Dunlop Sport BluResponse

The Dunlop Sport BluResponse is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Dunlop SP Sport Fast Response.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 88%
Wet Grip 85%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 76%
Wear 61%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 66%

Tire review data from 175 tire reviews averaging 77% over 1,726,177 miles driven.

The Sport BluResponse is ranked 61st of 137 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tire Test - 4th of 18 tires

  • Positive - Very balanced, good in the dry and wet.
  • Negative - None mentioned.
  • Overall - The Dunlop Sport BluResponse gets good ratings for safety-relevant driving maneuvers on both dry and wet roads. The tire can also get a good rating in terms of wear. The tire is therefore well-balanced and receives the rating particularly recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2022 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 15 Inch - 5th of 16 tires

  • Positive - Good on dry roads and good aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - Slight weakness in wet braking.
  • Overall - The Dunlop Sport BluResponse shows good performance in the dry and can still record a good result in the wet as well as in wear. In the sum of all its properties, the tire is classified as particularly recommendable.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test - 19th of 20 tires

  • Positive - Good aquaplaning resistance, short dry braking, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Understeer in the dry and wet, slow steering, low value.
  • Overall - Acceptable.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R16)
  • 5th: 2022 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 11th: 2021 53 Summer Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 19th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 8th: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2019 ACE Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2019 NAF Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 6th: 2018 Gute Fahrt Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2018 AutoBild Summer Tire Overview (195/65 R15)
  • 11th: 2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2017 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2017 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 2016 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2016 ADAC Tire Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 5th: 2016 AutoBild Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2016 Market Overview - Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2015 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2015 AMS Performance Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2015 Auto Bild 215/55 R16 Technical Tire Test (215/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2015 Auto Express Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 3rd: 2015 ACE Summer Touring Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2015 Market Overview - Braking Test (185/60 R15)
  • 4th: 2015 European Tire Test 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2015 European Tire Test 185/60R14 (185/60 R14)
  • 7th: 2015 Test World Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Summer Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2014 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2014 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2014 ADAC 195/65 R15 Summer Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 4th: 2014 AMS Summer Tire Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2014 Test World Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2013 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2013 ACE Summer Touring Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 1st: 2013 54 Tire Braking Test (195/65 R15)
  • 1st: 2013 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (215/55 R16)
  • 3rd: 2013 European Summer Touring Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 4th: 2013 Test World Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/55 R14 80H XL   C A 67 6.10kgs
    185/60 R14 82H XL   C B 67 6.29kgs
    185/65 R14 86H XL   C B 67 6.45kgs
    195/50 R15 82V XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   C A 67 6.62kgs
    195/50 R15 82H XL   C A 67 6.99kgs
    195/50 R15 82H   E B 69 7.12kgs
    195/50 R15 82V   E B 69 7.12kgs
    185/55 R15 82V XL   C A 67 6.81kgs
    185/55 R15 82H XL   C A 67 6.81kgs
    195/55 R15 85V XL   C A 67 6.87kgs
    195/55 R15 85H XL   C A 67 6.87kgs
    185/60 R15 84H XL   C B 67 7.70kgs
    185/60 R15 84H XL   B A 67 6.42kgs
    185/60 R15 84H XL   B B 66 6.52kgs
    185/60 R15 84H AO B B 67 6.47kgs
    185/60 R15 84H XL AO B B 70 6.47kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.77kgs
    195/60 R15 88H XL   C A 70 7.45kgs
    195/60 R15 88V   B A 68 7.11kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   B A 69 7.10kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   B A 68 7.11kgs
    205/60 R15 91H XL   B A 67 7.85kgs
    205/60 R15 91V XL   B A 67 7.85kgs
    205/60 R15 95H XL   B A 67 7.72kgs
    165/65 R15 81H XL   C C 66 6.60kgs
    175/65 R15 84H XL * C B 67 7.21kgs
    185/65 R15 88H XL   B A 67 6.80kgs
    195/65 R15 91H XL   B A 68 7.88kgs
    195/65 R15 91V XL   B A 68 7.88kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   B A 68 8.09kgs
    205/65 R15 94V XL   B B 68 8.43kgs
    205/65 R15 94H XL   B B 68 8.43kgs
    215/65 R15 96H XL   B A 68 9.04kgs
    195/45 R16 84V XL   C A 68 7.12kgs
    195/50 R16 84V XL   C A 67 7.24kgs
    195/50 R16 88V XL   B A 68 7.24kgs
    205/50 R16 87V XL   B A 68 7.54kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   C B 69 7.60kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   B A 67 7.17kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C B 69 7.60kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.24kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.66kgs
    195/55 R16 87H XL   B A 67 7.66kgs
    195/55 R16 87V   B A 67 7.17kgs
    195/55 R16 87V XL   B A 67 7.66kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   A B 68 7.39kgs
    205/55 R16 91V XL VW LRR B B 68 7.65kgs
    205/55 R16 91W XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
    205/55 R16 91V XL VW C C 68 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91H XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
    205/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.98kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   A B 68 8.27kgs
    215/55 R16 93V XL   B A 68 8.34kgs
    215/55 R16 97H XL   A A 68 8.40kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   A B 68 8.27kgs
    225/55 R16 95V XL   B A 68 9.17kgs
    195/60 R16 89V XL   C A 68 7.64kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 72 9.69kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   B A 67 8.39kgs
    205/60 R16 92V XL   B A 71 8.50kgs
    205/60 R16 92H XL   B A 71 8.56kgs
    205/60 R16 96V XL   B A 68 8.36kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.30kgs
    215/60 R16 95V XL   C A 68 9.30kgs
    225/60 R16 102W XL   B B 69 9.76kgs
    205/65 R16 95W XL * B A 66 9.27kgs
    215/65 R16 98V   B A 68 9.32kgs
    225/45 R17 91W XL   C A 70 9.73kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 69 8.45kgs
    205/50 R17 89H XL   B A 70 8.24kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   B A 68 8.25kgs
    205/50 R17 89V XL   B A 68 8.25kgs
    215/50 R17 95V XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 69 8.69kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 69 9.00kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 72 9.00kgs
    225/50 R17 94W XL   B A 69 9.00kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   A B 68 8.23kgs
    205/55 R17 95Y XL J C A 67 8.90kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Dunlop Sport BluResponse

    2016-07-10 - What is the difference between the Dunlop Bluresponse 195/55R16 87H and 87V , apart from the price !

    The V rated construction of the Sport BluResponse is rated to a higher maximum speed (130 mph for H, 150 mph for V), but in reality unless you plan on travelling faster than 130 mph there would be likely be no noticeable differences between the two models.


    2016-08-18 - Should the tire pressures be different because my new tires look a bit flat. I can roll the car side to side

    The tire pressures for the Dunlop Sport BluResponse should be as your manufacturer specified. Some people are finding a few extra PSI in modern low rolling resistance tires are helping stability. If you decide to over inflate, keep an eye on wear to make sure the tire is wearing evenly.


    2019-06-28 - what is the average mileage one can expect from a Dunlop sports bluresponse 205/55r16 . Thanks

    Tire wear can be influenced by a huge number of factors, such as vehicle weight, driving style and surfaces driven on. I'd recommend looking through the wear ratings on the website to find an average for your own personal setup.


    2019-10-15 - Purchased a set of blue response tires 205/55R16 5years ago they have covered 10,000 miles. All tires have at least 5mm left on them and all look in good condition. One tire however has a crack around the centre between the tread. is this normal.

    Surface cracking can be normal, especially tires of that age, but worth getting checked by a professional. Tire manufacturers recommend no more than 5 years use, so it might be time to change them regardless!


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    205/55 R16 $97.65 - $113.96 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 2 tire sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews

    Given 47% while driving a Toyota Corolla (195/50 R15 V) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
    I am not satisfied after six months of wearing this Tires..
    At the beginning was good on handling and on wet grip and dry grip.
    Helpful 1140 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2018
    Given 84% while driving a Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 13,392 average miles
    Since I fitted these tires in 2013 I did 21552 km and I am pleased with wear. I think they will last at least 45000 km, or even more, as I drive normally, anticipating traffic. Dry grip is very good by my standards, as well as wet grip. I experienced straight aquaplaning as I drove with 55km/h in standing water and nothing bad happened, so these tires are very good. I had to brake hard in both dry and wet conditions, and they did grip well. In conclusion I'm more than pleased with Dunlop Sport BlueResponse. Surely I'll buy them again.
    Helpful 152 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2016
    Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus MK1 (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    very happy with these tires. had a set of Goodyear efficient grip on my 1.8 focus before which are ok, but the Dunlops I replaced them with have more wet and dry grip, are less noisy and at the same mileage have a good 25% more wear to go. that is game set and match for the Dunlops. also, they are a reasonable price so will be buying again.
    Helpful 40 - tire reviewed on September 28, 2018
    Have you driven on the Dunlop Sport BluResponse tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop Sport BluResponse? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Dunlop Sport BluResponse >

    Latest Dunlop Sport BluResponse Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Toyota Yaris Mk2 1.33 (1NR FE) (185/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 22,000 easy going miles
    Always bought sport blue response as they look good and last well but have very good grip and it's not yo heavy on the wallet for a top of the range tire
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 27, 2022
    Given 46% while driving a Skoda (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
    Had these on 2 different cars. Very average wear life (Michelin Pilot Sport 4 with the same 340 treadwear last a lot better). Look perished very quickly, and one developed a large flat spot on just the outermost band of tread. Others have bulging sidewalls, which don't look dangerous, but also don't look right. Dry grip is fine, but handling is mushy. Comfort is reasonable. Wet grip is very disappointing. Would not recommend these on the grounds of longevity - the perishing, bulging, and flat spot in particular.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2022
    Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 47% while driving a Alfa Romeo Giulietta (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    If you drive anything near sporty stay away from these. I don't know how can they be considered ultra high performance, my winter nokians have more stability in warm dry conditions. They have a soft side wall and grip is average, they become wobbly in high speed corners, i had sailuns with more feedback... Almost crashed into a pole.. only good thing i can say is that they are comfortable over bumps and have low rolling resistance, other than that, they are crap. Had dunlops on other cars aswell, they are all terrible.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 18, 2022
    Given 86% while driving a Ford Focus (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 easy going miles
    very pleasant tires to drive with, rolls nicely, after using winter tires as an all season tires, difference was like day and night, I don't want to use winter tires in summer ever again. I'm not aggressive driver, drive within speed limits, I didn't really push them, but their strong side is more on the dry than the wet. Although if you're not aggressive driver they should not let you down on wet. They don't seem to wear quickly with my driving style, they probably did some 30k km. The problem is weak side walls, slight bump to the curb at some 5-8km/h speed was enough to get a small bulge. It's almost invisible, but I can feel it when I rub my hand against that spot. I regularly check it out and it doesn't progress for worse for about 10k kilometers. I read about weak side walls from other users and this is true. It's really a shame for manufacturer like Dunlop to make a tire with such a weak side walls. If I consider buying Dunlop again, I would first check for reviews if there is a problem with side walls. If yes, I probably wouldn't buy them again.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 21, 2021
    Given 36% while driving a Ford Galaxy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Tires lose grip easily on corners and at low speed even in car park. Very poor given the price and sales hype. Just to confirm, new tires fitted couple of months ago, pressures correct.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021
    Given 87% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 25,000 average miles
    I drove these on a Citroen C4 1.6 ehdi, for about a year and a half and 25k km, mixed roads, 20% of the time spirited, the rest just normal drive, like with any other tire I have. They are good tires, overall, good dry and wt grip, good cornering and feedback also. I found an issue with them, when it snowed unexpectedly and the rubber got stiff and very slippery, so if you are in some area where you can encounter temperatures bellow 7, these are not the best choice. I haven't got the same issue with the Michelin Primacy 4 or 3, those just work in snow and low temperatures, also. Another minus, compared with the Primcay's is that this Dunlop wears about 30% faster. With Michelin Primacy you can do 80k km, with these, probably 60 k at most. Overall a good summer tire, quiet, comfortable and safe.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 4, 2021
    Given 56% while driving a Ford Focus MK2 1.8 TDCI (205/55 R16) on mostly town for 5,221 easy going miles
    More than pleased with all aspects of the tires except having to replace all four after only two and a half years and only 5000 miles due to rubber cracking at the base of the tread pattern.Side walls were fine and tread wear was like new as you would expect after only 5000 city miles..For a good middle priced tire,to be told by the garage not to to expect much more from the brand,they represent terrible value for money,or were mine a manufacturing fault?.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on August 19, 2021
    Given 84% while driving a Ford Bmax (195/60 R15) on mostly country roads for 3,000 average miles
    Surprised by some of the negative reports but hey! everyone has an opinion. i have been using Dunlop tires on all my cars and motorcycles for years and never had any issues. Superb road feedback, good in the wet with positive handling. Also very quiet wlth little road noise but then that could have something to do with Ford's cabin insulation.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on July 22, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Golf Mk5 1.9 TDI (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 25,000 spirited miles
    Golf came with Continental tires, poor. Changed to Dunlop's huge improvement on steering grip here in hot Spain, Great safe grippy tire
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 14, 2021
    Given 70% while driving a Jaguar S type 3.0 (205/55 R17) on mostly motorways for 23,000 spirited miles
    These are OE on Jaguar XE 180d (Some models), but they have a real tendency to not cope with putting torque down in the wet. Fishtailing out of roundabouts isn't great fun. They lasted 23,000 miles. Car was always very sure in the dry and wet handling, but let down with lack of stickiness under hard acceleration in wet. Pretty quiet and comfortable on a cruise and over bad potholes. New tires going on now will reveal how much of that is Jag and how much is Dunlop.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on June 7, 2021
    Given 94% while driving a Toyota Yaris (195/50 R16) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
    I read many reviews before deciding on the Dunlop’s as i wanted a decent tires to replace the Falken ZE914’s i had on before these of which i couldn’t get along with as when i’m on my own in the car i like to press on on country roads. There isn’t much choice in this size range unless you go for the cheapo ditch finders which there appears to be lots available of and i wasn’t prepared to risk that. I will be changing them within the next 1,000 miles for another set of Dunlop sport blu response. The ride is quite soft as the sidewall is soft which means feedback can be described as neutral sometimes when pressing on in the sweeping corners, dry grip as expected is very good along with wet grip and we have had some torrential rain this year. The Falken ZE914 tires i had on before weren’t a patch on these. They do cost a little more than most tires but i do trust them and how many tires can you say that about
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on November 2, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Mazda 5 (205/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Very nice alround performer, very quiet and notice improved fuel consumption after I had these fitted. I had all 4 done as there was an offer and I was not happy with budgets my car came with from the last owner. Great dry handling pretty progressive, wet handling is also very good. Very safe loads of confidence in the wet grip and dry, never a scary moment. Despite my best efforts no wet aqua plane type incidents either. These are one of my favourite tires, I did struggle with my size and load index for availability in 205 50 r 17 93 but that's this spec as it's not so common. Only slight negative for me was wear after 12000 the fronts diped below 3mm to about 2.5mm so just had a new pair! Rears on 5.5mm. Don't drive on less than 3mm especially going into autumn. They are slightly soft but they do give great ride, wet and dry handling good feedback. Very safe dependable tire and also fuel efficient so slightly lower wear than a michelin or conti is the pay off. Would defo buy again for my other car. These were on my second family car but driven some spirited miles at speeds ups to 135mph.
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2020