Subaru 04 WRX Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Subaru 04 WRX.

Do you Drive a Subaru 04 WRX? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a 04 WRX better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 (152) 95% 88% 88% 87% 80% 85%
Nokian zLine (80) 92% 92% 90% 89% 77% 86%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (400) 92% 89% 86% 85% 80% 87%
Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S (8) 86% 86% 79% 84% 68% 86%
Yokohama Advan Neova AD08 (30) 94% 72% 90% 90% 70% 74%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 (78) 91% 79% 83% 86% 70% 73%
Neuton NT8000 (33) 90% 73% 80% 75% 81% 81%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Mastercraft Avenger Touring LSR (3) 85% 75% 65% 70% 95% 75%
Falken Eurowinter HS449 (33) 85% 87% 81% 78% 84% 84%
Hankook Ventus V12 evo k110 (114) 84% 75% 76% 78% 74% 79%
Sailun Atrezzo ZSR (40) 81% 69% 73% 76% 71% 75%
Sportiva Compact (7) 89% 70% 73% 71% 70% 70%
Toyo Proxes C1S (35) 78% 69% 71% 69% 66% 71%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050 (56) 83% 69% 76% 69% 66% 61%
Pace PC10 (10) 76% 62% 60% 62% 80% 70%
Laufenn I Fit Ice (4) 80% 70% 70% 65% 37% 85%
Achilles ATR Sport 2 (42) 72% 45% 62% 63% 73% 66%
Federal SS595 SUPER STEEL (135) 70% 47% 57% 55% 68% 48%
Wanli S1088 (85) 57% 35% 41% 39% 59% 38%

Subaru 04 WRX Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Achilles ATR Sport 2 given 44% (215-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
dry grip ok wheel starts to shake around 100km/hr on the freeway dangerous in the wet sliding around roundabout at 30km/hr only good thing is the treads never wears out will not be buying again
tire reviewed on 2022-03-11 17:51:20
Writing about the Sailun Atrezzo ZSR given 76% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
Extremely well performing for the price !! The tires grip well once they in the good operating temperature but they have their limits. After a few km of spirited driving they tend to understeer a bit (2004 wrx) but it is easily recoverable. They perform reasonably well on wet asphalt. I even tried them on compacted snow and i was able to pull a few corners and donuts... But be careful to not get overexcited.

Finally, I would definitely recommend them for the price cause their performance is comparable to tires 3 times as expensive. They might not last alot cause they are soft tires, but hey u wouldn't want to keep a cheap tire for more than 2 years.
tire reviewed on 2018-11-04 05:17:21
Writing about the Sportiva Compact given 43% (195-65-15-T)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16000 easy going miles
These came fitted to an Impreza 1.5R they are reasonably quiet and dry grip is acceptable, Gauging wet grip is hard as the car is AWD, they are down to the wear indicators already at less than 20k km. I wouldn't recommend these if you want more life from a tire.
As a positive they are quiet but with soft sidewalls they are a bit floaty.
tire reviewed on 2018-10-28 17:57:51
Writing about the Falken Eurowinter HS449 given 87% (215-45-17-V)
Driving on mostly town for 7000 average miles
Fitted these Falken HS 449 2 years ago to my Subaru and very impressed all round. Great in the dry, very good in the wet and completely capable in heavy snow. A tough tire that I use all year round. Very recommendable.
tire reviewed on 2018-01-14 08:18:05
Writing about the Neuton NT8000 given 54% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 8000 spirited miles
I bought these tires in the beginning of 2016. Grip in the first 5-6000km was good... They were soft. But now towards the end of 2017, they dried up pretty fast and grip is bad. Im getting the front wheelsto spin even on dry roads on a wrx ! Maybe its the asphalt to blame here in lebanon which is very 'not rough'. But that has nothing to do with the tires becoming hard after 14000 kms. And they tend to understeer alot.
Tread is still good but grip in dry and wet is very bad.. changing them soon and will be trying Jinyu YU63.
But for the price i guess it is good but you can find better.
I don't recommend them.
tire reviewed on 2017-10-28 19:24:05
Writing about the Vredestein Wintrac xtreme S given 93% (215-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2017-10-07 23:06:43
Writing about the Nokian zLine given 90% (215-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 5000 spirited miles
I'm a big fan of Nokians winter tires, so as I needed to get a full set of summer tires I thought I'd give the Zlines a try. The first few dozen miles were a bit slippery, but this is normal for any new tire. After they were broken in they settled down well and are performing brilliantly.

I tend to push my car, and after going a bit tentitively to begin with while I got used to the tires, I have got to the point where I trust them and find them very reliable in dry or wet conditions. Turn in is very nice and predictable (it's all relative - my benchmarks are the BFGoodrich gGrips which were on the car when I bought it, and Goodyear Eagle F1s that I've had a few times no previous cars of simliar performance (older versions of the twin turbo legacy so AWD, with plenty of power). Also a set of Vredestein Ultrac Sessantas. I find the Zlines to be better than all of the above, with particularly note worthy performace in the wet.

I'll have to update this later to comment on the wear life as I've only done about 5,000 miles so far, but as I said I push quite hard nad so far the fronts have just over 1.5mm of tread scrubbed off. Another reviewer mentioned the wear slowed down once it got to 2mm so I'm hoping that turns out to be the case. Also it may be worth noting that most of my driving is on narrow country roads which don't tend to have the best road surface, so wear may be slightly exaggerated than it would on predominantly motorway/A road use.
tire reviewed on 2017-03-17 17:35:27
Writing about the Laufenn I Fit Ice given 95% (205-70-15-R)
Driving on mostly town for 1000 average miles
This first set of I Fit Ice remains a price attractive product. The Lufenn tire model did better than expected and driving in the ice and snow with a Subaru Outback. I am pleasantly surprised at the handling and traction received. This Montana winter of 2016/2017 has been determined in this area to be one of the top 10 most undesirable winters on record. I have no regrets on my tire purchase and the handling I have received. This is a recent purchase and will have to wait to see how the tires wear.
tire reviewed on 2017-03-10 17:41:06
Writing about the Mastercraft Avenger Touring LSR given 70% (205-70-15-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 75000 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2016-08-02 07:20:21
Writing about the Pace PC10 given 81% (235-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 55000 spirited miles
I was running achillies on my car and the wore terribly.
Went to pace tires as there were in the perfect price range for the value you get.
Very gripy in the dry.
For the price they are the perfect tire for all day use.
Will buy again and again.
tire reviewed on 2016-07-01 09:24:54
Writing about the Bridgestone Adrenalin RE003 given 87% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 spirited miles
Changed to a set of the RE003's at 25,000 km's on my 2015 STI. I am now at 55,000 and looking at replacing them with another set. These tires make the grip levels so high that I can't actually find the limit in the dry on the street. I am not brave enough and I need a race seat / harness as the grip see's me moving around in the cabin to much... I highly recommend these tires to everyone I know and I am really impressed with how well they have lasted. Correct tire pressures would be the key here I think. I am running 39psi all round with -1degree of front camber and 0degree toe.
tire reviewed on 2016-06-27 09:10:20
Writing about the Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 given 79% (225-45-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 20000 average miles
Excelent tire on both wet and dry. I have nothing to complain about except one thing: one made a bump/lump on a sidewall, i suppose from hiting a pothole. I was very dissapointed, i didnt expected that a such a tire to break after 2 years and some potholes
tire reviewed on 2016-03-13 09:45:08
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire