Renault Megane Sports Tourer Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Renault Megane Sports Tourer.

Do you Drive a Renault Megane Sports Tourer? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Megane Sports Tourer better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Michelin Alpin 5 (23) 85% 93% 84% 77% 91% 89%
Michelin Alpin 6 (28) 88% 92% 84% 82% 85% 90%
Dunlop SP WinterSport 4D (37) 89% 93% 88% 88% 88% 92%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (47) 87% 80% 79% 79% 79% 82%
Michelin CrossClimate (143) 88% 85% 82% 80% 84% 89%
Vredestein Quatrac 5 (37) 82% 79% 80% 82% 82% 85%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (182) 88% 84% 79% 76% 62% 83%
Lassa Snoways Era (12) 78% 76% 77% 75% 76% 79%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Riken Riken UHP (13) 82% 73% 72% 75% 76% 78%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (198) 84% 77% 75% 73% 62% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 2 (229) 85% 75% 76% 72% 61% 66%
Nokian W Plus (15) 77% 70% 69% 68% 86% 82%
Landsail LS288 (36) 74% 60% 65% 61% 68% 70%
Kleber Krisalp HP2 (15) 76% 63% 65% 61% 85% 71%
Davanti DX390 (24) 69% 60% 62% 60% 65% 63%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%

Renault Megane Sports Tourer Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Continental Sport Contact 2 given 93% (205-50-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 30 spirited miles
I was extremely impressed with these tires. They came fitted with the car, and still have 2mm of legally usable tread, so this will be the final season on them. I live in the Alps in Austria so summer tires are used mid April-October, and designated winter tires are used throughout winter. I drive through the twisty mountain roads with zero room for error, as well as on long high speed straights, so there is no option to risk tire grip failure at any point. Even in torrential downpours of rain, these contisportcontact2's stay planted. I've never seen resistance to aquaplaning like these offer. They do not "track" grooves in the road or "ride up" on uneven surfaces. The sidewalls are very soft, allowing for a smoother ride. The turn-in is sharp and predictable when you consider the softness of the sidewall. I believe the soft sidewalls are a major contributor to the incredible grip these tires have. Super hot motorways and broken tarmac in Italy, sustained top speed on the autobahn in Germany, near-zero visibility rain on French highways, and tight hairpin turns in the Austrian alps, these continentals have never let me down. They even held surprisingly well in dirt/grass, if that matters for anything. For the conditions I drive in, one single slip of the tires in an emergency maneuver can become disasterous. When these continentals are (rarely) pushed past their limits, there's not much noise or vibration, simply a progressive and predictable failing of grip. There's no dramatic On/Off feeling which comes with cheaper rubber. This means that the driver gets a second chance to "save it" after grip is compromised. That single detail is a requirement for me. Tread life is an acceptable weak point for me. These tires are used only 6 months out of the year, so they legally "expired" long before the tread wore down. Aquaplaning resistance has been maintained despite tread wear. Aged tires have maintained their grip very well. There are no dry rot cracks, chips, cups, tears, or chunks of rubber coming off. Date of manufacture is 10 years ago! Tread depth as new was 11mm, while the newly available replacements from Continental come with 9mm, I believe. If the Sportcontact2's were still available, I might go for them again rather than the new Premiumcontact6.
tire reviewed on 2020-05-08 06:02:51
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 67% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly motorways for 16000 spirited miles
This is an End of Life review of Sava UHP2. In the beginning, I was more than impressed with this tire. (see the Top Review on this site) After driving them for 3 seasons ( I change to winters from November to March) and 25.000km I still feel that they were a good purchase, especially considering the price. However, in their third year there is a very noticeable drop in wet grip, so much that I'll probably replace them before they wear out completely. They now have about 3-4 mm of thread left, which is more than expected.
Dry grip is still fine, maybe I feel a small difference in braking, tha ABS kicks in more than before.

I'm a fast driver and like to drive fast in all conditions and these don't fit the bill anymore in the wet. A "normal" driver would probably not even notice this change.

All in all, I'd still recommend them, but after this summer season I'm replacing them with Falken FK510.
tire reviewed on 2019-08-26 01:41:42
Writing about the Riken Riken UHP given 44% (225-40-18-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 spirited miles
Tires are definitely a cheap end of the market, on the wet there is no way to tell when they will give up. Unpredictable in the wet. In the dry they are ok, but again they give up very quickly and suddenly. For the price difference of 20£ per tire between them and reasonable brand I don't recommend these. Mine were made in Serbia 03/2019.
tire reviewed on 2019-05-25 02:08:22
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 6 given 93% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 0 spirited miles
I've had until now kleber krisalp hp2, Avon Ice touring, Pirelli Cinturato. The Alpin 6 have a good grip on wet and dry, they are silent to. I'm waiting the snow to test it. 1st impresion, verry good.
tire reviewed on 2018-11-11 06:59:32
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 81% (205-50-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
After posting a very good initial review, it's time to update after 2 seasons on a car...
Dry grip still phenomenal for the price, only when I compare them to Michelin Pilot Sport 4S on my other car, do they fade in comparison. Loads of feedback, very predictable on the limit. Soft sidewalls do not bother me at all, as I feel the tire better in the curves.
In the wet, they have lost some of the grip they had when I bought them, but still very good. 7/10
Wear is also better than expected, more 5-6mm left after roughly 15.000km.

Still my top recommendation for price/performance. I will definitely buy them again when I'm done with this set!
tire reviewed on 2018-10-17 02:45:21
Writing about the Michelin CrossClimate given NAN% (195-65-15-)
Driving on mostly town for 8000 average miles
The tire seems to perform well in UK conditions. However it seems prone to punctures. I have picked up a
4 punctures in a relatively short amount of time. Other tires I have used have not had the same problem. I doubt I will replace them with the new “plus” tire unless The problem has been resolved. Maybe the Continental AllSeasonContact is a better bet.
tire reviewed on 2018-08-18 10:57:23
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 90% (205-50-17-W)
Driving on mostly country roads for 100 spirited miles
This tire is very new, so I can't comment on the wear. From what I tried in this short time, UHP 2 is phenomenal!
Extremely good wet grip, comparable to my Continentals TS850P, which are known to be good in the wet. Dry grip was also very good and progressive at the limit, so you knew when the tire is going to let go, and it was really easy to get it back in line.

Road noise was a bit more than I expected, as it was rated as 68db. It's still not loud by any means, just not as quiet as I thought it would be. Made in Germany on the same production line as GY F1 Asy3, even the thread pattern is almost identical.

Sidewalls are very soft (even in XL), so some people won't like those, but I like the comfort and the progression that comes with that.

I've driven many premium tires over the years and this one is up there with the best. This car was previously fitted with Continental SportContact 5 in the summer and Goodyear Ultragrip 8 in the winter, and wet grip is better than both, at least for now. I'll post a mid-life review later on to see if anything changed. As of right now, I would recommend UHP2 to anyone. Low cost and good grip will probably come at the expense of the wear, but for the price, these are unbeatable!
tire reviewed on 2017-03-06 23:19:11
Writing about the Dunlop Sport BluResponse given 57% (225-45-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 65 average miles
Shocking tire for the price. Barely done 20,000 and now they're classed illegal!!

Maybe that's the rub, they drive well and have a grip of velcro in the dry. But that does not mean they should just wear away so quickly. I drive motorway at constant speed on cruise.

The wear on the outer side of the tire - due to its sidewall softness - is unbelievable.

No I will not buy this tire again.
tire reviewed on 2016-09-02 10:03:08
Writing about the Event WL905 given 23% (225-45-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 2000 average miles
recently bought a renault megane with these tires on. with 5-6mm tread left all around. the car couldnt accelerate corner or brake without feeling dangerous and out of control. in 40 years of driving ive never driven on tires this bad! had to scrap these tires and buy some new ones. fully recomend using the new A-G labels when purchasing tires. my new A grip tires make a huge difference!
tire reviewed on 2016-08-20 05:18:06
Writing about the Davanti DX390 given 86% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 spirited miles
I had previously been using landsail ls288s on my Renault Megane estate and my tire supplier suggested that these were a better tire for a similar price.
They are a very good tire, quiet, composed and grippy in both wet and dry conditions. They respond well to proper driving (slow in, fast out of corners and a positive throttle) and reward you with a surprising amount of grip.
Using these tires, I managed to do my Friday night commute (75 miles each way, 60% motorway/40% twisty a road) 5 minutes quicker than I could running the landsails which is a pretty good acheivement.
I've had the front tires for around 5000 miles so far and rears for 2000 and the rear tires still look pretty new.
At £45 a corner, I'll be very happy if I can get 15000 miles out of them like the landsails which looks very possible
tire reviewed on 2016-05-10 14:25:37
Writing about the Landsail LS288 given 81% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 spirited miles
I've been using these tires for the last 3 years after they were recommended to me by my local tire supplier.
The first set lasted 14000 miles on my Focus estate and were immediately replaced with the same tires.
When I bought my Megane it needed new tires and I got a set of these again as I like the way they handle in both wet and dry. Wet grip is surprisingly good if you drive properly (slow in, fast out of corners and keep a positive throttle through bends).
Grip does tail off noticeably when you get down to about 3mm of tread which shows as a slight lack of composure when being pushed hard.
In short these are a very good tire, not just for the price but also compared to more expensive alternatives.
tire reviewed on 2016-01-13 12:31:38
Writing about the Michelin Alpin 5 given 96% (225-45-17-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 15000 spirited miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2015-04-30 15:17:59
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire