Debica Frigo HP2

The Debica Frigo HP2 is a High Performance Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Debica Frigo HP.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 85%
Handling 85%
Wear 89%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 89%
Snow Grip 90%
Ice Grip 90%

Tire review data from 10 tire reviews averaging 87% over 33,600 miles driven.

The Frigo HP2 is ranked 7th of 55 Winter High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2019 Winter Tire Test Market Overview - 19th of 47 tires

View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Center Winter Tire Test - 4th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Short ice braking, good ice traction, low noise.
  • Negative - Poor wet handling.
View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tire Test - 19th of 21 tires

  • Positive - Excellent in the snow, low fuel use
  • Negative - Poor wet and dry grip, high noise
  • Overall - Conditionally recommended
View Full Test >>

2019 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2019 Auto Center Winter Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 19th: 2019 Winter Tire Test Market Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 19th: 2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 7th: 2018 Auto Bild Winter Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 13th: 2018 51 Winter Tire Shootout (195/65 R15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Debica Frigo HP2

    Questions and Answers for the Debica Frigo HP2

    2020-08-23 - I’m looking for the best winter tire for snow for going up and down hills in the highlands of Scotland size 225 55 17 V would these be any good or can you point me in the correct direction of what to buy

    The Continental Wintercontact range are considered some of the best winter tire available.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Debica Frigo HP2 Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Skoda Superb 3   LK 4x4 Combi 2.0TD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    Fitted to winter wheels - used from Nov 2017. After reading reviews I initially wondered if I had made the best decision as they are said to be too extreme for use in the UK - how wrong can some reviews be?

    They are perfect for everyday usage and when the "beast from the east" arrived - I laughed! - I was effortlessly driving in the outside lane on dual carriageways and motorways in conditions that had most people crawling in the inside lanes. It was incredible watching other motorists with their knuckles white at their wheels. Traction from a standing start on ice and snow was faultless with no wheel-spin at all.

    Fuel consumption is virtually the same as when the car is on OEM 18" Pirelli P7 sport tires. I have not noticed any issues with longer braking, or excess noise etc. in my normal everyday driving.
    Helpful 93 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2018
    Given 80% while driving a BMW 330 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 5,000 easy going miles
    I used them this winter (2017-2018) on BMW E90 RWD am very impressed by the quality. Maybe because the first models are produced in Germany and for that.
    (When I move them to Poland I do not believe they have such a quality). They are very good at WET, SNOW and Ice !. On dry also very good. Do not give up on anything of premium class. Ðœaybe only noise and wear but not sure.
    Helpful 40 - tire reviewed on March 11, 2018
    BMW (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    Hello. I have these tires since november 2019, and i am writing this review because now is snow in Ro.
    They are very good on snow and slop, and good on wet.
    You can by it for 50 euro/tire.
    Very good choise.
    Helpful 24 - tire reviewed on February 7, 2020
    Have you driven on the Debica Frigo HP2 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Debica Frigo HP2? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Debica Frigo HP2 >

    Latest Debica Frigo HP2 Reviews

    Kia Motors (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 easy going miles
    Not much to say - these are good tires. Built in Germany. They do what they need to do. Comfortable, quiet and give decent grip. No issues climbing through snow covered parking lots or taking off at traffic lights. Braking feels confident and I have yet to be caught out by difficult conditions. Grip on pure ice is so-so but still manageable. They wear well. Just checked the treads and they still seem like brand new. Color coded stripes are still visible and pattern has not lost any sharp edges. I'm sure I can easily use them for 2 more seasons. Can't really compare the fuel economy since my summer tires are 225/45/17 and cold winters tend to make engines more thirsty. However I can not see any noticeable fuel consumption difference on longer highway trips. In the end I am happy with the purchase. Well priced solid tires that have not let me down yet. I have a direct comparison with Hankook Winter I cept iZ2 (second car, same tire size) and Frigo HP2 seems like a more solid tire to me.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on February 3, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a BMW F10 520d SE (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 8,000 easy going miles
    I am very pleased with them. I mounted them on the car in October 2018 and made 10000 km.
    Now I want to take Debica Presto UHP2 for the summer, I hope to make a good choice.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2019
    Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
    Given 88% while driving a Volvo S80 2.5T Executive (225/55 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    Hi guys! This is my first review here.
    So winter came and I needed some budget winter tires as my old 2013 Vredstein Xtreme Giugiaros became unbearable, noisy, hard crashing over potholes, no grip on ice, etc.

    First I want to mention that I love comfort before anything, that is quietness and low NVH in my car (noise, vibration, harshness) so I looked for good budget winter tires with good levels of comfort and low noise.

    I got the tires in 225 55 17 and I was impressed with the "cushy" ride. I do have the electronic adaptive suspension on my S80 but compared against my old Vredsteins, those were like blocks of concrete, felt like my entire suspension was shot to pieces when going over potholes.

    I can't score the snow and ice grip yet because I missed the days when we had it, but I can tell you that wet grip and dry grip on cold days is very very good. They are very quiet, off course compared to my old Vredsteins and the summer tires I removed. Keep in mind these are budget tires, I wonder how premium ones are in terms of noise.

    Indeed, as some tests and previous reviews stated, the handling suffers. I found it a little bit scary at first to be honest, the "barge like" feeling is very high, good for comfort, but if you plan on pushing the speed limits and\or taking some hard corners I recommend either increasing the pressure or switching the suspension to Sport.

    Overall, if you're looking for good budget winter tires and you prefer comfort and the old "barge like" feeling you can 100% go for these.
    Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on December 31, 2018
    Given 84% while driving a Mercedes Benz E Class (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Advantages: very good traction on snowy roads, on ice also, there were no problems at all. Good braking on dry. Consumption in very close to my summer tires ( Falken Ziex 310 Ecorun), good feeling on the road. Disadvantages: requires a little more attention at braking on wet/humid roads close to freezing temperatures, comfort is not so good for a winter tire, more towards a summer one. Noisy but not annoying. I am a fan of good tires at a fair price. Compared to the other set of Kleber Krisalp HP3 on the another car, Debiça is low only on comfort and wet braking. Good tire for it's price.
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 22, 2018