Continental EcoContact 6

With the new EcoContact 6, Continental has launched a high technology summer tire that delivers substantial improvements in terms of rolling resistance, mileage, steering precision and braking distances. Compared to its predecessor, the newcomer offers 20 percent higher mileage, 15 percent lower rolling resistance, even more precise handling and shorter braking distances on both wet and dry roads.

This tire replaced the Continental Eco Contact 5.

Dry Grip 75%
Wet Grip 59%
Road Feedback 58%
Handling 61%
Wear 54%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 40%

Tire review data from 93 tire reviews averaging 59% over 779,633 miles driven.

The EcoContact 6 is ranked 137th of 148 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Summer Tire Market Overview - 21st of 44 tires

View Full Test >>

2022 AZ SUV Tire Test - 7th of 10 tires

  • Overall - With a top value for rolling resistance, the Continental Eco Contact 6 confirmed its label efficiency rating in seventh place. Grippy in the wet, but significant aquaplaning weaknesses.
View Full Test >>

2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tire Test - 8th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Low consumption. Good comfort.
  • Negative - Poor wet grip. Extended braking distances. Slow steering reaction.
  • Overall - While the sibling PremiumContact 6 becomes test winner, the EcoContact 6 finishes further down the field. The wet grip leaves a lot to be desired and often it is the rear that releases the grip first with an unwelcome slide. The stopping distance on wet roads is well over four meters longer than PremiumContact 6 at 80 km/h – a difference that grows significantly at higher speeds. With relatively low tread depth – 6.7 mm new – it aquaplanes early.
    In the dry the EcoContact 6 does not perform particularly well, it is a bit slow to react to steering input and change course. However, the high-speed stability is good.
    The Continental EcoContact 6 has the lowest consumption in the test and comfort s very high. But that cannot justify a buy.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2022 AZ SUV Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 8th: 2022 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 8th: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 19th: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 21st: 2022 Summer Tire Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 8th: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tire Test (235/55 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    155/70 R13 75T   C B 70 5.37kgs
    175/70 R13 82T   B B 70 6.27kgs
    155/80 R13 79T   C B 70 5.91kgs
    185/55 R14 80H   A B 70 5.97kgs
    165/60 R14 75H   B A 70 5.76kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   A A 70 6.33kgs
    155/65 R14 75T   B B 70 5.33kgs
    175/65 R14 82H   B B 70 6.26kgs
    175/65 R14 86T XL   B B 70 6.55kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   B B 70 6.28kgs
    185/65 R14 86T   A B 70 6.65kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   A B 70 6.65kgs
    155/70 R14 77T   B B 70 5.53kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   B A 70 6.15kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   B B 70 6.46kgs
    175/80 R14 88T   B B 70 7.55kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   B B 71 6.88kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   B B 71 6.88kgs
    175/55 R15 77T   B B 70 6.09kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   A A 70 6.49kgs
    185/55 R15 86H XL   A B 70 6.60kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   A B 70 6.38kgs
    185/55 R15 86V XL   A A 71 6.52kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   B A 71 7.05kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   B A 71 7.05kgs
    205/55 R15 88V   A A 71 7.41kgs
    175/60 R15 81H   B B 70 6.28kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   A A 71 6.68kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   B A 70 6.63kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   B A 70 6.68kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   A B 71 7.02kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   A B 71 7.03kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   A A 71 8.69kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   A A 71 7.82kgs
    225/60 R15 96W   B A 71 9.23kgs
    145/65 R15 72T   B B 70 5.17kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   B B 70 6.25kgs
    175/65 R15 84T   B A 70 6.69kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   A B 70 6.27kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   A B 70 7.17kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   A A 70 7.06kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   A A 72 7.20kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   A A 71 7.75kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   A A 71 7.52kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   B A 71 8.16kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   B A 71 8.45kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   B A 71 8.45kgs
    195/45 R16 84H XL   A A 72 6.39kgs
    215/45 R16 86H   B A 71 8.85kgs
    185/50 R16 81H   A B 70 6.54kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   A A 72 7.11kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   A B 70 7.01kgs
    185/55 R16 87H XL   A A 71 7.08kgs
    185/55 R16 83H   A B 70 6.99kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   A B 71 7.17kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   B A 71 7.05kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   A B 71 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   A B 72 7.36kgs
    195/55 R16 87H REN       7.64kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   A A 71 7.23kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   A A 71 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   A A 72 8.01kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   A A 72 8.39kgs
    205/55 R16 91W XL * B B 71 10.30kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   A A 71 7.87kgs
    205/55 R16 91W XL * A B 71 7.75kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   A A 71 7.87kgs
    205/55 R16 94W XL   A A 72 7.98kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A A 72 8.45kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 72 8.27kgs
    215/55 R16 97Y XL   A A 72 8.76kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   A A 71 8.46kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   A A 71 8.89kgs
    225/55 R16 95V   A A 71 8.89kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   A A 72 8.22kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   A A 72 8.09kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL VOL A A 72 8.23kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   A A 71 7.81kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL VOL A A 72 8.86kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   A A 71 9.16kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   A B 71 10.43kgs
    225/60 R16 98W   A A 71 9.44kgs
    205/65 R16 95H XL   A B 71 8.02kgs
    215/65 R16 98H   A A 71 9.49kgs
    215/40 R17 87V XL   A A 72 9.38kgs
    205/45 R17 88H XL   A A 72 7.45kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   A B 72 8.79kgs
    225/45 R17 91V XL   A B 71 8.45kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL   A A 71 8.19kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   A A 72 7.99kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 72 9.07kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   A A 71 8.57kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO A B 71 8.29kgs
    205/55 R17 91V   A A 71 8.22kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL   A A 72 9.07kgs
    215/55 R17 94V XL   A A 71 8.90kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   A A 71 10.30kgs
    215/55 R17 94V XL AO A A 71 10.41kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 72 10.39kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   A A 72 9.56kgs
    225/55 R17 97W * A B 71 10.04kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL   A A 72 9.95kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   A A 72 10.33kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   A A 71 9.52kgs
    225/60 R17 99H   A A 71 9.66kgs
    215/65 R17 99V XL AO B A 71 10.87kgs
    215/65 R17 99H AO A A 71 10.26kgs
    215/65 R17 99V   A B 71 9.90kgs
    235/65 R17 108V XL   A A 72 13.45kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL AR A B 72 8.67kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL * A B 72 8.66kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
    245/40 R18 97Y XL MO A B 72 10.42kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.25kgs
    225/45 R18 91W MO A B 71 9.02kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL MO A B 72 9.08kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL J A A 72 9.02kgs
    235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 10.70kgs
    235/45 R18 94W   B A 71 9.17kgs
    245/45 R18 96W OPE       13.39kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MOE       14.70kgs
    245/45 R18 96W         11.08kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL * A B 72 9.86kgs
    245/45 R18 96W   A A 71 14.83kgs
    215/50 R18 92V         9.95kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * B B 72 12.36kgs
    215/55 R18 95T XL (+) A A 71 8.61kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO A A 72 10.33kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL A A 71 10.75kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO A B 71 10.86kgs
    235/55 R18 100V   A A 71 12.24kgs
    235/55 R18 104T XL MO A B 71 11.66kgs
    275/35 R19 100Y XL MO A B 73 11.06kgs
    245/40 R19 98Y XL MO A B 72 10.12kgs
    225/45 R19 96W XL * B B 72 10.98kgs
    235/45 R19 99V XL VOL A A 72 13.01kgs
    255/45 R19 104Y XL MOE       18.95kgs
    255/45 R19 104V XL VOL A A 73 11.60kgs
    215/50 R19 93T XL (+) A A 71 10.79kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL         12.29kgs
    235/50 R19 103V XL VOL A A 71 10.77kgs
    235/50 R19 99W MO A B 71 11.08kgs
    235/50 R19 103T XL MOE       14.77kgs
    235/50 R19 103T XL MO A B 71 11.58kgs
    245/50 R19 105W XL * A B 72 12.36kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.02kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 12.09kgs
    235/55 R19 105V XL VOL A A 72 11.74kgs
    255/55 R19 111H XL AO A A 73 14.05kgs
    155/70 R19 84Q   A B 70 6.30kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL   A B 72 10.31kgs
    245/35 R20 95W XL         12.02kgs
    255/40 R20 101V XL VOL A A 73 13.74kgs
    215/45 R20 95T XL (+) A A 72 10.72kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL VOL A A 72 9.47kgs
    235/45 R20 100V XL   A B 72 14.18kgs
    235/45 R20 100T XL MO A B 72 10.49kgs
    275/45 R20 110V XL VOL       18.84kgs
    155/60 R20 80Q   B A 70 6.28kgs
    245/35 R21 96W XL VOL B A 72 11.65kgs
    255/40 R21 102V XL VOL       14.71kgs
    315/30 R22 107Y XL * A A 75 15.62kgs
    265/35 R22 102V XL VOL       14.32kgs
    275/35 R22 104Y XL * A B 73 13.27kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Continental EcoContact 6

    2019-04-04 - What is your opinion on Continental EcoContact 6 in compare to Continental Premium Contact 6? I need advice for 205/55/16 Kia Ceed '07.

