Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Golf 7 TDI better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin 6 (21) 89% 93% 84% 84% 84% 91%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (53) 88% 90% 85% 85% 85% 90%
Vredestein Sportrac 5 (93) 89% 86% 84% 83% 86% 84%
Continental AllSeasonContact (26) 82% 88% 84% 84% 78% 83%
Michelin CrossClimate Plus (101) 88% 88% 83% 73% 89% 87%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (9) 86% 88% 74% 76% 88% 87%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (87) 89% 85% 83% 85% 76% 80%
Semperit Speed Grip 3 (6) 83% 83% 78% 78% 86% 88%
Roadstone Eurovis Sport 04 (53) 85% 81% 77% 80% 78% 82%
Michelin Energy Saver Plus (58) 84% 72% 79% 77% 91% 83%
Michelin Primacy 4 (117) 86% 82% 75% 77% 84% 86%
Ovation VI 388 (14) 85% 82% 78% 83% 80% 77%
Sava Eskimo S3 Plus (26) 78% 77% 72% 74% 76% 82%
Vredestein Sportrac 2 (6) 73% 87% 82% 77% 90% 67%
Continental Sport Contact 6 (77) 92% 87% 84% 82% 53% 78%
Michelin Primacy 3 (176) 86% 80% 77% 77% 70% 81%
Bridgestone Turanza T005 (99) 84% 82% 76% 76% 69% 74%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (188) 83% 77% 77% 72% 78% 71%
Landsail LS588 UHP (87) 81% 76% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Hankook Ventus Prime2 (59) 78% 73% 72% 71% 67% 71%
Bridgestone Weather Control A005 (65) 82% 85% 77% 72% 59% 72%
Pirelli P Zero (137) 85% 70% 77% 74% 60% 65%
Continental EcoContact 6 (46) 76% 68% 58% 62% 52% 72%
Pirelli Cinturato P 7 Ecoimpact (9) 63% 63% 61% 55% 68% 53%
BCT S800 (85) 51% 29% 38% 37% 61% 32%

Volkswagen Golf 7 TDI Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime2 given 35% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 easy going miles
According to Hankook website these tires are usable for around 50000 miles and 7 to 8 years old. Unfortunately these tires were fitted as orriginal equipment to my golf reg oct 2017. Tires manufacture end August 2017. At 4 years old 22000 miles mot failed because perished. Sent rear tire back to Hankook under complaint as less than 50% worn. Their technical dep t rejected claim as it was over 4 years old and they therefore rejected claim. WARNING IF YOU DRIVE A LOW MILEAGE CAR BE VERY WARY ABOUT ABOUT FITTING Hangkook tires . High mileage cars are ok as they will be worn out before any fault shows.
tire reviewed on 2022-03-27 17:30:13
Writing about the Ovation VI 388 given 79% (205-55-17-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2021-11-14 13:24:16
Writing about the Pirelli P Zero given 73% (235-35-19-)
Driving on mostly town for 17000 average miles
Had these tires on for a while, the difference I noticed straight away when putting these on was that I had lost a lot of comfort. These tires are extremely hard and allow every little stone you go over to be felt inside the cabin. In terms of handling, grip and wear, you cannot fault them. However those things do not matter when you’ve lost this much comfort. Lowered and running on 19s which really doesnt help lol.
tire reviewed on 2021-06-28 03:32:50
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 90% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 25000 easy going miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2020-06-08 11:36:41
Writing about the Continental AllSeasonContact given 83% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 400 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2020-01-23 20:41:40
Writing about the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 given 67% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
Bought these to replace worn out Davanti DX640's and I have to say I'm underwhelmed so far. They feel much less assured when cornering and generally sloppy. They also tramline terribly. I find their poor handling characteristics a big surprise given Bridgestone is at the upper end of the market. Not tested on snow/ice yet. Wet grip seems fine, but not noticably better than the Davanti tires they have replaced.
tire reviewed on 2019-08-31 10:40:57
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 86% (225-45-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 100 average miles
Bought these for my 2014 Golf TDI only a week ago so it's early days. I noticed immediately they are much quieter than the Bridgestone Turanza's I had previously. They hold the road well in the dry and as far as comfort is concerned they are exactly what I wanted, the ride is well balance and smooth and the tires soak up minor road defects without fuss, they are altogether a very good tire for low noise and comfort. I have only really pushed them hard into a bend at high speed once and I didn't think they gave great feedback but they did not feel as if they would give way. I felt safe and in control but think they will improve after a few hundred miles.
My test drive was over the same route I tried the Turanza's on which included good tarmac roads, poor concrete surfaces and poor quality country lanes. The Turanza's gave a comfortable ride but couldn't cope with different road surfaces being very prone to increased noise on poor surfaces. in contrast the Michelins' didn't suffer from increased noise levels very much at all.
Generally I feel these are great all around tires which suite my Golf very well and will cope with whatever the roads throw at them. I would certainly buy them again.
tire reviewed on 2019-05-25 15:53:42
Writing about the Landsail LS588 UHP given 50% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 average miles
Tires have good grip however vehicle has lost it's handing. The car originally had Bridgestone Potenza tires, which handled very well compared to the Landsail. With the Landsail, I have lost the good handling, the vehicle feels as if it floating if you take bends at high speeds and the vehicle becomes highly unstable. When decellerating fast, the vehicle starts to float all over and loses control very easily. It feels almost as if only the middle part of the tire is only touching the ground. The tires have been filled according to manufacturers specification using a calibrated pressure guage, regretful purchase.
tire reviewed on 2019-04-03 12:09:55
Writing about the Sava Eskimo S3 Plus given 76% (195-65-16-H)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30000 average miles
The tire has average dry grip but not even close to be dangerous. In wet its little better. In snow it's excellent. Grip in snow is outrageously good. Handling and breaking is very good in snowy conditions. On ice has good grip and breaking. Wear is very low. In comperison to continintal or michelin in my opinion is better in snow and worse in dry conditions. On average in my opinion very good snow tire.
tire reviewed on 2019-03-04 08:11:12
Writing about the Michelin Energy Saver Plus given 63% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 40000 spirited miles
I have those tire on my Golf Mk7 for last 40,000 km. They don't wear, I would easily get another 40,000km out of them. I do drive hard and like to take corners also hard. Over all the tire is good, but I find it very loud on motorways. Its also no where near ContiSportContact 6 for handling in the wet. Ill be going back to Continentals for my next tire. But overall, tire is good and exceptionally good at not wearing. Would be ideal for Taxi's.
tire reviewed on 2019-02-22 15:51:22
Writing about the Continental EcoContact 6 given 10% (205-55-16-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
I bought a pair of these for the front of my car and drove them approximately 14 miles home today. I have measured the tread depths and found them to be approximately 6.5 mm. The Continental Premium Contact 5 which were removed had done about 28000 miles and had worn down to approximately 3 to 4 mm. These tires were original equipment on the car and I am pretty sure the tread depths were of the order of 8 mm when they were new. When I have bought quality tires in the past, they have generally had around 8 mm of tread. If the tires wear at the same rate, it appears I will have to replace them at a much lower mileage. It is possible that the new tires will wear at a considerably reduced rate. However, I am sceptical and suspect that I will have to replace then at rather less than 28000 miles.
Are manufacturer's quietly reducing the life of their tires for commercial reasons?
This practice is surely environmentally unsound. More used tire casings will be produced for a given vehicle mileage. Greater stress should be placed on tread depth (and longevity) of tires when they are advertised new. Perhaps a statement of the tread depth in the description should be legally required. This would help to sort out the tendency of tire manufacturers toward selling tires of reduced tread depth.
I will try and add a further review when I have had the tires for a bit longer.
tire reviewed on 2019-02-19 17:04:05
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 6 given NAN% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
I am very impressed. Before Alpin 6 I had Conti TS850 and TS860 fitted on my car, and I never conauseated any other tires. Thinking on how many miles I tend to make during a year on my personal (Golf 7) and business car (Berlingo van) I came across Alpins. They are never no1 on the tests, but tests overall are BS, since only new tires are tested. In practice, after first year and at least 20.000 km every tire (premium&budget) tend to lose their performances, and then you start to think about Michelin’s philosophy- good when new, good when used. I like tires which are maybe not best on tests, but keep their performances on every kilometer driven - from 0 till the end of their lifespan. I have them on my both cars in the same dimension 195/65 15, made in Italy. Performances so far were excellent, I mean I didn’t expect anything less. I tried them on the snow- perfect. Dry road - perfect. Rainy road - nothing I can complain on. Really one great tire. Price is premium, but their expected mileage is not less than 45000 km which is great. With cheaper tires (I considered Kleber Krisalp HP3) I would certainly get better price, but expected lifespan would be, by my opinion max 30-35 thousand km. So yes, I consider those are worth that price difference, although today it is hard to buy bad winter tire in that price range.
I will keep you noticed with wear of those tires.
tire reviewed on 2018-12-06 16:54:32
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire