruptly and often without any warnings. One thing I noticed (mind you with MY car) is that the Continentals respond favorably to pressures slightly higher than manufacturer recommended (about 0,3 bar more). That made a car a little more agile and predictable, albeit with a slight comfort disadvantage. Generally I believe that most drivers will be perfectly happy with these tires, as they provide a good compromise in all aspects in weather situations that don't dip into the extremes. My car is not a good driving platform as it flexes and massively understeers in the corners, so the tires could behave even better on a car with a better and firmer suspension. I feel I got my moneys worth out of them and I recommend them, but as I like to experiment I will probably try a different tire next time.
    Helpful 59 - tire reviewed on April 5, 2021
    Have you driven on the Continental AllSeasonContact tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental AllSeasonContact? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Continental AllSeasonContact >

    Latest Continental AllSeasonContact Reviews

    Given 63% while driving a Lexus CT200h (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
    Bought for a brand new lexus ct200h. I was happy with the tires but after three years I see damage of the thread, not a typical wear but cracking. Did
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on November 13, 2022
    Given 94% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (215/70 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 spirited miles
    These tires are amazing, previously i had used winter/ summer tire accordingly and never dared to buy all season, but after buying this I can confidently say I am never going back. For dry they are amazing, only slip has occurred when you aggressively dump the clutch near a stop light. Corners can be taken confidently and with a lot of speed. The wet grip is excellent. 140-150 kph in an autostrada during rain is no problem, car feels planted. Never felt any aquaplaning. Looking forward to seeing how they handle in snow and ice as this will be my first winter with them.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 20, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 87% while driving a Ford Tourneo Connect Grand Titanium (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 26 average miles
    When I got my car it had summer tires fitted, I knew I'd have to change them as it FWD but I had considered winter tires but opted for all seasons as I didn't want to store wheels.

    I chose the allseason contact because it was a manufacturer recommended brand and it had great reviews. I changed all four tires at the same time and noticed a marked improvement in comfort and feedback straight away.

    In the dry they are as good as any summer tires when driven normally giving a planted dependable feel, driven with a bit of enthusiasm and you reach the limit quickly but they have NEVER let go. The same in the wet planted and dependable, excellent through standing water without pulling off course. It's in the snow that I found them outstanding, that planted feeling always there as if there was no snow on the road. Mileage I've gotten 26,000miles from the set periodically rotating them, tires only last 7,000 - 18,000miles on my vehicle so I'm satisfied with that. The only thing that lets these tires down for mileage is the rounded profile bringing the outside wear markers visible when there's over 4mm of tread left over the rest of the tire. Excellent tires I'd buy again and highly recommend. I'll never be buying summer tires again.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2022
    Given 79% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 36,000 average miles
    Very balanced and safe tires. Noise was also much lower than the Crossclimate I installed before. Wet performance was good as well as snow, a bit underperforming on the dry. Wear could have been better. All things considered a good compromise.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 14, 2022
    Given 86% while driving a Subaru g3x Justy (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    comparable dry grip as a decent summer tire (vredestein, goodyear). verry good feedback, not snappy on the limit easy to get back in line when going over the boundarys. decent sound levels for a V shaped tire. very good in the wet. decent grip on snow and ice. decent grip when off roading. good wear. (i drive pretty sporty and have done 30k KM on the front tires with the correct tire pressure im certain 40k is within reach). drawbacks mainly the higher price. definetly going to get another set of these. highly recomend especially if you drive quite a lot as that justifies the higher lifespan than some other brands.
    Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on September 12, 2022
    Given 58% while driving a Volkswagen polo 2018 1.0 tsi 115 hp (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
    I did not tested them completely in deep snow, but they are OK with light snow traction. Comfort and noise is one of the best. The worst thing about this Tire is, they do lose complete grip from the road in wet conditions. I use also Yokohama Geolander AT015,(actually perfect tire) which is way better than these. I do not recommend Continental Allseasoncontact
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on April 19, 2022
    Given 52% while driving a SEAT Seat Ateca 1.5 TSI FWD (215/50 R18) on a combination of roads for 16,115 spirited miles
    Chose these tires for my new car, since I couldn’t get the Goodyear vector 4seasons generation 3 at the time of purchase of car. Unfortunately I have regretted the decision daily, maybe I have found myself unlucky but I’ve had three punctures on these tires, in a relatively short time span of only 16,000 miles. In general I think these tires are a disappointment, when I compare with the older Goodyear vector 4seasons generation 2. Let’s just say these are nothing special, in my mind. That’s not to say that they are especially bad. Even though the rear tires are practically new and the front ones are only worn about a third. I will be changing these tires out for the Goodyear vector 4seasons generation 3 or maybe the Michelin cross climate 2.
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on March 7, 2022
    Given 89% while driving a Opel Astra H GTC (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 280,000 average miles
    the best all-season tire I’ve ever had a chance to drive.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2021
    Given 88% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Fitted these Conti's on my dad's car. This is a review on his behalf. The Continental AllSeasonContact in the size 205/55R16 94V XL are highly recommended. Fitted them a year ago, and they are still going strong. The grip in all conditions is phenomenal, the comfort equal to summer tires. Snow is no problem, it's like a winter tire. It is even capable of handling sporty! Did a 180 mile trip in the summer no problem. 9/10 would recommend.
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on November 28, 2021
    Given 50% while driving a Renault Clio III 1.2 55kW (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 easy going miles
    Very bad tire especially dry and i wear it on a clio iii. own these tires 2.5 years and 25.000 km and they are burned .
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on March 25, 2021
    Given 79% while driving a Vauxhall Astra Sports Tourer (225/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
    I bought these tires in December 2019. They've been fitted to the car for roughly 10,000 miles now of mixed driving. The main reason I bought these tires is the advantage that they offer over a traditional summer tire in the snow and cold conditions. I have been out for the first real test of them in the snow this morning, and I'm happy to say that they've impressed me! It goes without saying that it is an "All Season" tire so it's always going to be slightly compromised vs a full "Winter" tire in the snow, but it performed a huge amount better than a "Summer" tire would. I was able to tackle some snow covered country roads with both fair inclines and declines without the car feeling like it was struggling to grip. When coming to a stop on an incline and setting off again, there are a few seconds of wheel slip whilst the tire finds some grip, however they're fitted to a fairly heavy front wheel drive estate car so that's understandable, a little bit of wheel slip and traction control kicked in on the steepest part of the climb, but they all worked together to keep/get the car moving, but once on the move it's a really confident feeling tire. A definite note is that it drives noticeably better on fresh vs compacted snow so I have definitely aimed to keep the wheels in fresh snow where possible. Braking and steering performance were massively impressive too, enabling a confident/safe feeling drive especially down steep, twisting descents, which for me is main reason for purchasing the tire, as I've got snow chains for if I get really stuck going uphill. Outside of the snow the rest of the year, I've not noticed any difference to a standard "Summer" tire. Both in the dry and rain I wouldn't have been able to judge any difference between these tires and the Michelin Summers that were on the car before, but perhaps if you've got something like a sports car where feedback is important, you may want a full "Summer" tire in summer. I've had some fun making good confident feeling progress down twisting roads in the summer with these tires. They've now done roughly 12,000 miles since they were fitted and they're at about 5-6 mm which is excellent considering that the tires spend most of their life on NSL "rural" roads (pretty rough road surfaces, gravel farm tracks etc) etc. I'd say in normal driving conditions expecting 25,000 - 30,000 miles from them (changing at 3mm left) In my opinion, they're definitely worth it!
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Volvo S80 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    It's a tire without "surprise" behavior and well balanced perfomance on our volvo S80 D5 aut.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on July 3, 2020