Uniroyal RainExpert 3

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 36 tire reviews averaging 79% over 279,317 miles driven, and 2 tests with an average result of 10th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 93%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 75%
Wear 66%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 79%

First On MarketNovember 2014
Wheel Size13 - 18"
Width135 - 265mm
Profile60 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripA - B
Noise (dB)70 - 73
Winter RatingNot Winter Rated

The RainExpert 3 is ranked 51st of 149 Summer Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Uniroyal RainExpert and this tire has been replaced by the Uniroyal RainExpert 5.

Tests Included

2

Best Result

7th

Worst Result

12th

Average Result

10th

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 Auto Bild 15 inch Summer Tire Test
12th of 20 tires
  • Best straight aquaplaning result, short wet braking distances.
  • High levels of understeer in the wet and dry.
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80 R 13 79 TDB70
14 inch
185/60 R 14 82 TDB70
175/65 R 14 82 TDB70
185/70 R 14 88 TDB70
175/65 R 14 86 T XLDB71
175/65 R 14 82 HDB70
165/70 R 14 85 T XLDB71
165/70 R 14 81 TDB70
185/60 R 14 82 HDB70
15 inch
195/65 R 15 95 T XLCA72
195/65 R 15 91 HCA71
185/65 R 15 88 TCA70
185/65 R 15 92 T XLCA71
195/65 R 15 95 T XLCA72
185/65 R 15 88 HCA70
195/65 R 15 91 VCA71
195/65 R 15 91 TCA71
16 inch
215/70 R 16 100 VCA71
215/60 R 16 95 HCA71
205/60 R 16 96 H XLCA72
205/60 R 16 96 V XLCA72
205/60 R 16 92 VCA71
205/60 R 16 92 HCA71
215/60 R 16 99 H XLCA72
215/60 R 16 99 V XLCA72
205/60 R 16 96 Y XLCA72
17 inch
265/65 R 17 112 HCA72
225/60 R 17 99 VCA71
235/65 R 17 108 V XLCA72
18 inch
235/60 R 18 107 V XLCA72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 >>

Questions and Answers for the Uniroyal RainExpert 3

2016-11-30 - im running uniroyal expert 3 195/65/15 H ,they are rated @ max 32 psi.my car runs tire pressure of 35 psi so i find the already soft sidewall like driving on jelly.i know uniroyal do this tire in XL so harder sidewalls but i cant use them as they are only T speed rated.my question is if i use the expert 3 195/65/15 V that has a max psi of 40,will it firm up the sidewalls? lots of talk, online Just up the pressure from 32psi to 38 psi.so over the recommended max pressure !!( im not doing that thanks).also some saying dont run tires with more psi that the car manufacture recommends..this seems to be a problem across all tire makes so something is amiss in the world of wobbly tires. but what is the answer? regards Tim

We put this question to Continental directly, and here's their answer.

Firstly the correct inflation pressure that should be used is the one given on the vehicle information plate or in the vehicle handbook for the load being carried. If the vehicle is specified on 'Standard load' tires then fitting 'extra load' is not necessary and in any case if the laden weight remained the same then broadly the same inflation pressure* should be used and no noticeable difference is likely to be felt. If inflation pressure is increased then this can give the feeling of a 'stiffer' sidewall but having a tire 'over inflated' distorts the casing profile, reduces the contact area and can negatively affect handling and the feel of the vehicle.

The reason that having a more flexible sidewall may be becoming more talked about is because of the modern components used in the tire in order to improve the efficiency, and help lower the fuel consumption and CO of the vehicle. Modern development goals include a low Hysteresis in the flexing zone of the tire sidewall which reduces the energy absorption in this area thus improving the tire's rolling resistance while at the same time ensuring durability and abrasion resistance. However although this may result in the 'feel' of a more flexible sidewall the handling, durability and other performance characteristics are still maintained. Another factor with this is that in many cases the fact full tread depth tires are being fitted in place of well worn tires would, even if the same tires were being fitted, result in the vehicle feeling a little less precise due to the inevitable pattern movement on a tire with deep tread depth.

* Technically there is a small difference in the recommended pressure between standard and extra load tires for the same load.


2016-11-02 - Uniroyal RainExpert 3 - Is there a right and left tire or are they all the same?

The Uniroyal RainExpert 3 is an asymmetric tire, so there is no left or right fitment, just and outside and inside for mounting on the wheel.


2017-10-01 - Are uniroyal rain expert load 98 ok for a vivario van

As long as the size and load rating matches the OE specification then the tire is suitable.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

Given 90% while driving a Audi 1.8T Quattro (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
Well these tires have replaced my set of winters now!
Very good in the dry for grip and exceptional in damp/greasy/wet conditions.
I can set the quattro up in the wet for the drive to progressivly go to the rear on roundabouts and drive the car out onto the straights no drama or fuss when I want.
Deal with standing water very well.
Wear masked by AWD but I think 12K from the most worked axel [front] easily achieveable.
Not a "sports" tire so if thats what you want then look elsewhere but rather a safe set of hands...
Helpful 152 - tire reviewed on April 2, 2016
Given 75% while driving a Fiat Seicento 1.1 MPI FIRE (sporting) (155/65 R13) on a combination of roads for 30,000 easy going miles
I drive a Seicento Sporting but due to lack of good tires in 165/55r13, I have chosen to go to 155/65r13 which is a dimension with more and better choices. Uniroyals Rain Expert 3 were chosen based on their wet handling and small price difference compared to budget tires. I also tend to choose newer designs thinking that there must be some improvement compared to older designs offered by the same manufacturer or by other brands (I had Barum Brillantis 2 before the Uniroyals) I am satisfied with this choice as it provided what I was expecting, good wet handling and decent dry handling accompanied with little wear (allthough that was never going to be a problem with a light and underpowered car like the Seicento). I miss the feeling that the lower profile tire provides but I drive a little less aggressive as I get older. Will I buy them again? It depends whether there is a better tire in 155/65r13 or a safe tire in 165/55r13 when they have to be replaced.
Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on April 8, 2023
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Golk Mk5 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 14 average miles
Best wet grip ever! Short stop during braking on wet. Very good grip on dry. Wear and comfort is ok. Much better tire than Sportiva, Sava, Fulda, especially in wet conditions.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on April 27, 2021
Have you driven on the Uniroyal RainExpert 3 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Uniroyal RainExpert 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Uniroyal RainExpert 3 >

Latest Uniroyal RainExpert 3 Reviews

Given 60% while driving a Toyota Yaris (185/60 R15) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Decent tires, a bit noisy... but I have been burned by my experience with this tires and I would like to warn others. If you get in need to substitute an Uniroyal tire, be prepared to huge trouble. As soon as a new line comes out, spares for the old one disappear from the market. I have some practically new Rainexpert 3 tires and I am now forced to throw them away, because the Rainexpert 5 line has come out (just one year ago) and it is now impossible to find a spare for the Rainexpert 3. This is ridiculous. In the past I have been able to easily find replacements for Michelin, Pirelli, Nokian, Hanhook tires that had been replaced by a newer line many many years before, and now I am having the car stuck for over a month because just because Uniroyal (and evidently their father company Continental) does not think it worth supplying spares for items that were bought only quite recently. How reliable! So yes, my tires have run only for 2000km, but this is already an end of life review.
Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2022
Given 100% while driving a Nissan SUNNY (175/70 R13) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
Excellent tires. I got these as a birthday gift, believe it or not, last year and they absolutely changed the ride and handling characteristics on my Sunny for the better. I always knew with a good set of tires it will be a good handling, quiet and comfortable car, but I was totally shocked when I fitted these. The wet/damp grip is phenomenal, the best I've had so far. In these conditions, they really do shine. There is no squealing or loss of traction, even with some fairly quick and less forgiving getaways from junctions. Even when you give it a little more around a corner, the cars feels like it's on rails. I feel very safe using these in the rain. I really enjoy driving in damp conditions now, as the tires really show their worth. I think the designers at Uniroyal hit the nail on the head. The dry grip is honestly amazing too, but they seem a little more at home in the damp, which is more often than it is dry in the UK and most of Northern Europe. There are no traction issues in the dry and I can rarely get these to squeal, even when I do dump the clutch a bit to get going. It still handles like it's on rails in the dry and the traction is perfect. The road noise generated from these tires is pretty low and they offer nice comfort too. Before my car had cheap nasty tires with very soft sidewalls. The ride was bumpy and very unsettled sometimes. Now it is smooth and made the car even more comfortable than it already was (reasonably forgiving suspension, comfy seats). They have lasted me a good while now and are still in great shape. Nowhere near the halfway mark yet! For the price, you really can't get anything better. I have family who now use Uniroyal and say the same thing, a little cheaper than the big boys, but keeps them humbled.
Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on October 21, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 200K Advantgarde Cabriolet (245/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 average miles
These tires were fitted to the rear of a Mercedes CLK 200 Kompressor. It is a staggered set up with 225/45 17 Uniroyal Rainsport 3’s on the front. All fitted at the same time, but the rears lasted just under 13,000 miles with the fronts still showing plenty of tread. The rears had worn slightly on the insides more, as the tracking was very slightly out. I wanted tires where wet grip was the priority. These tires were fantastic. Quiet, they were compliant, excellent wet grip and aquaplaning resistance. Even in wintry conditions, they were almost as good as an all-season tire. I was not bothered about the wear rate, and accepted these must be a softer compound.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on October 9, 2022
Given 69% while driving a Hyundai elantra (185/65 R15) on mostly town for 20,000 easy going miles
I had them for 3.5 years and about 35 000km, and now outer edges of tires are worn to almost the point where they have no thread. They are noisy, especially on highway. They are really great on wet roads and when its raining. I bought them twice on my car but now i have decided to go for some tires that are more quiet since there is not that much rain where i live.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on January 10, 2022
Given 67% while driving a Honda CRV 2.0 2009 (225/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
The tire is not bad, decent. Little loud on high speeds. The wear is awful - 20k miles max tire life with easy driving. Little expensive for this wear, moreover this is not some sporty special tire.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on June 27, 2021
Given 69% while driving a Volkswagen Touran tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
They are amazing in really wet weather situations. No the handling isn't great or anything, even with a lot of water under the tire, but outright wet grip is really top. In the dry, they are okay, alright, nothing special. Fuel economy seems to be a smidge worse than comparable tires from michelin, goodyear, continental etc, but nothing to worry about. They are a bit noisy with speeds above 130km/h, still comfy(65% sidewalls are pretty much always comfy, no matter the tire type). Noise isn't a problem for me, since my GF and me mostly travel at 120-130km/h speeds. When pushed to the limits in the dry, they start to squeal really badly and just smear away with a tendency to understeer. Not a tire i would put on a MX-5, Gt 86 or other sporty cars. In conclusion: Prbly the best wet tire we ever had on a car, but the rest is simply middle of the road. If you live in a very wet climate, yes. If its not raining 24/7 any other tire would prbly be a better choice
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on April 20, 2021
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Polo 1.4 8v (175/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
65% 13" tires are getting rarer in a quality brand, so unable to buy this size in Michelin, I tried these on my Polo 1.4 CL. Now I don't do many miles, but do make occasional 90 mile cross-Pennine or motorway journeys at speed. Wet weather grip and braking on these tires is superb and very confidence-inspiring. For day-to-day running, I set the car with 30psi front/28psi rear (add 2psi all-around for motorway/load) that dials-out excessive understeer, while giving a neutral but safe handling balance. I've no complaints about dry grip that seem on a par with the old Michelin Energy, (unlike the cheap tires fitted by the previous owner, where you didn't so much as steer the car, but made a suggestion on your desired direction. My favourite roundabout was not so much fun when it looked like I would be going over, rather than around it) they make it able to dart around sudden hazards in the road without drama, and cope with high speed cornering. Being a VW the steering doesn't communicate much anyway, but I know what's happening. The tires give a handling balance that makes a cross-Pennine journey, with a “spirited” drive through the many swoops and dives an entertaining experience, nevertheless. Most likely not the highest-mileage tire, but if fitted to the household’s second car, or your daughter/son’s first car the grip levels will keep them safe without too much of an outlay.
Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on August 4, 2020
Given 83% while driving a Renault KANGOO 1.9 (195/65 R14) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Haven' t used too many other brands and models but Uniroyal Rainexpert is the best everyday tire I've used.
What I like the most of it is - grip. Grip on wet and flooded surface is exceptionally great! Where other tires are "floating" Rainexpert make you feel that no conditions have changed. On dry it has so much grip that it almost feels I'm driving on semi slicks. Keeps my kind of wobbling suspension Kangoo on corners like sports car.
Using on this car a second set of these tires. And will be using again.
Wear of tire is quite rapid comparing to other tires but for me the main thing is how car hold the road. It's a safety question for me. BTW I'm using these with EBC Bluestuf compound pads. Perfect combination on Kangoo MK1.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Hyundai elantra (185/60 R16) on mostly town for 20 easy going miles
Handling on wet is great, they have a slight noise to them, very slight tho. We have them for a year now and after over 12 000 km they still look like new, there was no considerable expenditure on the threads.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2019
Given 81% while driving a Audi A4 1.8T Quattro (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 33 spirited miles
On my second set. First lasted 3 years, weekly commute from Perthshire to Norfolk and driving around A47 etc staying alive..
Thus have driven in ALL conditions.
Tires do wear, on mine it's the fronts that suffer the greater wear say 60/40 front to rear.
Tires like the hot spells in Norfolk air temps in 30+ no ideas of road surface temp but they didn't enjoy being worked hard during that period but OK if capn sensible appeared....7/10 dry grip score during that period of hot temps..
Tires are a bit noisy on some surfaces but hey....

Positives.
Confidence inspiring. They just get on with the job of the day, mundane or not. Wet conditions and standing water at motorway speeds are always a danger. These mitigate that danger [be aware that hitting 6" deep standing water in any tire will not end well!] dry and wet grip more than adequate. Despite quattro I do not push, in the wet to the same extent as the dry.
Braking. Despite British drivers on British Roads, Duals and Motorways I have yet to trigger ABS in extremis, car does a good impression of bikers "stoppies" too.
Handling/Feedback Tires let you know by sound and feel when your getting close. With full time quattro the dynamic change when centre diff operates can be felt but no understeer just a reduction in torque feedback on steering wheel.
These softish tires come into their own in these circumstances. I imagine that they work equally well in either front or rear drive configuration.
All in all bloody good, more focused rubber will outperform them, but really, when bangs per buck come into it, it's no contest from my POV...
Helpful 67 - tire reviewed on September 4, 2018
Given 86% while driving a BMW 525i (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
I run two sets of tires on my BMW E61 525i- Michelin Pilot Alpin in the winter and Uniroyals all other times - As this is the car we use for our children safety is important & I believe that Uniroyals offer excellent grip & great value for money. As this is a family car high speed performance is not my primary concern - I would but Michelin Pilots if that was the case. They are very reassuring in wet weather & great all round performance. Wear is slightly high due to their soft compound but nothing to worry about - would buy again no problem.
Helpful 37 - tire reviewed on July 8, 2018
Given 57% while driving a BMW 3 series (225/50 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 16,000 average miles
Pretty disapointed with this tire. The wear rate is atrocius and after 12000 miles they where close to the wear indicators and I drive slow and easy.
It is a touring tire and not a sports tire so it is confortable but also a bit noisy due to the pattern design. The sidewalls are very soft so the steering is not very precise.
Grip in the wet is good especially aquaplaning resistance however wet handling is nothing special compared with sporty Michelins I had before. I have to say price/quality is not good in the end because wear is high.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on May 9, 2018