Falken Eurowinter HS439

The Falken Eurowinter HS439 is a Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Falken Eurowinter HS435 and this tire has been replaced by the Falken Eurowinter HS449.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 81%
Wear 83%
Comfort 77%
Buy again 79%
Snow Grip 60%
Ice Grip 70%

Tire review data from 17 tire reviews averaging 78% over 190,810 miles driven.

The Eurowinter HS439 is ranked 35th of 90 Winter Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2013 Winter Tire Overview - Braking - 17th of 50 tires

View Full Test >>

2011 AMS Winter Tire Test - 13th of 14 tires

  • Positive - Very good driving characteristics on dry roads, good comfort.
  • Negative - Unsatisfactory handling on snow, just average in the wet.
View Full Test >>

2013 Tire Tests

  • 17th: 2013 Winter Tire Overview - Braking (195/65 R15)
  • 2011 Tire Tests

  • 13th: 2011 AMS Winter Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Falken Eurowinter HS439

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Falken Eurowinter HS439. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Falken Eurowinter HS439 Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Citroën C4 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    Really great Tires. I see no difference between HS439 and Michelin Alpin I have been using before. I recommend...
    Helpful 39 - tire reviewed on December 26, 2013
    Given 64% while driving a Nissan Qashqai (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    For a dry winter ok ...
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on December 27, 2016
    Given 50% while driving a Volkswagen passat (205/65 R15) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
    May be it is a good tire for Germany, but not for East/North Europe. On icy, snowy road it is crap.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on April 26, 2013
    Have you driven on the Falken Eurowinter HS439 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Falken Eurowinter HS439? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Falken Eurowinter HS439 >

    Latest Falken Eurowinter HS439 Reviews

    Given 68% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Second winter with these on the car and they continue to be a good compromise tire but are feeling a bit dated. Much better than summer tires during the short period of snow we had, but they were still struggling a bit getting off my drive and initial pulling away in the street. Once moving they were good and progressive.

    Main minor point is dry and wet weather braking. When performing an emergency stop the ABS kicks in way faster than with even budget summer tires.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on April 8, 2019
    Given 74% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    I've used these before on a previous car a number of years ago, but bought some second hand from a friend for a new car I'm running.

    In between I've had more modern winter tires and these definitely feel quite 'last generation' especially when it comes to wet grip and braking.

    In dry cold weather I've found them very good, they give a nice gritty feedback through the wheel and I can easily feel how much grip I have. In the wet this applies too, however grip levels even in the cold are less than both my summer tires and newer winter tires.

    We had a fair bit of snow this winter, and these tires still did very well in both compacted and slushy snow, even when quite deep. Where cars on summer tires were getting stuck, I powered on by. Lateral grip in the snow was also impressive.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on March 31, 2018
    Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
    Given 63% while driving a BMW 328i Coupe (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 30,000 easy going miles
    BUYER BEWARE THESE TYRES ARE NOT SUITABLE FOR UK ROADS

    I have used these tires for 3 winters now and while these tires provide excellent grip in snow/ice/water and allowed my rear wheel drive BMW to move in winter so far I have had to replace 3 of them due to sidewall damage. These tires are NOT suitable for the UK's pot hole infested 3rd world road infrastructure. Next winter I will be purchasing a more robust brand of tire, probably Skandinavian or German.

    Very poor tire robustness from Falken.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on March 19, 2013
    Given 93% while driving a Subaru Outback 3.0L (215/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
    Only had these tires for three months so can't give a good score for wear as that is unknown as yet, otherwise an excellent winter tire, or may even be a good all-weather tire. Very comfy ride, if a little noisy, but I don't mind that when I know they will stop well in the wet and grip well in ice and snow. For the price I paid (£87 each) these tires represent excellent value for money and I would not hesitate to buy them again.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on February 28, 2013
    Given 86% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (235/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 17,000 spirited miles
    As a high mileage driver (approx 60k per year) I wanted a winter tire that would be durable and keep me on the road. The Falken Eurowinters HS439 that I put on my car did almost 17000 miles between December 2011 and March 2012 and provided the grip and road response that I was looking for. However the road noise was higher than my usual summer tires, but you soon get used to that.

    My winter miles last year included a skiing trip across Europe in temperatures of -15c and deep snow, and through it all the Falkens gripped the road like glue.

    As winter moved into spring the car did feel softer and squirmed around more when driven in the warmer spring temperatures. However on a plus side the wear is excellent. Even after 17000 miles there is more than enough tread left for me to put the tires back on again this winter!
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 27, 2012
    Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK5 GT 170 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    super wintertires!
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 16, 2012
    Given 83% while driving a Mazda MPV 2 2,0i 90kw year 2000 (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 10 average miles
    Driving on 205/65/R15 which is very fine quiet and balanced tire, a slightly poorer grip than my previous Conti TS810 but for 60% price.
    I mostly do not believe in German test, obvouisly they will not say the same result for Japaneese tire with much cheaper prise according to europian trademarks. Recomend - good value for the price on town car which is not supposed to drive fast and heavy snow.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2012
    Given 79% while driving a Ford Focus RS Mk1 (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    This was my second winter running these Falken winter tires. In comparison to last year, this ended up being a very mild winter, with no snow in my area at all, and temperatures often being above 7C.

    On the few occasions that I drove in freezing conditions, with black ice on the roads, I found the tires again, excellent. They were grippy, predicable and confidence inspiring.

    The rest of the time driving in mild dry and wet conditions I found the tires bearable but not ideal. When the weather is on the warmer side the tires feel extremely soft and are not particularly responsive to steering inputs compared to a summer tire. In warm wet weather lateral grip was somewhat unpredictable. Main problem areas were the slow speed slides around roundabouts, at speeds as low as 20mph. These arent really criticisms, as the tires were operating in conditions outside of their design, just observations.

    The other area of comment is wear. They havent worn at all, very impressive considering the road conditions!
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on March 3, 2012
    Given 84% while driving a Ford Focus RS (225/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    Put these on my RS in November, just in time for the start of the snow that hit North East England.

    Initially, I wasnt sure I had made the right purchase. They easily lost traction and made the steering very light, with no feel. However, after about 300 miles things improved greatly.

    Once run in, I found them excellent in most conditions. In cold weather under 7C grip was way better than my summer Michelin Pilot Sport tires. The tires are very progressive and break away with alot of warning.

    In the snow I found them excellent. My car is putting out around 240bhp through the front wheels. I was able to reverse off my drive which is on a hill every day we had snow, with no issues at all. Everyone else on the same drive got stuck. I was also able to use the outside lane of snow covered dual carriage ways, along with the 4x4's. I managed to get to work every day without problem.

    The only really issue I had with them is that wet weather performance when the temperature is getting up a bit wasnt great, and braking performance was definiely compromised compared to a summer tire in the dry.

    I found the tires as quiet as my Michelin Pilot Sports, and they have barely worn in the 5 months I have been using them.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 10, 2011
    Given 84% while driving a Honda CRV (225/60 R18 H) on mostly motorways for 2,000 average miles
    Good performance on snow, packed snow, and ice. Very good value - shop around since prices fluctuate weekly.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 14, 2011
    Given 97% while driving a Skoda Yeti 4 x 4 (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 800 spirited miles
    My first set of winter tires, on a crossover car that's FWD! Being fairly wide tires I got through the snow 99% of the times this winter. The snow being fairly widespread in Tyne and Wear. Compact snow covered hills were I wouldn't dare venture before were driven up with little drama. The traction control did flash a few times, but once I got moving the tires dug into the snow. These tires arn't too keen on slush, but amazing through freshly laid snow, compact snow and ice. The difference (in snow) between these and the standard fitted Dunlop summer tires is like night and day! They are slightly noisier but I can live with that. Great sense of satisfaction driving at 40mph, on a snow covered right lane of a dual carriageway where other drivers dare not tread! highly recommended!
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 4, 2011
    Given 97% while driving a Mitsubishi lancer (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    i had the falken hs 439 on my mitsubishi lancer for 2 winters now. i must say i was very impressed with the performance of these tires on snow,ice and wet roads. last winter was with intense snowing but that was no problem for my falken's.i run them for about 22.000 km or more and they look like brand new.the best winter tire i had so far.good job falken.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on August 11, 2010