    This video should help you


    2020-03-24 - Is this a run-flat

    The Continental EcoContact 6 comes in various runflat sizes.


    2020-05-21 - Is Continental ecocontact 6 made in Slovakia?

    It is likely the Eco Contact 6 is made in multiple factories depending on size.


    2023-06-14 - Are these run flat, can they be repaired if punctured by a nail?

    If there are runflat versions of the EC6 they will be listed as SSR (Self Supporting Runflat) by the dealer. Generally these can be repaired using the same rules as regular tires, a small hole in the centre 75% part of the tread and the tire has not been run on flat means it can be repaired.


    2024-02-05 - I have a BMW 218i Gran Coupe which was fitted with Continental Ecocontact 6s from new. Reviews of these tires are not very encouraging and I am nervous of their performance in potential aquaplaning conditions. When it comes time to replace them does it make sense to fit the best possible tires such as UUHP tires as, whilst I won’t do any track days, will a better tire help me in potentially dangerous situations. Would you have a recommendation as to the best possible tire for my car which I might have remapped at some stage. Regards Andrew

    Something like the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 6 or Michelin Pilot Sport 5 might be a good choice if you plan to up the power, other wide a premium touring tire is also worth considering. All will have better wet performance than a low rolling resistance tire like the EcoContact 6.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 16v (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 500 easy going miles
    Nice , very nice and comford for my polo 9n.
    Very stable when i drive for 120-150 kmh at motorways , warm early at town but note is very soft for long distance every day use .
    Fine for daily use at town and a cool trip every weekend , thats all .
    Helpful 498 - tire reviewed on October 19, 2018
    Given 10% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
    I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tires were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tires in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tires wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tires will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
    Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tires for commercial reasons?
    This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tire casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tires when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tire manufacturers toward selling tires of reduced tread depth.
    I will try and add a further review when I have had the tires for a bit longer.
    Helpful 131 - tire reviewed on February 19, 2019
    Given 71% while driving a Opel Astra K 1.6 CDTI (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    I have this on my car since march this year and after aprox. 9000km they have 1mm wear (from 6.5 when they come in new to 5.5 this week). I drove around 1300km straight (prague-bucharest) in 15h and they felt stable at 200km/h on highway. I would not buy again because of the low profile (6.5mm new).
    Helpful 100 - tire reviewed on July 18, 2019
    Have you driven on the Continental EcoContact 6 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Continental EcoContact 6? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Continental EcoContact 6 >

    Latest Continental EcoContact 6 Reviews

    Given 42% while driving a BMW X1 2.0 Xdrive (245/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    This review is for the EcoContact 6Q BMW / Merc marked variant on a new U11 X1 150kW petrol with xDrive. These are frankly the worst new OEM fit tires I have encountered in numerous cars in well over a decade (I work in the industry). Dry grip was surprisingly poor with squeal setting in very early on mini roundabouts where no other vehicle has previously done so. A low speed (from 50km/h) emergency stop to avoid a car pulling out from a junction resulted in obvious sliding (in the dry!). Wet grip is slightly terrifying with unpredictable loss of the front end, once it goes it goes..! I have no idea how these were approved by BMW although I am sure they are have low rolling resistance.
    Helpful 0 - tire reviewed on April 13, 2024
    Given 34% while driving a Ford Kuga (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Acquired these tires for my 2009 Ford Kuga, in the hopes for a comfortable tire...
    Oh, how wrong I was.
    The amount of noise in the cabin, increased tremendously!
    The 18 inch tires are much more comfortable, even for their dimension difference and budget, specifically as the 18's are an unknown brand!
    The dry grip is not quite there and the tire feels unstable on worn roads.
    When pushed on wet roads, you have to be vigilant, because the grip will suddenly disappear.
    Combined with low tread-depth, they are prone to aquaplaning...
    These tires will only be used on my daughters 2015 model, when she need to tow her horses around, so she doesn't ruin her own 18" tires.
    I would not recommend these for anyone, unless you only value fuel consumption...
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 25, 2024
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 57% while driving a Suzuki Vitara 2015> (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 average miles
    Not so good overall. Wet grip very bad, dry grip just ok. Traveled 20000km with Vitara 1.6 120HP. You can feel the lack of contact area with the road. All those eco tires have deep treads and smaller amount or just smaller blocks. Those tires came with the new car when I bought it and at 10.000km I wanted to sell them and buy Sava Intensa UHP because it is much better tire for less money, but noone would buy used ecocontact, at least noone who knows a bit or two about tires. Since they were like new I left them and drove more and after aditional 10k they stil looked like new, so if you want a tire for life, go ahead and buy ecocontact, if you want grip, avoid them.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 19, 2024
    Given 100% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 21,000 average miles
    Absolutely fantastic tires despite the negative reviews to the contrary. I suspect that the negative reviews are on purpose to simply put people off by the competition. I have had these on my Skoda Superb for a while now and after approximately 20,000 miles they are simply the best tires I personally have ever had.
    I wouldn't consider any other tire unless of course Continental release a better tire however these are as close to perfection as I have ever got!!!

    Thank you for reading.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on February 14, 2024
    Given 94% while driving a Toyota Prius (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    Excellent tires I've done almost 30,000 miles on a set just ordered another pair for front of my 2017 Prius. Improve fuel economy to average around 75 mpg. Simply the best on a hybrid such as mine weather they will be as good on a different car is another story
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 10, 2024
    Given 87% while driving a Toyota (165/70 R14) on a combination of roads for 45,000 average miles
    Conti eco contact 6, 165/70 R14T second set of them on my 98 Corolla. This set has 73000 Km done in one and half years. Town and highway traffic mostly. For normal everyday driving they seem perfect. Being a pure summer tire, they do feel a bit “soapy” when it gets below 5 degree Celsius so driving style needs to be adjusted. Other than that the grip is great dry and wet, fuel consumption is about half a litre per one hundred km less than the set of budget constancy tires I had a few years back. For normal driving above 5 degrees I can only recommend them.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2024
    Given 40% while driving a Kia Motors (235/55 R18) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
    Factory fit on my Kia Sportage Hybrid. I have travelled 12500 miles in 10 months on these tires and had seven punctures, all caused by stones piercing the carcass of the tire. The design of the tread collects small stones, 50+ of them in each tire and the carcass must be very thin. I've never had this before in 30 years of driving, same roads and type of driving and my other car which does similar mileage on the same roads hasn't had a puncture in years. Judging by complaints on Kia forums this is not uncommon. After four repairs and three replacement tires i've abandoned them and have swapped them out for a different tire.

    They are fine in the dry and generally not a bad tire for wet grip on a heavy SUV. The are undoubtedly good for fuel consumption as the replacement tires are denting that slightly but whats the point in saving a few quid in fuel if you need to replace a £150 tire every few months as you get a puncture?! If you buy thee tires i'd recommend you get yourself a space saver spare tire.
    Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on December 29, 2023
    Given 45% while driving a Ford Fiesta Titanium X Turbo MHEV A (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
    Quite simply, the worst tires I have ever had the misfortune to endure. OEM on my new Fiesta, I am happy because I am replacing these tires tomorrow morning! They have loads of miles left in them, but they just feel unsafe in the wet and I can't continue without confidence in them.
    The highlights are they have probably saved me a few quid in fuel and they are relatively comfortable and quiet. The downsides are they are appalling in the wet, particularly so in deeper water where aquaplaning becomes the norm. In the dry, they understeer at the merest hint of enthusiastic driving, so absolutely no fun to be had. They are to be replaced with Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 6's tomorrow and I can't wait.
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on December 15, 2023
    Given 10% while driving a Ford Fiesta (225/45 R17) on track for 3,000 average miles
    Very dangerous in the wet, I've already flown out of the curve twice!!!
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on November 24, 2023
    Given 56% while driving a MINI Cooper D (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 15,000 average miles
    These tires were factory-fitted on my car. There are much better tires out there with lower price. Not recommended.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on November 22, 2023
    Given 71% while driving a Dacia (205/60 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 easy going miles
    Dead tires after 20,000km
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2023
    Given 44% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    The worst tires I have ever had on a vehicle. The walls are terribly weak in comparison to any other tire I have used.
    Doesn't matter if it's a shallow pothole, these do not survive.

    I have got tire warranty with national tires and I have had 8 tires replaced in 11 months. It's always the walls bulging or popping.

    25 years of driving experience and never seen anything like it
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2023