Michelin Energy Saver+

The Michelin Energy Saver Plus is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Michelin Energy Saver and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Energy Saver 4.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 84%
Wet Grip 72%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 77%
Wear 91%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 81%

Tire review data from 61 tire reviews averaging 81% over 1,618,266 miles driven.

The Energy Saver+ is ranked 42nd of 139 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 AutoBild Summer Tire Overview - 15th of 47 tires

View Full Test >>

2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tire Test - 11th of 16 tires

  • Positive - Top marks in wear, low fuel consumption, good in the dry
  • Negative - Weak on wet roads
View Full Test >>

2016 ADAC Tire Test - 185/65 R15 - 10th of 16 tires

  • Positive - Top marks for fuel consumption and wear, good in the dry
  • Negative - A slight weakness in the wet
View Full Test >>

2018 Tire Tests

  • 15th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tire Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 11th: 2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2016 Tire Tests

  • 10th: 2016 ADAC Tire Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2015 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Summer Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 8th: 2015 European Tire Test 185/60R14 (185/60 R14)
  • 12th: 2015 Market Overview - Braking Test (185/60 R15)
  • 15th: 2015 European Tire Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 2014 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2014 AMS Summer Tire Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tire Test (175/65 R14)
  • 11th: 2014 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2013 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2013 European Summer Touring Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 8th: 2013 54 Tire Braking Test (195/65 R15)
  • 11th: 2013 ACE Summer Touring Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2012 Tire Tests

  • 8th: 2012 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/55 R14 80H   C B 68 6.28kgs
    185/60 R14 82T   C B 68 6.36kgs
    185/60 R14 82H   C B 68 6.38kgs
    165/65 R14 79T   C B 68 5.75kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   C B 68 6.48kgs
    175/65 R14 82H   C B 68 6.51kgs
    185/65 R14 86T   C B 68 6.66kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   C B 68 6.74kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   C B 68 5.86kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   C B 68 6.49kgs
    185/70 R14 88H   C B 68 7.19kgs
    185/70 R14 88T   C B 68 6.95kgs
    195/70 R14 91T   C B 68 7.76kgs
    195/50 R15 82T   C A 70 7.07kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   C A 68 7.06kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   C A 70 7.20kgs
    195/55 R15 85V   C A 70 7.31kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 68 7.16kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 6.94kgs
    185/60 R15 84H AO C A 68 7.00kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.70kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 6.96kgs
    195/60 R15 88T   C A 70 7.60kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   C A 70 7.72kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   C A 70 7.58kgs
    195/60 R15 88V DT C B 70 7.80kgs
    205/60 R15 91V   C A 70 7.94kgs
    205/60 R15 91H   C A 70 7.92kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   B A 68 7.00kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   B A 68 6.20kgs
    175/65 R15 84H   C A 68 6.70kgs
    175/65 R15 84T   C A 68 6.74kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.23kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.26kgs
    195/65 R15 91H G1 B A 69 7.90kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   B A 70 7.90kgs
    195/65 R15 95T XL   B A 70 7.91kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 70 7.87kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 70 7.71kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   C A 70 7.70kgs
    205/65 R15 94V   C A 70 8.79kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   C A 70 8.83kgs
    215/65 R15 96H   B A 70 9.16kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   C A 70 7.96kgs
    185/55 R16 83V   C A 68 7.55kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   C A 70 7.96kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 70 8.00kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL   C A 70 8.11kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   C A 70 7.86kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   C A 70 8.35kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   B A 70 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91W AO B A 70 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   A A 70 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 91V * B A 70 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   B A 70 8.24kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   B A 70 8.12kgs
    205/55 R16 91H AO B A 70 8.15kgs
    205/60 R16 92W MO B A 70 8.56kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL * B A 70 8.56kgs
    205/60 R16 92H AO B A 70 8.35kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 70 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   B A 70 8.63kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 70 8.69kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   B A 70 8.61kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   B A 70 9.20kgs
    215/60 R16 95H   B A 70 9.37kgs
    195/65 R16 92H   B A 70 8.40kgs
    205/65 R16 95V *       10.24kgs
    205/65 R16 95V MO A A 70 8.60kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Energy Saver Plus

    2016-05-23 - I've noticed that these tires come in 2 different tread paterns with the same name, according to their size. Is that correct?

    It's not unusual for the tread pattern of tires to alter slightly as the tire width increases, with a lot of manufacturers putting in an extra circumferential rib to their larger sizes.


    2016-06-28 - I am about to change my tires and have been very pleased with my Michelin Energy Savers. After nearly 2 years of use totalling 38,000 miles and getting an average 62.5 mpg from my Honda Civic Tourer, I am sticking with Michelin but cannot decide between the Michelin Energy Saver Plus and the fairly new Michelin Cross Climate. From what i have read if I could get similar life out of the latter, that would be the best choice but I am concerned that I will get less life from the Cross Climate. Any thoughts would be most welcome. Thanks.

    The CrossClimate is reported to have slightly better wear than the Energy Saver+, and much improved wet grip. The Energy Saver+ will still have the rolling resistance advantage in certain sizes, but the difference will be small.


    2017-12-09 - Michelin Energy Saver Plus,205/55/16,tire weight?

    We don't have an exact weight for the Michelin Energy Saver+ on record, but it should weigh around 8kgs.


    2019-02-16 - The energy saver plus are tires aimed for excellent fuel efficiency but their fuel efficiency rating is C!?! I have bridgestone t005's and their fuel efficiency is poor compared to the toyo nano energy i had before. The fact that these Michelin are rated C will they be worse in fuel efficiency compared to my B rated t005's?

    There's a chance they will be, yes, but different car and tire combinations can work differently. Don't forget a tires rolling resistance improves with wear, and double check your tire pressures as a few PSI can make a difference too.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly town for 25,000 average miles
    Very quiet and comfortable, good braking on wet and dry. Moderate handling. Good fuel economy, very good wear. But sidewalls are very soft and poor. Price is very high.
    Helpful 138 - tire reviewed on August 12, 2016
    Given 86% while driving a Alfa Romeo 1.9 JTD M (205/55 R16 V) on mostly motorways for 2,500 easy going miles
    I have these tires, the Energy Saver + for 4.000km and before i have the same tires, but then the normal version of it. The normal Energy saver.
    My english is nog as good as some people espect, but i do my best.

    At first i want a performance tire cause i drive sportive, my car is a Alfa Romeo 147 140hp JTD, but a few days later i realize i want tires where ecofuelly. Cause i drive 40.000km in one year, it save's fuel and also money.
    The day i put them on my car, the first corner i thought damn, these tires are excellent when driving, steeringwheel is much easyer and lighter. The previous tires (normal energy savers) the steering becomes a bit heavy, but now it's easy to steer to right or left.

    I can't say anything about wear but i have much confidence in Energy Saver+

    Also good dry and wet grip. It's not a performance tire but if you drive normal and not like a fool or something, you have always a safe feeling, even when it rains hard and much aquaplanning on the road, always a safe feeling and a lot of feedback what you doing.

    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2018
    Given 91% while driving a Citroën C3 (185/60 R15 H) on mostly motorways for 70,000 average miles
    this set of tires was used for about 70000 kms
    excellent comfort and incredible wear also excellent fuel economy tanks to these tires
    the tire feels very safe even when driving fast
    now after 4 years and 70000 kms it feels less safe and grip loss is noticeable when compared with new or mid life
    I will definitely buy again
    excellent value tire
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2017
    Have you driven on the Michelin Energy Saver Plus tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Energy Saver Plus? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin Energy Saver Plus >

    Latest Michelin Energy Saver Plus Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Toyota Corolla (175/65 R14) on mostly country roads for 9,000 average miles
    Very good tires in wet and dry roads. Low noise and very comfort.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2022
    Given 59% while driving a Citroën C3 (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 55,000 easy going miles
    OE on a 2015 Citroën C3 1.2 PureTech. Not the best Michelins imo The big problem with these is the dry rotting of the whole tire. It's pretty bad. Grip is normal, as expected from a Michelin. I can't recommend them because of the dry rotting problem.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 81% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (205/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 33 average miles
    So, after 33,000miles/53.000km I can say a few things about these tires. +Really good on wearing slowly +Comfortable +Good mileage +Great for average driving +Stable even at 170+km/h/105miles/h +excellent at dry grip/breaking +pricing -not for sporty driving -not stable if worn in wet roads -a bit bumpy when curving -might lose grip if pushed after a couple of dozens of thousands of miles. A great choice of touring tire for sure.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on for 1,000 spirited miles
    excellent dry grip,just average on wet thought.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 8, 2021
    Given 76% while driving a Hyundai Getz (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
    I bought a set of used ones in decent condition and i must say that the dry grip was superb! Even on hard cornering at highway speeds the tires have great traction and the car felt secure, I was really impressed about how good they were on dry conditions, didn't expect that coming. They were also very comfortable probably due to the sidewall size (175/65/14) also the braking on dry roads again was good enough. But i was really disappointed about the wet grip of the tires. On high speeds with moderate rain the car didn't felt secure at all and on corners i really had to brake a lot not to get off the road! Also on hairpin turns at slow speeds the tires aquaplaned and it was really scary, unacceptable! Last but not least i was again disappointed a little about the wear as only after 300 km i noticed they were not in the same condition, maybe it was due to the fact they were already used and 4 years old and the treadwear was at the end of its life and they wearing out faster than normal i dont' know for sure...Finally the fuel efficiency was another disappointment as Michelin sells these tires as "energy saver" and i was expecting a better gas mileage from a tire rated C on fuel.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Vauxhall 1.4 auto mk3 (185/45 R15 T) on mostly town for 38,000 average miles
    michelin energy saver tires, on 3 rd set of tires and covered 38000 miles each time down to 2mil approx, type of driving 6000 miles local, 3000 further afield travel, have bought budget tires over the years but false economy
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on June 24, 2020
    Given 90% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 65,000 average miles
    I have done over 100'000 km in these tires are they still have loads left in the thread. However the side walls are starting to become cracked with age, they have just headed 5 years old. I am going to get the same tires again because they were so good, hopefully the new ones will last another 5 years and then i will have a new car! Overall they are worth it because you get so long out of them, also great performance and very comfortable.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on January 3, 2020
    Given 93% while driving a Opel corsa d 1.3 cdti (185/65 R15 T) on mostly motorways for 50 average miles
    Treadwear 400, Traction A, Temperature A

    One of the most outstanding tires I have ever used.

    Dry grip is phenomenal.

    Wet grip is adequate for most normal driving conditions.

    Road feedback, comfort and handling are on par with the everyday use orientation of the tire.

    Wear is simply amazing. The tire loses 0.5mm of tread evey 10.000km.

    What is worth commenting is the tire's performance throughout its lifespan. Even after 80.000km, with still 3.2mm of tread left, it performs the same as new. Almost same comfort, same noise, almost same dry and wet braking, and that is probably the best argument why to buy this tire. Reliable, efficient and same performance for around 80.000km. Of course, it could go beyond 100K to reach the legal limit, but what's the point?
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2019
    Given 63% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 40,000 spirited miles
    I have those tire on my Golf Mk7 for last 40,000 km. They don't wear, I would easily get another 40,000km out of them. I do drive hard and like to take corners also hard. Over all the tire is good, but I find it very loud on motorways. Its also no where near ContiSportContact 6 for handling in the wet. Ill be going back to Continentals for my next tire. But overall, tire is good and exceptionally good at not wearing. Would be ideal for Taxi's.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on February 22, 2019
    Given 73% while driving a Hyundai i20 (185/60 R15 V) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    I have around 30k km with the tires, with plenty of tread left. Personally I push the tires quite a lot, and I didn't have any real issue with this tire, especially with it's category and price. I have even driven on snow, where of course it's slippery, but drivable. Would recommend them for casual use, but if you want something more aggressive and high performance, I would look somewhere else.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on January 5, 2019
    Nissan LEAF Tekna (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    Good tire all round for my 10,000 miles on them. On an EV they break loose on full excelleration on dry summer road around 17°c . They spin for 1 Sec over taking but slight adjustment and they feel really well sure footed . Tbis mus the the compromise between low rolling resistance to their touting primacy tire.
    Never let me down under city braking in slot on emergency brake tests with pedestrians. Not once did abs kick in.
    So all in all a good tire as you don’t notice them then they are good.
    Only one spin out under load when grrip goes light under hard acceleration from a torqued ev Nissan Leaf .
    Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on September 27, 2018
    Given 89% while driving a Suzuki Splash SZ4 (185/60 R15) on mostly town for 20 average miles
    VERY durable tire and very reliable . Grips and handles great , ever after almost 4 years use. You pay premium price but the tire is of premium quality as well . I just feel that through time ,the tire has become a bit harder for my (already firm Japanese) suspension .
    Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on April 2, 2018