Ford Fiesta ST180 Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Ford Fiesta ST180.

Do you Drive a Ford Fiesta ST180? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Fiesta ST180 better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin 5 (24) 85% 93% 84% 78% 91% 90%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (237) 93% 90% 86% 88% 79% 81%
Nexen N Fera SU4 (70) 91% 88% 84% 79% 80% 88%
Barum Bravuris 3HM (66) 88% 83% 82% 80% 87% 84%
Avon ZZ5 (93) 90% 83% 83% 86% 70% 82%
Michelin Pilot Sport 4 (313) 90% 88% 81% 84% 73% 78%
Vredestein Quatrac Pro (38) 88% 91% 86% 79% 78% 91%
Falken ZIEX ZE310 EcoRun (99) 87% 83% 81% 80% 77% 79%
Nexen WinGuard Sport 2 (28) 85% 84% 72% 76% 86% 84%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Dunlop SportMaxx RT 2 (90) 84% 78% 78% 77% 76% 80%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (129) 84% 76% 76% 77% 74% 82%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (67) 86% 81% 80% 80% 73% 73%
Petlas Velox Sport PT741 (40) 83% 76% 76% 77% 85% 70%
Nankang NS2R (59) 89% 66% 82% 84% 72% 55%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (142) 82% 80% 73% 74% 66% 73%
Davanti DX640 (94) 79% 71% 75% 73% 65% 78%
Avon ZV7 (129) 83% 78% 73% 72% 59% 79%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (214) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Rovelo RPX 998 (30) 80% 62% 69% 65% 65% 73%
Pirelli PZero Nero (140) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Davanti Protoura Sport (16) 74% 54% 68% 67% 70% 71%
Goodride SW608 (9) 76% 71% 68% 60% 59% 68%

Ford Fiesta ST180 Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 89% (215-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 15000 spirited miles
I really enjoyed these tires. They have excellent grip in the dry and good in wet as well. Are a bit noisy but not too bad. Had them on for 20000+ kilometers including around 10 track days. The fronts were just changeg to Asymmetric 6s, the rears still have plenty of meat on them.
tire reviewed on 2023-10-29 08:16:49
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 86% (195-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 15000 average miles
This is a winter tire and it works incredibly well in the wet at cold temperatures. There was not a lot snow here, the tire worked well well during the few days of snowy conditions no problem there.

The two main issues where the very soft rubber compound that really starts to struggle above 20C, it starts to smear in corners at 25C. Then there are these soft sidewalls. They are good for comfort, but not good for cornering and handling. It did not help that there is no rim protection either. So be gentle when use these rubbers when its warm.

This is an almost end of life review since the tires are 9 years old now, but they have still lots of profile left after about 20.000km, I just don't drive that much during winter.

The tires do what they are supposed to do, but my next winter tires will have stronger sidewalls.
tire reviewed on 2023-05-10 06:49:09
Writing about the Barum Bravuris 3HM given 57% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
They were already on car when bought the car, with 5.5mm left, 2018 production year. What can I say, almost impossible to drive on wet road, even just starting from stand still, not very aggressive cause hard spin, very scary to fly through corners on wet road. The dry aspects are pretty good, but tires are hard and not very comfortable. Once was on track, not very pro, but after 30 mins, middle ribs almost destroyed, not very responsive after couple of rounds. In general doesn't like them, because mostly it is wet in my country and need to significantly reduce speed.
tire reviewed on 2023-02-02 06:59:41
Writing about the Goodride SW608 given 78% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6200 spirited miles
Needed urgently to buys some winter tires is this rare size, there was only 3-5 options, so choose the cheapest ones, and it was those tires. And I was very surprised, brand new they got much more grip on wet and dry then my summers Barum bravuris 3hm. Then come the winter, still no issues, very good handling and grip. A bit worse when outer temperature go over +7C, with my driving style it start to slide a bit in corners. It is my second winter season on them, definitely going to buy them again, for such money I got more then I expected and in fully satisfy my needs. Negative is maybe treadwear, new one got 7.7mm, now on almost end of second season aprox 5-6mm left.
tire reviewed on 2023-02-02 06:30:20
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 74% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 60000 spirited miles
Got the car with kumho tires on it. Done 40k km with them and they were great. Changed them for Goodyear's... In the dry they had almost the same grip as Goodyear but in the wet they are ok for normal driving but not spirited.
tire reviewed on 2022-12-07 14:17:36
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 40% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 average miles
Pros: + Good grip in the dry + Decent ride over bumps + Little road noise Cons: - Poor in rain & damp conditions. Does not need spirited driving to spin the tires. - Lacks steering precision due to softness of tire - Can be prone to sudden understeer, & this includes dry conditions - Quick tire wear - Drives badly once the tirewear reaches 4mm - Average steering feel Overall: These tires came with the car I bought 2nd hand. I wish they did not as I knew what to expect. I previously owned a Skoda Octavia VRS Mk2 which I got Goodyear Asymmetric 3s all round, & they were really bad. Understeer, delayed reaction & lack of steering precision. The Asymmetric 5s only improvement is better grip, but the same traits remain as the Asymmetric 3 because of how soft Goodyear tires typically are. The best Goodyear tires I have owned were the Asymmetric 2s on an old Skoda Fabia, that had great grip in the dry & even better in the rain. Goodyear should bring the Asymmetric 2s for those reasons. The tires on my current Fiesta need changing soon as the tread depth is down to the 3mm range & the handling feels sloppy, so I will change to another brand away from Goodyear.
tire reviewed on 2022-10-29 04:33:02
Writing about the Nankang NS2R given 74% (205-40-17-)
Driving on track for 0 spirited miles
There will be better tires out there without doubt. But as a track-orientated road tire at a reasonable price these are great and I would definitely buy them again.

The dry grip and handling is good, although the difference from more traditional road-orientated tread patterned tires wasn't as much as I expected. For example, comparing them to the Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3, if I'm fairly near the limit on the F1A3 with plenty of tire squeal, on the NS2R I can match lap times with little or no squeal - it's still toward the upper end of their limits but with just a bit more margin.

The wet performance is surprisingly good in my experience (although i have read some negative comments from other people about this). I did a track day at the Nordschleife in the wet. Grip and handling was nice and predictable (although I don't think I took them near near the limits as I do in the dry, due to lack of experience in the wet and fear of putting my car in a wall or barrier!). Aquaplaning didn't seem to be an issue at all, even at 120mph in a straight line in very wet conditions!

Tire wear is very good indeed, considering the use (mostly track driving and often fairly near the limits of grip). At least, it is when run at appropriate pressures and staying off the more vicious kerbs!

In the dry the NS2R is noisy in the cabin, which doesn't matter if its primarily a track tire but might be more of a concern to some people for road use. It is also difficult to balance on the wheel, which may be due to poorer quality control than more premium tire brands, leading to uneven weight distribution? To help with that, make sure the yellow dot on the side wall is aligned with the valve.

I'm planning to try the AR1 next, for dry conditions, with the F1A3 as wet backup. But if you're in the market for a decent track-oriented all-rounder at a reasonable price, I think the NS2R is worth considering.
tire reviewed on 2022-10-02 05:39:55
Writing about the Davanti Protoura Sport given 53% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1300 spirited miles
Got these fitted after my Michelin Pilot Sport 4’s needed replacing and unfortunately due the the world climate at the moment, the price of a new set of PS4’s was staggering. I was told by the garage that the Protoura Sport tires are great and “all of our customers use them” and pointed to a Vauxhall corsa with them on. Due to the low price I took a punt. In the dry you can tell they’re made from a much harder compound and the dry grip isn’t the best but it’s not terrible compared to Michelin’s PS4’s or Pirreli P Zero’s. The wet grip is where this budget option tire really showed it’s colours. Acceleration in the wet is almost non existent due to the high torque in my car and I felt the car understeering on roundabouts which I’m not used to at all. Would not have these tires on my car again if they were free.
tire reviewed on 2022-07-29 01:09:59
Writing about the Petlas Velox Sport PT741 given 86% (215-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 1800 spirited miles
Excellent tires for sportyer cars with more hp. Best buy.
tire reviewed on 2022-03-16 07:16:47
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 84% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 8000 spirited miles
Put these tires on my fiesta st at the start of summer, my first impressions were how much the wet performance improved, it quickly regained my confidence, verry good dry braking and a high resistance to aquaplaning. I took the car to do the nc500 and learned a lot about the tire, when the tire develops some heat the feedback and grip level increases to an ideal level. It has been difficult/ near impossible to overheat the tire on the road it just seems to take whatever is thrown at it with ease. I wouldn't say the steering feel is amazing but it still presents plenty feedback but can be a bit dull at times. Not a comfortable tire to live with on scottish roads but neither is the car but you expect these things
tire reviewed on 2021-11-15 12:44:11
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 99% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2021-06-03 12:37:46
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 99% (205-40-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2021-06-03 10:32:24
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire