Michelin Primacy 4

The MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tire offers a new a reference for safety. After three years of development, this tire provides a high level of performance on wet roads, from the first use until worn to the legal wear indicator (1.6mm). This tire, thus responds to the need to perform at a high level when worn; a long lasting performance.

Compared to its direct competitors, the new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 lasts an average of 18,000 kilometres more; confirming the long lasting performance of the new tires designed by Michelin. The new MICHELIN PRIMACY 4 tire is a concrete demonstration of the Michelin Group’s strategy: consumers must be able to drive safely, throughout the life of the tire, right down to the legal wear indicator of 1.6 mm

This tire replaced the Michelin Primacy 3 and this tire has been replaced by the Michelin Primacy 4 Plus.

Dry Grip 85%
Wet Grip 81%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 77%
Wear 82%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 70%

Tire review data from 152 tire reviews averaging 79% over 2,048,781 miles driven.

The Primacy 4 is ranked 52nd of 146 Summer Premium Touring tires.

In Depth Tire Comparisons

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 Summer Tire Market Overview - 8th of 44 tires

View Full Test >>

2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tire Test - 4th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Premium profile with balanced performance potential, short dry braking distances, fuel-saving rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Average aquaplaning qualities, expensive.
View Full Test >>

2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 22 tires

  • Positive - Very good handling, crisp steering, good aquaplaning reserves, short braking distances, very low wear, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Expensive.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2022 ADAC 16" SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R16)
  • 3rd: 2022 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 15 Inch (185/65 R15)
  • 3rd: 2022 Auto Bild Summer Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 3rd: 2022 AZ SUV Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 4th: 2022 AutoBild SUV 4x4 Summer Tire Test (235/55 R18)
  • 5th: 2022 ViBilagare Eco vs Normal Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 8th: 2022 Summer Tire Market Overview (215/55 R17)
  • 2021 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2021 Sport Auto Summer Tire Test (195/55 R16)
  • 1st: 2021 Tire Reviews SUV Tire Test (235/55 R18)
  • 1st: 2021 Camper Van / SUV Tire Test (235/55 R17)
  • 2nd: 2021 All Road SUV Summer Tire Test (215/60 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 53 Summer Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • 5th: 2021 ADAC Summer Tire Test - 225/50 R17 (225/50 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ViBilagare Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 5th: 2021 ACE / GTU Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 8th: 2021 Auto Bild 16 Inch Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2020 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2020 ADAC SUV Summer Tire Test (235/55 R17)
  • 1st: 2020 Teknikens 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (225/50 R17)
  • 2nd: 2020 Auto Express Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 4th: 2020 New 17 Inch Summer Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 7th: 2020 Tire Reviews Ultimate Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2019 Summer and All Season Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2nd: 2019 Auto Zeitung Summer Tire Test (235/45 R18)
  • 2nd: 2019 AMS Summer SUV Tire Test (215/55 R17)
  • 5th: 2019 NAF Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 6th: 2019 Swedish Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 7th: 2019 Auto Express SUV Tire Test (235/50 R18)
  • 8th: 2019 ACE Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 1st: 2018 New and Worn Summer Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C A 69 7.34kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    185/60 R15 84H   C A 68 7.17kgs
    185/60 R15 84T S1 A B 68 6.80kgs
    185/60 R15 84T   C A 68 7.24kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 7.03kgs
    165/65 R15 81T S1 A B 68 6.20kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C A 68 7.42kgs
    185/65 R15 88H   C A 68 7.62kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL E A B 70 6.70kgs
    185/65 R15 92T XL   C A 69 8.12kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C A 68 8.16kgs
    195/65 R15 91V   C A 68 8.03kgs
    195/65 R15 91H S2 A A 69 7.50kgs
    195/65 R15 91H   C A 68 7.88kgs
    205/45 R16 83W   C A 68 7.82kgs
    225/50 R16 92W   C A 69 9.55kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S2 B A 68 7.80kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL E A B 70 7.50kgs
    195/55 R16 87H S1 A A 68 7.60kgs
    195/55 R16 87T   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91V XL   B A 68 7.77kgs
    195/55 R16 87H   C A 68 7.76kgs
    195/55 R16 91T XL   B A 68 7.81kgs
    195/55 R16 87W * A B 68 7.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91H   C A 68 8.41kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S1 A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/55 R16 91V   C A 68 8.49kgs
    205/55 R16 91W * A B 69 7.90kgs
    205/55 R16 91H S2 A A 69 8.27kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL   C A 70 8.57kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL   C A 68 8.50kgs
    205/55 R16 94H XL S1 A A 68 8.60kgs
    205/55 R16 91H E A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/55 R16 91V ST       9.50kgs
    205/55 R16 91V S1 A A 68 8.00kgs
    205/55 R16 91W   C A 68 8.40kgs
    205/55 R16 94V XL VOL A B 68 8.20kgs
    215/55 R16 97W XL   B A 68 8.83kgs
    215/55 R16 93V   C A 69 8.81kgs
    215/55 R16 93W   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/55 R16 99Y XL   C A 68 10.04kgs
    225/55 R16 95W   C A 69 9.89kgs
    225/55 R16 99W XL   C A 68 9.89kgs
    205/60 R16 92V   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E MO A B 68 8.50kgs
    205/60 R16 92V S1 B B 68 9.10kgs
    205/60 R16 92V E A B 68 8.10kgs
    205/60 R16 96H XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL * A B 68 8.35kgs
    205/60 R16 92W   C A 68 12.13kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C A 68 8.86kgs
    205/60 R16 92H S1 A A 68 8.48kgs
    205/60 R16 96W XL   B A 68 8.86kgs
    215/60 R16 95V   B A 69 9.05kgs
    215/60 R16 99V XL   B A 68 9.06kgs
    215/60 R16 99H XL   B A 68 9.02kgs
    215/60 R16 95H S1 A B 69 8.95kgs
    195/65 R16 92V   C A 69 8.53kgs
    195/65 R16 92V S1 B B 68 8.65kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL   C A 70 8.37kgs
    205/45 R17 88H XL S1 A B 68 7.70kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S2 A B 68 7.60kgs
    205/45 R17 88V XL S1 B B 68 8.10kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91W XL   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 87W   C A 69 8.56kgs
    215/45 R17 91V XL S1 B B 68 8.50kgs
    225/45 R17 94W XL   B A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL S1 A A 68 8.90kgs
    225/45 R17 91Y   C A 69 8.84kgs
    225/45 R17 91W   C A 69 8.78kgs
    225/45 R17 91W VOL A B 69 8.40kgs
    225/45 R17 94Y XL * A A 68 8.61kgs
    225/45 R17 91W S1 B B 69 9.00kgs
    225/45 R17 91V   C A 69 8.77kgs
    225/45 R17 94V XL   B A 70 8.89kgs
    235/45 R17 94W   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.24kgs
    235/45 R17 97W XL   B A 70 9.24kgs
    245/45 R17 99W XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    245/45 R17 99Y XL   C A 70 10.52kgs
    205/50 R17 93H XL S1 A B 68 8.70kgs
    205/50 R17 93V XL S1       10.02kgs
    205/50 R17 93W XL   C A 68 8.60kgs
    205/50 R17 89V   C A 68 8.56kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S2 A B 69 8.90kgs
    215/50 R17 91W   C A 69 9.29kgs
    215/50 R17 91W S1 B A 69 9.40kgs
    215/50 R17 95W XL   B A 68 9.10kgs
    225/50 R17 94Y   C A 69 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 94W AR. B A 69 9.58kgs
    225/50 R17 98W XL   B A 68 9.48kgs
    225/50 R17 94W   C A 69 9.52kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL   B A 68 9.55kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL   B A 68 9.54kgs
    225/50 R17 94V   C A 69 9.44kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOLDT A B 68 9.50kgs
    225/50 R17 98V XL VOL A B 68 9.80kgs
    225/50 R17 98Y XL * A B 68 9.70kgs
    205/55 R17 95W XL * A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL   B A 68 9.03kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL J A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 95V XL S1 A B 68 8.80kgs
    205/55 R17 91W MO A B 68 8.80kgs
    215/55 R17 94V   C A 69 9.40kgs
    215/55 R17 94V S1 A B 69 10.40kgs
    215/55 R17 98W XL S1 A A 68 9.65kgs
    225/55 R17 101W XL   B A 68 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101Y XL * A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97Y   C A 69 10.22kgs
    225/55 R17 101V XL VOL A B 68 10.20kgs
    225/55 R17 97W   C A 69 10.14kgs
    235/55 R17 99V   C A 69 10.76kgs
    235/55 R17 103Y XL   B A 70 10.83kgs
    235/55 R17 103W XL   B A 70 10.80kgs
    215/60 R17 96H S1 A A 69 9.90kgs
    215/60 R17 96V   B A 69 9.78kgs
    215/60 R17 96V S1 A A 69 9.79kgs
    215/60 R17 96H   B A 69 9.70kgs
    225/60 R17 99V   B A 69 10.47kgs
    235/60 R17 102V VOL A B 69 11.40kgs
    215/65 R17 99V MO B A 69 10.60kgs
    215/65 R17 103V XL S1 A A 68 10.80kgs
    225/40 R18 92Y XL   B A 68 9.60kgs
    235/40 R18 91W S1 B A 69 9.60kgs
    245/40 R18 93H AO B A 70 9.80kgs
    225/45 R18 95W XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    225/45 R18 95Y XL   B A 68 9.49kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL S1 A A 72 9.60kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98Y XL   B A 70 9.81kgs
    235/45 R18 98W XL VOL A B 70 9.70kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL S1 A B 70 10.40kgs
    245/45 R18 100W XL   B A 70 10.42kgs
    245/45 R18 100Y XL MO A B 70 10.30kgs
    245/45 R18 96W   B A 68 11.55kgs
    255/45 R18 99Y   C A 70 10.69kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL * A B 68 10.62kgs
    225/50 R18 99W XL   B A 68 10.09kgs
    235/50 R18 97V   C A 69 11.36kgs
    235/50 R18 101Y XL   B A 70 11.36kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL S1 A B 68 10.50kgs
    215/55 R18 99V XL VOL A B 68 10.80kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO1 B A 68 11.00kgs
    225/55 R18 102Y XL AO2 A A 68 10.50kgs
    225/55 R18 102V XL S1 A A 68 10.55kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO S1 A B 69 11.30kgs
    235/55 R18 100W MO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/55 R18 100V VOL A B 69 11.20kgs
    235/55 R18 100V AO B A 69 11.40kgs
    235/40 R19 96W XL A VOL A B 70 10.20kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Michelin Primacy 4

    2017-09-27 - Can you mail the catalog of primacy 4 or all the tires size for me?

    We will be attending the Michelin Primacy 4 launch in mid October 2017, so we will have a full list of Primacy 4 sizes on the website shortly after.


    2018-02-13 - When will 15'' sizes be availabe for this tire? Michelin said they would be availabe from january. Have they dropped 15''?

    The plan is a phased transition in some sizes from Energy Saver+ to Primacy 4. 2018 sizes are 185/65-15 and 195/65-15 in May/Sept, more to follow in 2019.


    2018-03-12 - Need your help . Can’t decide between Michelin Primacy 4 , Continental Premium 6 and Dunlop SportMaxx RT2. Car: Ford Focus 2008 1.6 Ti-VCT 115hp . 2009-2013 ContiSportContact5 (35000km) . 2013-2018 ContiSportContact5 (30000km). 225/4018 both of them

    A very hard question to answer! I would be between the Michelin and Continental Premium Contact 6, but I would probably end up choosing the Michelin Pilot Sport 4!


    2018-06-04 - For a 205/55/R16/91V tire size, which is better, Michelin Primacy 4 or Continental Premium contact 5?

    They are both comparable tires. The Michelin will have better mileage, the Conti might have slightly better wet grip.


    2018-09-01 - Considering both these or Pilot Sport for Golf 1.4 in 205.55 R16. Both seem excellent tires...but not really sure how they compare to each other. I am assuming PS is more sporty, ie stiffer sidewall? Can anyone clearly characterize the differences in "qualities" of these tires in order to aid decision-making? (over and above all the excellent reviews). Thank you!

    Your assumption is correct in that the Primacy 4 should be slightly more comfortable, slightly quieter and slightly better mileage, where as the PS4 will feel slightly more sporty.


    2018-09-17 - I am thinking about buying this tire, but I don't know which version to choose between: 225/45/R17 91W/Y or the 225/45/R17 94W XL. The XL has better fuel rating and one decibel lower noise level. Would there be any drawbacks if opting for this version? The car is an Audi A3 Sportback 2.0TDI 170HP.

    In theory the higher load rating could give you slightly less comfort, but in practice the differences can be very hard to notice so I would suggest that would be the tire I would look at fitting.


    2018-10-15 - Following on from the question someone had relating to the XL version being better noise and efficiency ratings that xl version appears more preferable to the 91 rated version. Would the 94 xl version need a higher psi or is it OK to run at the car manufacturers recommended psi (assuming the only psi rating given is for a 91 rated tire)?

    It's always best to start running at the manufacturers recommended pressures. Sometimes XL tires with loads like to be around 2 psi higher, but again worth checking.


    2018-11-23 - What is your advice 're replacing 2 tires? Front primacy 3 on my volvo are worn but rears have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the fronts as presumably they have similar characteristics to the primacy 3s. Do you think I should put the newer tire on the rear?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 would be a good replacement for the Primacy 3, and the general advice is to put the newer / better tire on the rear of the vehicle to avoid oversteer.


    2019-07-30 - Is Primacy 4 an upgrade to the Primacy 3? Reason I ask if because the Primacy 3 is more expensive than the Primacy 4. Making me think that Primacy 3 might actually be better as an overall tire? As I currently got my 2 rear tires changed and bought the Primacy 4 tires. However the Formula One Autocentre fitted the Primacy 3 tires saying that the order of the Primacy 4 is due in another 6 weeks so he suggested to keep the Primacy 3 for the same price? Wondering if I should just keep the Primacy 3 tires now they are fitted.

    If you ordered the Primacy 4, I would want those tires. They are a direct replacement for the Primacy 3, and improve on the Primacy 3 in most areas.


    2019-08-26 - Living in a small market country like Cyprus where the market is limited to options in "strange" sizes (Lexus IS220d with 225/45/17 & 245/45/17) I have the following decision to take. The Pilot Sport 4 I have on the car now are wearing down (will get roughly around 30K km on them) and I enquired about Evo 3, Conti Premium 6 and F1 A5 (had the A3 before the PS4) and I can only find the front tires (!!!) at the moment. So I'm kinda left with the F1 A3 and the Primacy 4. I liked the F1 A3 a lot but knowing that the F1 A5 is out there I'm a bit bummed. I know one tire is a performance tire and the Primacy 4 is a touring tire and I'm not really driving the car on sport mode so I'm leaning towards the Primacy 4. Price for the Goodyear should be a bit cheaper (around €530 compared to €580 for the Primacy 4). Any opinion to get me over the line? :) Thank you.

    Without knowing your market it is very difficult for me to recommend anything else, especially as you really seem to know your tires! The extra purchase price of the Prim4 should be offset by the extra mileage, but the Asymmetric 3 will likely be the grippier tire overall.


    2020-01-06 - Rear primacy 3 XL on my BMW 520D are worn (after 12k mileage) but Fronts have over 5mm tread left. Do you think primacy 4 would be a good fit to replace the rear? How do primacy 4 perform on grip as compared with PS4? Usually I drive within speed limits. Sometime 80 to 90mph

    Primacy 4 is the obviously replacement for the 3, it's improved slightly in almost all categories. Dry and wet grip should be broadly similar to the Pilot Sport 4, but they won't handle as nicely.


    2020-08-18 - I have a VW Golf 1.4 Tsi 90kw (2015) came factory fitted with Dunlop Sport BluResponse 205/55 16 91V. Generally run Michelin tires on my cars. I’m looking at the Primacy 4 as all round replacements, historical spinal injuries/surgery mean comfort is a priority nowadays, in your recent test the Primacy 4 rated highly on subjective comfort. However, in the video it was listed as a 91H, so my quandary is, would the 91H provide slightly improved subjective comfort over a 91V? Every little helps. . . Being a 90kw model, both VW and Michelin have recommended 91H or higher for 205/55 16 wheels.

    In that size, the 91H and 91V tires are the same construction, so it wouldn't make a difference.


    2021-02-05 - How come New Michelin Primacy 4 comes with only 6.5mm tread depth? Is that not a bit low and do some Primacy 4 come with 8mm? If so, how come and what ones do?

    I'm not sure if some sizes come with higher tread depth, potentially SUV sizes might, however the Primacy 4 starting around 7mm is normal, and should still out-wear almost any other tire on the market.


    2020-11-08 - Can anyone say please, primacy 4 205/55/r16 in which country this model makes it? I've seen articles that it might be in germany/russia/poland. Can anyone help me please?

    It can also depend what market you are buying the Primacy 4 in, I would suggest checking with a local tire seller to see w where their stock is from.


    2021-01-22 - Does the Primacy 4 offer good MPG and levels of comfort?

    Yes, the Primacy 4 is known for low fuel use, there is a new version, the e.Primacy due out soon which will improve that further.


    2021-07-13 - The weight in the label scores are not accurate.... 225/45/R18 ST 95W XL tires came 11.2kg instead of 9.6 kg.... screwed up my wheels weight calculation. I thought I was getting a set of lighter wheels but now they ended up being 1.5kg heavier per weight.

    Thank you, I'll look into this.


    2021-07-25 - Looking for new tires for an eco hybrid and see that there are several Primacy 4 options. What is the difference between a normal Primacy 4 and the S1 variant. Looking at tire retailers they are rated better for fuel and noise

    I would be looking at the Michelin e.Primacy instead!


    2021-08-17 - Which is better primacy 3 , or, pilot sport 3 for Bmw 270/40/19and 245/45/19. Thanks

    Both tires are quite old and I've not tested either, so I'm afraid I don't know!


    2021-09-09 - I see that there is 3 version of the same tire - primacy 4 , primacy 4 S1 and primacy 4 S2. Does anyone test the difference or know, what it is. On paper looks huge - fuel consumption is from rating C to A.

    I would email Michelin on this one as S1 is a little ambiguous, sorry.


    2022-02-21 - I do enjoy pushing my car a little bit while driving sometimes. Is it better to go for PS4 or Primacy4? Do PS4 offer much comfort compare to Primacy for touring? What is the pro & con of getting either tires?

    The Pilot SPORT 4 is the sportier of the two tires, which means there is slightly reduced comfort when compared to the primacy 4.


    2022-09-21 - Please advise air pressure for Michelin Primacy 4+ 225/45R17. Driving a Lexus IS200t.

    The tire pressure is governed by the vehicle, the data should be displayed in your owner's manual or in the door shut of the drivers door.


    2023-12-09 - I fitted michelin primacy 4 s1 225 45 r17 s1 XL, on a Fiat tipo 1.3 diesel Sedan. My priority is low consumption, comfort and low noise. In your opinion, did I make a good choice?

    The Primacy 4 is an excellent all round tire, you should be happy with your purchase.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    195/65 R15 $107.99 - $107.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    205/55 R16 $125.94 - $136.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    215/55 R16 $152.99 - $152.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 6 tire sizes - View all.

    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    I am michelin user since 1981. After each purchase of a new car I changed the tires with michelin, if the original ones were not. Last year when I bought it, Golf came with Continental Eco Contact tires that I used around 1000km, I mostly complained about noise. Comfort and handling were good enoughİ!
    Helpful 484 - tire reviewed on August 20, 2020
    Given 65% while driving a BMW 320i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,200 average miles
    2016 BMW 320i 225/50/17
    2014 VW GOLF 205/55/16
    After the initial minutes of euphoria having the latest Michelin's on both of our cars I am now more doubtful about these tires.
    We have only driven ca 2200 km with the BMW and ca 1800 km with the VW, not much distance but on very various roads in just a few days and enough to have a good impression, it is similar impression with both cars.
    It's rather good tires on good roads, good grip in turns wet and dry, acceptable/good comfort on good roads, relatively low noise although there is an unusual, but modest, mechanical or metallic sound from these tires, it is not loud but a little unpleasant.
    The steering feel and handling is not quite as precis as I got used to with the other tire-brands, not at all a huge difference but I miss that little extra sense of road-feel and response.
    As soon as I left the tire dealer with the new Michelin's I noticed a little slippery unstable feeling basically at all the time at any speed and road surface, wet or dry on both cars.
    This little slippery feeling has not disappeared on any of the cars.
    It is difficult to explain, it must be experienced, it is as if there is a little wax or oil on these tires, it is very little and hardly noticeable, not a huge problem but it is always there and it's slightly annoying.
    Even on completely straight driving on highways there is this little sliding feeling, basically at any speed, it's very little but it's there, it's like the cars somehow are floating a little bit and never lands, the cars never really feel completely solid planted on the roads like with the other previous tire-brands.
    I never really drive the cars over the limits in turns but very near the limits, the grip is good with the Michelin's on good roads, it is possible to go fast in turns, but on both cars there is this for me an unusual little slippery unstable shaky or vibrating feeling near the limits, not much, but still, I never felt that with the other tire-brands near the limits and I felt that I had more control with those other brands, although the grip is good it makes me drive these Michelin's a little bit slower in turns even on good roads than with the other tire-brands.
    And on bad roads I have to slow down quite a bit with the Michelin's compared to my old tires, not so much a problem with the VW but still noticeable and unwanted, the BMW however is really bouncing around on bad roads with the Michelin's, it is uncomfortable and unstable, it does not feel safe at all.
    I can not explain this, if it had been a different tire dimension and bigger wheels then I could understand the bouncing but it is the same roads and the same cars with the same wheels and tire-sizes that I have driven with other tire-brands.
    The Michelin's are significantly more expensive than most other brands, I can not say anything about the wear because they are brand new, they do however in my opinion not excel at anything and their behavior on bad roads are not good.
    In general the Michelin's are good tires but they do not handle quite as good as my previous tires, very small differences but in favor of previous tires.
    My previous tires was Continental on BMW and Dunlop Sport BlueResponse on VW, good and stable tires with no particular fault except very high wear, I would still prefer any of them over the Michelin's.

    Helpful 690 - tire reviewed on March 1, 2018
    Given 94% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    For normal, but fast driving in a normal car it is a great tire. Don't be fooled by those who say it feels slippery, it lacks grip etc. It feels superb, it is suprisingly quiet and grips well. For all normal cars it is great and for those who want comfort and safety. Braking is also exeptional.Exeeded my expectations, recomend to everyone.
    Helpful 146 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2018
    Have you driven on the Michelin Primacy 4 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Primacy 4? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Michelin Primacy 4 >

    Latest Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews

    Given 79% while driving a BMW (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Always used Pilot Sport 4 tires front and rear for summer and CrossClimate for winter.
    Tested the Primacy 4 AO 93Y dot2019 that summer for a week on the road and a track day, but did not like the lack of grip when the tires heated up.
    Now I'm using them as the rear tires on my rear driven car and together with the PS4 at the front they give fun (predictable drifts) on twisty roads, a secure feeling in the rain and the are so much more quiet and comfortable.
    Maybe I'm just getting old (and sensible) ....
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on December 8, 2023
    Given 53% while driving a Kia Motors ceed (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Primacy 4 2S came with the new car. Useless on water, noisy as heck. Will not buy again.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on November 30, 2023
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen e Golf (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
    Terribly disappointed by these Michelins. A-class rolling resistance tires demonstrating fully the challenge of low rolling resistance designs. Rut sensitivity so bad it’s basically dangerous. Very poor comfort as well due to excessive shake. Steering is delayed and non-linear. Plan to replace next summer after only one season.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on October 29, 2023
    Given 94% while driving a Toyota Wish (195/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 358 average miles
    This is a review comparing it to the summer tire Michelin Energy Saver that I used last time.
    The vehicle installed is a late 2011 Toyota Wish 1.8S with a current mileage of approximately 270,000 km. The average annual mileage is approximately 22,000km, including 14,000km on summer tires.
    Due to the snowy terrain, we used three types of tires: summer, all-weather, and studless. After use, they are cleaned, maintained, covered, and stored in a tire stocker in the garage.
    In the summer (no snow season), it's summer tires ➔ In early winter (snowfall season - before the snow compaction road), it's all weather ➔ In the middle of winter (snow compaction road - icy road), it's studless ➔ In early spring (ice melting road - before the end of snowfall), it's open Ruler Weather➔In the summer Samataiya

    Dry and wet grip: I felt that the grip of the Energy Saver had decreased after 40,000 km, but I felt that the grip of Primacy 4 was almost the same after 40,000 km as when I first started using it.
    Tire wear rate: The mileage at which the slip sign appeared was 50,000 km for the Energy Saver and 55,000 km for the Primacy 4, which is 10% better.
    Comfort: I felt that the Primacy 4 was superior in terms of comfort at the time of purchase, but after driving 50,000 km, I felt that both cars were noisy. Comfort seems to decrease in proportion to driving distance.
    Repurchase: Currently, the plan is to repurchase Premacy 4 again. The reason is that the initial grip performance does not change for a long time, and it has high wear resistance and long life.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on October 15, 2023
    Given 80% while driving a BMW E39 5 series (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    In the dry the Primacy 4's been excellent. Grip feels almost infinite, to the point where I find it hard to use all of it on public roads. In terms of comfort, it's a quiet, pleasant tire to cruise with. At highway speeds up to 180 km/h I can't really find any fault with the tire. It's relatively quiet and absorbs enough of the road to almost feel like driving on a cloud.
    In the wet the grip is still above average, much better than my current winter tire (Vredestein Wintrac Pro in the same tire size). Comfort and noise levels are in check, although it's harder to judge noise with all the extra noises introduced by the water on the road.
    One thing I sometimes miss is communication during turn in and feedback from the road. I guess this could be party because of the relatively meaty sidewall but to me it was noticeable enough to point it out.
    Regardless of that downside, overall a great tire that suits the characteristics of a 5 series well.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2023
    Given 73% while driving a Hyundai Ioniq (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 50,000 easy going miles
    Michelin primacy 4, with 360 treadwear rating can reach 50,000km/ 5 yrs. Pass that and it start to have crack lines on its sidewalls and remaining soft treads starts to peel. Its rubber compound doesn't stand well in the tropical weather. At least till the above mentioned points. Quite good mileage, but other reputable brands also last till 50,000km too but they do not peel like this model.

    A comfortable ride up to maybe the 4th year. Very good grip as well.

    Sidewall looks good after years, does not sag, maintains its sporty low profile look. Cheaper ones sag the moment you fit them in. Gives you the under inflate look despite the correct psi. Primacy 4 does not sag.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on October 1, 2023
    Given 67% while driving a SEAT Leon FR 2.0 TFSI (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
    I bought Primacy 4 just after when i bought my Seat which had Potenza tires. They was horrible and Michelin at that time (4 years ago) was still better. However after 4 years and 40 000 km later i can say that Primacy 4 are at most average. Ok, hadling is good or even very good, but comfort is totally crap. Tires are loudly basicly since 40km/h and trasfer vibration from road to car. I could live with that but the worst is loudnes of those tires. I swap front with rear tires side by side - nothing help. I know that Seat is loud car but my freind has same rims in his Seat and have Goodyear and it's much more quiet. Today even i went to tire shop to check whats going on and specialist suspects many things but probably i will change tires for Bridgestone or Goodyear. i realize that profil 40 is not the most comfortable but come one.

    I honestly don't recomend. Gum is to hard for comfortable riding in Seat Leon and with time getting louder.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on September 25, 2023
    Given 83% while driving a Opel Insignia B (245/45 R18) on mostly town for 46,600 average miles
    Review on 4x Primacy 4 ST. Overall very happy with them. No complaints with grip, stopping distance, feedback and handling. The wear is phenomenal, I am on 75000km and there are at least 2.4mm tread left on them. Some people mentioned about the tires being "slippery" when new - yes, I encountered that too, well at least for the first 2000 kms. Most pronounced when driving fast whilst turning -like getting off an exit ramp at a freeway. The noise level is getting louder (vs when new) but that is to be expected with the kind of mileage they are on. Overall, I had Contisport Contact 5 and Pilot Sport 4 fitted on the same car before the Primacy. I find the Primacy to be the most satisfactory amongst them. The only gripe - they are expensive. I will buy again if the price is more competitive.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on August 3, 2023
    Given 49% while driving a Peugeot e 2008 (215/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 13,000 easy going miles
    I've had these tires on from new and honestly, I'm not that impressed. Both me and my wife have the same car, except hers came on Goodyear Efficenct Grip Performance and mine came with the Primacy 4's. They handle perfectly in dry weather but in the wet, they feel very squirmy and unsettled. I've frequently provoked wheelspin on junctions and during acceleration on roundabouts in wet weather. They are also wearing poorly, at 13,600 miles, they have 2mm of tread left on the front and 3mm at the rear. The Goodyears on my wife's have 21,000 miles on them, and are at 2mm. The Michelins also ride much harder than the Goodyears and are louder too. Overall they are just about okay, but I wouldn't pick them over the Goodyear or Pirelli equivalents, especially when they are considerably more expensive.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on June 23, 2023
    Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz (195/65 R15) on mostly town for 2,305 easy going miles
    i have being usung michelin for 50 years here in s africa my latest tire primacy 4 on my old mercedes 190e well its a different car tires very smooth and noiseless and in wet exceptional coupled with 190e suspension perfect match
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on June 22, 2023
    Given 77% while driving a BMW 520i (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 34,000 average miles
    I've used these tires for about 3 years, great braking distance and good handling in both wet and dry. I'm an average driver so ymmv.
    what i really like is the handling remained more or less the same from new to about 3/4 way of the tire's life. now that it's 50,000km in i can start to feel a little less grip that before, just a little.. maybe it's a mental barrier since i know the tires are nearly bald in the rear.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on May 28, 2023
    Given 81% while driving a Honda Mobilio (195/55 R16) on mostly town for 37,000 spirited miles
    This the best tire i ever had. Really good handling in dry and wet. Good aquaplanning reduction effects. Mostly i will change my tire maximum every 50.000KM, but this tire still good until more than 60.000. I use it for 3 years until now and still in good condition. My negative comment about this tire is only about overprice. It's very expensive for non-RFT tire, almost 2 times than other brands.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on May 10, 2023