Volkswagen Golf Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Golf better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin A4 (52) 88% 95% 91% 87% 94% 93%
Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 (8) 90% 96% 90% 93% 88% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 (149) 93% 93% 87% 91% 87% 82%
Michelin Alpin 6 (16) 90% 93% 87% 86% 84% 91%
Michelin Energy E3B (6) 87% 97% 83% 88% 78% 80%
Vredestein Ultrac Sessanta (235) 91% 88% 87% 85% 79% 85%
Nexen N Fera SU4 (56) 91% 89% 84% 79% 82% 89%
Continental AllSeasonContact (22) 83% 92% 85% 87% 78% 84%
Toyo Proxes CF2 (86) 89% 86% 83% 84% 84% 87%
Semperit Speed Grip 3 (5) 88% 90% 82% 82% 88% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (92) 89% 87% 84% 84% 86% 84%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 (158) 89% 87% 82% 82% 81% 88%
Continental WinterContact TS 830 P (34) 86% 89% 82% 82% 85% 89%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (90) 87% 88% 83% 76% 88% 86%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (282) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Nexen N Blue HD Plus (49) 87% 83% 81% 79% 81% 85%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (36) 84% 85% 79% 79% 87% 83%
Kleber Quadraxer (41) 81% 87% 79% 71% 89% 87%
Vredestein Snowtrac 3 (33) 85% 91% 83% 76% 83% 87%
Matador MP 44 Elite 3 (16) 90% 84% 85% 71% 81% 78%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (88) 90% 83% 81% 79% 81% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (38) 86% 85% 76% 81% 87% 78%
Falken ZIEX ZE914 EcoRun (79) 87% 83% 81% 83% 79% 77%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (57) 84% 72% 79% 77% 92% 83%
Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response (103) 88% 84% 84% 77% 76% 80%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter (18) 84% 79% 75% 76% 82% 83%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (73) 87% 85% 80% 81% 74% 79%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (224) 87% 85% 77% 78% 74% 86%
Uniroyal RainSport 3 (276) 84% 92% 79% 78% 64% 83%
Pirelli CINTURATO P1 (25) 84% 77% 77% 73% 82% 86%
Hankook Winter i cept evo3 (4) 90% 93% 73% 75% 80% 60%
Nexen N Fera SU1 (111) 84% 78% 76% 78% 75% 82%
Toyo Proxes CF1 (45) 85% 80% 80% 76% 68% 80%
Nexen N Blue ECO (33) 84% 79% 77% 77% 71% 75%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (170) 88% 85% 80% 76% 61% 83%
Michelin Primacy 3 (170) 86% 80% 77% 77% 69% 81%
Michelin Energy Saver (128) 83% 72% 75% 71% 86% 80%
Matador MP 54 Sibir Snow (2) 75% 80% 75% 70% 85% 60%
GT Radial 4Seasons (5) 83% 70% 70% 63% 90% 80%
Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 (69) 85% 78% 76% 79% 67% 75%
Yokohama Parada Spec 2 (118) 92% 59% 80% 80% 69% 71%
Continental Premium Contact 5 (111) 87% 83% 76% 77% 58% 79%
Kormoran Runpro B2 (3) 80% 67% 77% 67% 87% 83%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (147) 84% 74% 74% 76% 72% 75%
Nokian WR A3 (74) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Fulda Carat Progresso (13) 78% 72% 75% 74% 71% 72%
Bridgestone Potenza S001 (126) 85% 73% 77% 76% 69% 64%
Toyo T1R (285) 83% 69% 75% 74% 63% 70%
Goodyear GT2 (11) 82% 71% 72% 63% 83% 68%
GT Radial Champiro BAX 2 (12) 83% 71% 75% 75% 67% 69%
Yokohama BluEarth AE01 (22) 79% 73% 76% 68% 59% 75%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (228) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (208) 83% 70% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Yokohama Aspec A349 BluEarth (11) 72% 59% 69% 78% 87% 65%
Michelin Energy (42) 71% 65% 59% 61% 84% 76%
Goodride SV308 (32) 75% 64% 64% 63% 77% 69%
Starmaxx Ice Gripper W850 (4) 67% 67% 67% 63% 70% 70%
Yokohama S306 (17) 82% 59% 68% 62% 74% 64%
Sonar SX2 (12) 69% 58% 60% 56% 85% 68%
Debica Navigator (1) 80% 50% 80% 70% 60% 60%
Nankang Econex NA1 (4) 77% 73% 57% 47% 70% 63%
Dunlop SP Winter Response (3) 63% 53% 67% 63% 63% 73%
Hero Milanza HZ1 (20) 74% 53% 65% 61% 64% 59%
Continental EcoContact 6 (31) 76% 70% 56% 60% 48% 73%
Sava Adapto (8) 55% 54% 63% 53% 77% 65%
Radar RPX900 (8) 57% 50% 51% 49% 63% 66%
Maxtrek MAXIMUS M1 (50) 67% 37% 55% 50% 65% 60%
Zeta Ztr10 (28) 59% 44% 50% 50% 62% 58%
Riken Maystorm 2 B 2 (21) 68% 36% 51% 56% 54% 56%
Event WL905 (127) 59% 30% 42% 39% 60% 49%
Linglong L688 (28) 43% 25% 33% 31% 53% 36%

Volkswagen Golf Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance given 67% (225-45-16-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 2000 average miles
This tires were great before it started raining. Even at 20mph I'm losing control on roundabouts when it's damp, absolutely lethal. They're only a few months old and still have practically full tread. I've never struggled at such low speeds on damp roundabouts and turns, it's scary going to replace soon which is a shame as I've not had long and they were £100 a tire.
tire reviewed on 2021-09-11 02:03:58
Writing about the Toyo T1R given 47% (195-45-15-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 3000 spirited miles
Running these on a 1.8T mk2 Golf.. traction is a problem on average launches in the dry, fine elsewhere though... until it gets even slightly damp, then it's like piloting a greased pig. These are verging on dangerous when it's wet.. worst tires i've ever had in that respect. Plenty of life left in them but they will be getting changed pronto. AVOID
tire reviewed on 2021-08-02 17:18:07
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 83% (235-35-19-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Great tire just wore out in around 1 year due to aggressive street driving and mountain runs on weekends sometimes. Unreal tire I prefer over ps4s and also Dunlop sp sport max rt2. Which the rest are great tires also
tire reviewed on 2021-06-22 02:21:17
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 91% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6500 average miles
First of for I’d like to say for the price they are the best winter tires. Comfort is superb and wear is literally nonexistent, grip on wet and dry during doing some rough starts can be trouble the ABS pops up right away but afterwards it is great. The only issue I have had was like someone else mentioned in mixture of snow muddy surfaces it would go sideways but that was on a bit of steep road so it is understandable. Either way would definitely recommend cheap comfortable great tire overall.
tire reviewed on 2021-05-18 22:55:40
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 64% (195-65-15-V)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10 easy going miles
15.000 km in front (traction) wheels and they are close to the 3 mm wear indicator. The tires tread depth was smaller than usual when new, and they have lasted for a short time. I won´t buy again. Normal drive, highway, 110hp vw golf.
tire reviewed on 2020-12-08 17:35:44
Writing about the Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 given 97% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
I haven’t tested them in snow yet, but the comfort and handling is great, I had Hankook fitted before them, and there is a huge difference, the sidewall looks nice too, I love these types.
tire reviewed on 2020-11-01 13:47:42
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept evo3 given 48% (225-40-18-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 900 spirited miles
Very uncomfortable tire, the sidewall also looks different than on the website, I sold them after a couple of weeks.
tire reviewed on 2020-11-01 13:42:29
Writing about the Nexen N Blue HD Plus given 79% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 average miles
I had these tires fitted on my Golf based on the recommendation of the tire fitter. They were fantastic! gripped well. Incredibly progressive, fairly quiet but not the most comfortable tire. I forgave the comfort as it isn't a proper eco tire with the super soft sidewalls. Due to mindless vandalism, I had to have one of my tires replaced one week after getting a full set (sigh)... on closer inspection, I noticed that the new tire was date coded early in this year and instead came from Czech Republic (the other 3 were from Korea)... After some research and a phone call to the tire fitter, I was told not to worry, as the rubber quality was the same... Oh how wrong was I! The newer tire wore faster than the other 3, and also suffered from tread 'chunking' and 4 nasty bubbles that occurred after a 120 mile trip back to S Wales. I thought nothing of it and once the tire wore close to the limit, My trusted tire fitter immediately suggested I change them as I was on borrowed time... After changing my tires he showed me how thin those bubbles actually were on the top of the tread... I have used Nexen's for a while and, as such disappointed in the new, low quality control of these tires.... I replaced with Nankang's and hope that they will prove a better replacement... Buy these new 'Czech' made tires at your risk...
tire reviewed on 2020-10-26 15:16:01
Writing about the Nankang Econex NA1 given 62% (195-65-15-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
I took a chance with Nankang as it was the only tire in my price range at the time... I've since done approx 500 miles so not enough chance for them to wear in fully... They seem fairly decent for £45 fitted for the 195/65/R15 size. They seem very planted when it comes to deep standing water but cornering in the wet leaves a little to be desired. They feel a little lacklustre and can sometimes run wide with no warning. Last time I experienced a tire like this was the Toyo Nano Energy 3's and they were truly a terrible tire (worse than budgets I have had in the past), so lets hope they don't turn into the Toyo disaster that happened last time. If they last longer than my last set of tires (Nexen N'Blue HD Plus) I will be satisfied. Will report back with Further findings once they have worn in fully!
tire reviewed on 2020-10-26 15:06:58
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5 given 100% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 6 spirited miles
Grip is perfect, I fell like I have control all the time, sidewall looks good and it has got a rim protector.
tire reviewed on 2020-06-02 09:15:18
Writing about the Pirelli CINTURATO P7 given 83% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 1500 spirited miles
I changed from Dunlop Sport Max RT to this Pirelli's P7 cinturatto. My thoughts: Dry: good grip, traction and braking. The only drawback is that the sidewalls are soft, so.the cornering is not top notch. Wet: good overall performance. Noise: very quiet tires. Treadwear: so far so good..they are soft compound, still tje wear evenly. Bottomline: a good overall tire, just it is not a UHP tire, is a Summer Touring tire, for me.it is very similar to the Michelin Primacy3..very similar tire. If you want a good summer overall tire with good performance this tire is for you...but if you want a UHP tire you better try The Pirelli Sport Dragon or the Pitelli PZero Nero....
tire reviewed on 2020-04-20 04:24:40
Writing about the Hankook Ventus S1 evo2 given 49% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 18000 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2020-02-20 20:44:33
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire