Volkswagen Golf Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Golf better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (53) 88% 95% 91% 88% 94% 93%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (20) 93% 93% 90% 91% 92% 79%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (9) 92% 94% 80% 83% 90% 76%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 (78) 92% 89% 82% 85% 90% 84%
Michelin Energy E3B (6) 87% 97% 83% 88% 78% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (234) 93% 90% 86% 88% 80% 81%
Michelin Alpin 6 (28) 88% 92% 84% 82% 85% 90%
Kleber Quadraxer (42) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (237) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Nexen N Fera SU4 (68) 91% 88% 84% 79% 80% 88%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (98) 88% 85% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (103) 88% 83% 82% 83% 84% 86%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (34) 84% 91% 82% 76% 83% 86%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter (20) 85% 81% 77% 78% 83% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (177) 89% 86% 82% 82% 80% 87%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (301) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 82%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (111) 88% 86% 82% 74% 88% 87%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (40) 82% 84% 78% 78% 87% 83%
Michelin Primacy 4 Plus (25) 88% 86% 78% 73% 85% 87%
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78%
Kumho Ecsta HS52 (10) 91% 81% 85% 85% 82% 64%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (37) 86% 86% 82% 78% 85% 87%
Michelin CrossClimate 2 (91) 87% 83% 75% 71% 84% 84%
Semperit Speed Grip 3 (6) 83% 83% 78% 78% 86% 88%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (111) 90% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Continental AllSeasonContact (35) 82% 87% 81% 83% 75% 82%
Lassa Greenways (17) 84% 79% 81% 78% 86% 80%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (61) 84% 72% 78% 77% 91% 83%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (46) 85% 85% 76% 80% 86% 76%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (89) 85% 81% 81% 82% 78% 76%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (286) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (67) 83% 79% 78% 76% 77% 83%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (245) 86% 84% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (128) 84% 76% 76% 78% 74% 82%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (32) 81% 74% 77% 73% 80% 84%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (181) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
GT Radial 4Seasons (6) 80% 75% 75% 68% 93% 80%
Nexen N Blue ECO (34) 83% 78% 77% 77% 69% 74%
Matador MP 54 Sibir Snow (2) 75% 80% 75% 70% 85% 60%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Michelin Energy Saver (136) 83% 71% 74% 71% 85% 80%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Kormoran Runpro B2 (3) 80% 67% 77% 67% 87% 83%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (116) 87% 82% 76% 77% 58% 78%
Hankook Kinergy 4S2 (32) 80% 80% 69% 72% 77% 78%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (136) 83% 81% 74% 74% 67% 74%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (80) 84% 76% 76% 79% 67% 72%
Fulda Carat Progresso (13) 78% 72% 75% 74% 71% 72%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (180) 83% 73% 73% 75% 69% 74%
Toyo T1R (288) 83% 69% 75% 75% 63% 70%
GT Radial Champiro BAX 2 (12) 83% 71% 75% 75% 67% 69%
Yokohama BluEarth AE01 (22) 79% 73% 76% 68% 59% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Debica Frigo 2 (23) 68% 61% 65% 63% 84% 69%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (158) 83% 69% 74% 74% 67% 61%
Yokohama Aspec A349 BluEarth (11) 72% 59% 69% 78% 87% 65%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Michelin Energy (42) 71% 65% 59% 61% 84% 76%
Kumho Winter Craft WP52 (7) 77% 69% 70% 73% 75% 73%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Sava Adapto (9) 60% 59% 68% 58% 80% 69%
Bridgestone Turanza T001 (105) 80% 70% 70% 67% 63% 72%
Starmaxx Ice Gripper W850 (4) 67% 67% 67% 63% 70% 70%
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64%
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68%
Debica Navigator (1) 80% 50% 80% 70% 60% 60%
Goodride SA37 (23) 74% 66% 63% 62% 58% 62%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59%
Continental EcoContact 6 (93) 75% 59% 58% 61% 54% 69%
Radar RPX900 (9) 60% 50% 55% 53% 65% 69%
Goodyear GT2 (12) 80% 67% 71% 63% 83% 67%
Tourador X Wonder TH1 (4) 63% 45% 65% 60% 55% 50%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (68) 69% 39% 56% 52% 68% 62%
Nankang Econex NA1 (5) 60% 58% 45% 38% 70% 50%
Zeta Ztr10 (31) 59% 44% 48% 46% 60% 60%
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (22) 68% 35% 50% 54% 52% 57%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Linglong L688 (29) 43% 24% 32% 30% 53% 37%

Volkswagen Golf Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus given 90% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 10000 spirited miles
My car is old and do not have any esp/asr systems, but have a lot of torque(450nm+) for a small car. I try few mid class tires, but all was the same-very low grip, wheels spin and burnouts, dry and wet. So I buy michelin primacy 4+ and is all good. after 10k miles, I dint notice any wear or problems. Great tires!
tire reviewed on 2023-11-17 19:46:40
Writing about the Kumho Winter Craft WP52 given 70% (185-60-14-)
Driving on mostly town for 2000 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2023-10-21 09:41:12
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate 2 given 89% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 35000 average miles
A great tire both in dry and wet conditions. Excellent breaking performance in dry, with a predictable understeer in the wet. Center feel and feedback were poor first 5000 miles, but improved drastically.
Even though I live in the Alps we rarely get much snow in recent 20 years. Maybe I've had 5 days of snow in last two years. Never experienced any problems with traction or breaking performance. Handling was ok.
The only major downside: Summer temperatures of above 35°C negatively affected the rubber compound which became hard, negatively affecting the wet grip. Performance in dry is stil great.

The tires currently sit at 35.000 miles in exactly 2 years.
tread depth front: 5.0 mm
tread depth rear: 5.0 mm
tire reviewed on 2023-09-19 13:21:20
Writing about the Debica Frigo 2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
Sunt foarte multumit de aceste anvelope pe zapada, au o aderenta impresionanta fata de altele pe care le am manevrat. Pe asfalt uscat nu mi-au oferit prea mult confort, sunt ceva mai zgomotoase, dar isi fac treaba, iar pe asfalt umed iar mi-au oferit suficienta incredere. Pe asfalt cu gheata sau polei nu au aderenta prea buna, trebuie sa faci niste manevre sa te redresezi. In concluzie raport/calitate/pret le pot recomanda.
tire reviewed on 2023-04-29 09:21:16
Writing about the Debica Frigo 2 given 83% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6000 average miles
I am very satisfied with these tires on the snow, they have an impressive grip compared to others I have handled. On dry asphalt they didn't offer me much comfort, they are a bit noisier, but they do their job, and on wet asphalt they gave me enough confidence. On asphalt with ice or poles they don't have very good grip, you have to do some maneuvers to recover. In conclusion, ratio/quality/price, I can recommend them.
tire reviewed on 2023-03-28 21:21:32
Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance 2 given 68% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
So far tried Michelin Energy Saver (ES), Continental Premium Contact 5 (PC5) and now these Goodyear Efficient Grip 2’s (EG2) on my car. The Efficient Grip 2’s are basically like half way tire between the Energy Savers and Premium Contact 5’s. EG2 have a softer ride and are a touch quieter than the PC5. Definitely less fidget over broken surfaces and thumps from the suspension on bigger bumps are a bit quieter too. EG2 therefore don’t respond to changes in direction as readily as PC5. There is more squidge in the initial turn in and the car feels less keyed into the road surface. They do grip well however. EG2 the steering feels more gloopy than PC5, this is especially apparent when temperatures drop below 5 degrees. EG2 don’t respond to low temperatures as well as PC5 and start to behave like ES. More understeer on wet surfaces especially. Inconsistent steering weights become apparent in very cold temperatures, less than 3 degrees. EG2 has similar fuel economy to ES. I regularly get 310-330 miles per tank driving around town. On PC5 doing the same routes, I got 280 - 290 miles per tank. Overall if I had to buy new tires for my car again, I’d get the Premium Contact 7’s when they are released. I much preferred the PC5’s consistency across temperatures and sporty response. I would sacrifice a bit of ride comfort and fuel economy for this.
tire reviewed on 2022-12-12 19:39:27
Writing about the Hankook Kinergy 4S2 given 90% (195-65-15-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 9000 spirited miles
Excellent tire and far outperformed the OEM tires (ContiProContact), especially in the snow. Very good in the snow and dry with slight weakness in wet breaking (subjective, not measured). Got me through a very bad snowstorm when they were new and passed many vehicles that had slid off the road. Even had good traction uphill. Tread depth after about 9,000 miles is at 7/32" (starting depth at 10/32") on the North American compound (warranty is 60,000 miles to 2/32"). Looking forward to see how it performs this winter provided there is adequate snow to drive through. I'm also writing this review because it seems that the tire is either discontinued entirely in the US or Tire Rack is electing not to carry it anymore. Further, I have noticed that many reviews on the tire appear to have been scrubbed from the Tire Rack website (I wrote one and was able to find it a week ago and now it is gone now that they no longer carry my tire size). I think it is a shame that this tire will no longer be offered as an option because it was a good buy compared to the more expensive Cross Climate 2. I know you can get tires from other places than Tire Rack but it is a major distributor and I use their website as a reference on what tires are available. Regardless, they should not be deleting or hiding reviews.
tire reviewed on 2022-11-24 00:09:30
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta HS52 given 87% (205-55-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
For a 16 inch tire it feels pretty sporty! I'm impressed with them, came from the PS3.
tire reviewed on 2022-10-01 13:45:12
Writing about the Tourador X Wonder TH1 given 31% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1000 average miles
I was looking for a decent set of budget tires for my golf and made the mistake of being duped by a salesman into buying Tourador. The first roundaout I took, I could feel the drift and it wasn't even wet. If you ask me if Tourador tires are any good I'd have to say no. I've noticed that they're quite noisy too. Unfortunately can't recommend this tires at all.
tire reviewed on 2022-09-13 11:54:18
Writing about the Lassa Greenways given 46% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 17000 average miles
Very hard and uncomfortable tire (green in name "greenway" stays for Eco etc, so wear must below - tire must be hard). Wet grip is really bad. There is no chance that i will buy it again.
tire reviewed on 2022-02-21 23:39:43
Writing about the Bridgestone Turanza T001 given 54% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 18000 easy going miles
Terrible grip when starting off when road is wet. Wear rate is OK. I have travelled 32,000km and they still have 2mm of useable tread left. No complaints about road noise.
tire reviewed on 2022-01-09 09:52:28
Writing about the Goodride SA37 given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 4000 spirited miles
These tires are fine for the money. What I find especially lacking is the road feedback. you dont feel anything. While that would be great if comfort is what you are after. but they are not comfortable at all. you feel all the bumps in the road. They do have pretty good dry grip. Much better then for example the Michelin 195/65/15 Primacy i got previously on the car. Other aspects the Michelin tires did much better. Next time i would go for Nexen, Nankang or Toyo.
tire reviewed on 2021-11-15 17:51:35
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire