Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI Tires

On this page you will find the best real world tire reviews from owners of the Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI.

Do you Drive a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire! After all, who knows what the best tire for a Passat 2.0TDI better than the owners?

Tire Reviewed Dry Grip Wet Grip Feedback Handling Wear Comfort
Vredestein Ultrac Vorti (111) 94% 84% 90% 89% 85% 85%
Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 (28) 86% 90% 83% 85% 88% 90%
Torque TQ022 (3) 90% 83% 87% 80% 77% 77%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 2 (405) 92% 89% 85% 85% 80% 87%
BFGoodrich gForce Winter (20) 85% 81% 77% 78% 83% 84%
Michelin Pilot Sport 3 PS3 (298) 90% 88% 84% 84% 74% 83%
Continental WinterContact TS 850 (55) 88% 89% 85% 85% 85% 89%
Dunlop Winter Sport 5 (38) 83% 85% 78% 78% 87% 84%
Sava Eskimo HP2 (25) 85% 82% 78% 78% 82% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept evo (28) 80% 79% 76% 72% 80% 79%
Avon Ice Touring (8) 85% 84% 70% 69% 94% 80%
Semperit Speed Grip 3 (6) 83% 83% 78% 78% 86% 88%
Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 (110) 89% 81% 80% 79% 80% 80%
Bridgestone Adrenalin RE002 (108) 90% 82% 82% 80% 77% 77%
Continental Premium Contact 6 (111) 89% 85% 83% 85% 75% 79%
Sava Intensa UHP 2 (47) 87% 80% 79% 79% 79% 82%
Uniroyal RainSport 2 (226) 85% 91% 78% 76% 76% 80%
Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric (141) 90% 87% 82% 78% 70% 80%
Hankook Winter i cept RS2 (46) 85% 85% 76% 80% 86% 76%
Avon Ice Touring ST (40) 81% 86% 74% 72% 82% 81%
Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance (244) 86% 85% 76% 78% 73% 85%
Nokian WR D4 (68) 83% 82% 78% 79% 66% 83%
Vredestein Quatrac 3 (48) 81% 86% 78% 75% 76% 76%
Kumho Ecsta KU39 (123) 86% 78% 80% 76% 73% 81%
Michelin Primacy 4 (150) 85% 81% 74% 77% 82% 84%
Barum Bravuris 2 (127) 85% 78% 79% 71% 75% 80%
Falken Eurowinter HS439 (17) 86% 83% 86% 81% 83% 77%
Yokohama W Drive (12) 81% 78% 84% 73% 76% 81%
Kumho Ecsta PS71 (57) 87% 82% 80% 79% 75% 71%
Avon ZV5 (112) 84% 78% 77% 77% 71% 77%
Dunlop Sport BluResponse (180) 88% 84% 79% 76% 61% 83%
Firestone TZ300A (24) 80% 79% 70% 78% 78% 74%
Michelin Primacy 3 (191) 85% 79% 76% 77% 69% 80%
Continental Sport Contact 3 (244) 88% 80% 81% 77% 62% 74%
Avon ZZ3 (115) 84% 75% 78% 75% 70% 74%
Nokian WR A3 (75) 92% 87% 88% 82% 90% 91%
Pirelli Cinturato P7 Blue (33) 86% 71% 75% 71% 87% 77%
Bridgestone Turanza ER300 (192) 83% 77% 77% 73% 78% 71%
Maxxis MA Z1 Victra (64) 88% 77% 73% 77% 71% 66%
Falken ZE912 (200) 82% 74% 75% 70% 71% 79%
Landsail LS588 UHP (89) 81% 75% 70% 68% 75% 80%
Michelin Pilot Primacy (52) 80% 76% 71% 68% 85% 71%
Three A P606 (47) 79% 73% 69% 69% 72% 76%
Pirelli CINTURATO P7 (179) 83% 73% 73% 75% 70% 73%
Avon ZV7 (119) 83% 78% 73% 72% 61% 79%
Davanti DX640 (92) 79% 71% 74% 73% 65% 78%
Continental Premium Contact 2 (197) 84% 77% 76% 73% 62% 73%
Continental Sport Contact 5 (209) 87% 82% 79% 76% 51% 73%
Continental ContiSportContact 5 P (106) 85% 78% 76% 75% 55% 73%
Goodyear UltraGrip 8 Performance (12) 83% 83% 68% 75% 82% 80%
Hankook Ventus Prime K105 (20) 78% 63% 74% 64% 66% 77%
Pirelli P 7 (84) 79% 69% 71% 69% 74% 66%
Bridgestone Potenza RE050A (212) 83% 69% 74% 72% 66% 59%
Pirelli PZero Nero (139) 83% 66% 71% 71% 67% 64%
Prestivo PV3000 (2) 100% 60% 70% 65% 65% 65%
Event Potentum (14) 75% 67% 59% 66% 74% 68%
Jinyu YW51 (17) 70% 67% 63% 58% 71% 70%
Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 (55) 76% 69% 69% 67% 65% 68%
Accelera PHI R (25) 76% 53% 68% 70% 64% 75%
Landsail LS388 AS (49) 77% 69% 72% 68% 71% 77%
Infinity INF 049 (12) 70% 54% 59% 51% 78% 59%
Goodyear Ultra Grip Performance 2 (9) 79% 73% 74% 71% 70% 81%
Pirelli SNOWCONTROL (3) 60% 53% 57% 60% 63% 67%
Constancy LY688 (25) 57% 43% 47% 42% 68% 50%
Event WL905 (129) 59% 30% 41% 39% 60% 49%
Infinity INF 05 (68) 56% 31% 42% 39% 62% 45%
Autogrip F107 (127) 58% 27% 44% 36% 60% 50%
Mohawk M112 (28) 59% 34% 44% 40% 53% 46%

Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI Tire Review Highlights

Writing about the Accelera PHI R given 100% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly town for 50000 average miles
Have run these on the rear of my 2.0 TDI Passat for 2 years, no problems at all in wet or dry conditions. So far done 50k miles and they are still legal but about due for a change. Would certainly buy again for rears but I go for higher quality for fronts as it is a FWD car and they do all the heavy lifting, lets face it at regular speeds and civilised driving all the rears do on a FWD car is roll along.
tire reviewed on 2023-11-22 00:27:07
Writing about the Hankook Winter i cept RS2 given 80% (215-55-17-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 5000 average miles
Had them on my "urban" Audi A3 and was so impressed that bought them for my Passat. You can read the other review below. Probably the best winter tire for snow, ice and wet. Unfortunately, we did not have enough snow this winter, but drove them in rain and wet a lot. Aquaplanning resistance is impessive for a winter tire. You can easily drive 120-130 km/h in heavy rain without worrying. Dry handling is also absolutely fine. Very comfortable ride. The only drawback: they are quite noisy, I would say above average. Did not had that impression on my Audi, but I guess it is due to the wider tires on the Passat.
tire reviewed on 2023-06-17 13:59:44
Writing about the Kumho Ecsta PS71 given 50% (215-55-17-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 10000 easy going miles
Long story short, I am dissapointed of these tires. Bought them because price is really good and after all it is a Korean brand. I am driving a saloon with only 150 bhp and they still can't cope. Start spinning half throttle even on dry road. Wet is even worse. ESP is working really hard to keep you going. Haven't done hard braking fortunately, but I am worried about it given the lack of grip. Aquaplanning resistence is decent, you can drive 100-120 km/h on a wet highway without any issues. I guess the tire compound is too firm because wear is very little. On the positive side, they are very quiet. Comfort is average, but summer tires are much firmer than winter so maybe it is normal.
tire reviewed on 2023-06-17 13:45:25
Writing about the Michelin Primacy 4 given 81% (215-55-16-)
Driving on mostly motorways for 10000 spirited miles
I do believe they are one of the best options out there for premium touring tires, i just do not like how unattached they make you feel to the road. Probably the confiest tires i have ever had, and way better than my older pirelli p7, but just not worth the very extra price of the tire. In my country, Spain, when i bought them the costed around 160€ per tire, meanwhile the continental premiumcontact6 were only 130€ per tire. All in all, very good, really made my vw passat as confy as my older mercedes benz, and the fuel consumption has been great this 16.000km.
tire reviewed on 2022-05-31 23:32:29
Writing about the Hankook Ventus Prime 3 K125 given 66% (205-55-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 20000 easy going miles
Sometimes, on dry asphalt, it seems like he skates too much on more aggressive departures. At temperatures as low as 12-13 degrees Celsius it plasticizes, they become very hard. It's as if he should have covered more than 33,000 km. In my opinion.
tire reviewed on 2022-01-30 08:44:00
Writing about the Sava Eskimo HP2 given 95% (225-55-17-V)
Driving on a combination of roads for 5000 average miles
Tires performed excelent on all types of roads. The dry grip is superior and on wet,snow and ice also superior. Comfort is also really good, they are not too noisy. Overall the best tire for the that amount of money and can definetly compete with other premium tires like Mich Conty ext.
tire reviewed on 2021-03-07 10:20:46
Writing about the Goodyear UltraGrip Performance Gen 1 given 96% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 5000 average miles
No comments left
tire reviewed on 2020-11-16 10:39:13
Writing about the Continental Premium Contact 6 given 91% (235-45-17-W)
Driving on a combination of roads for 22000 spirited miles
Excellent tires in every category apart from wear. (I guess it is the trade-off) From new(7,2mm) to wear indicator (3mm)it takes me dead on 22K miles, so 2 years in my driving style. Still I am buying it every two years as they are just superb.
tire reviewed on 2020-01-08 03:50:19
Writing about the Torque TQ022 given 96% (215-60-16-)
Driving on a combination of roads for 7000 average miles
This is the 3rd winter i am using this tires, they are very good on dry, wet or snow. I can say they are as good as premium tires. The only problem i had was on the highway at over 140kmh, at this high speed you can feel they are not premium tires. Still, i would buy again.
tire reviewed on 2019-12-11 23:36:22
Writing about the Sava Intensa UHP 2 given 91% (235-45-18-)
Driving on mostly country roads for 16000 average miles
Hi, I have bought the tires to replace old continental SC5 on my passat. The size is 235/45/18 and the price was just half the price of the continental. I just put my winter tires now but during the summer I did 20k km and based on this I would say I did now have any issues at all. Of course with kick down on 2 gear the traction control steps in but I am with FWD and the torque is a lot. The tread is down now to 6.5mm on the front and 7mm on the back set of tires which I don't know if it is good or bad for 20k km.I think I might use them 2 more seasons. So I would recommend the tires.
tire reviewed on 2019-11-23 06:44:29
Writing about the Infinity INF 049 given 22% (215-55-17-H)
Driving on mostly motorways for 200 easy going miles
just mounted on my 2016 passat Variant 2.0 TDI. terrible feeling on Dry and Wet. not yet tested on snow. definitely not suggested.
tire reviewed on 2019-11-04 14:43:50
Writing about the Dunlop Winter Sport 5 given 89% (215-55-17-W)
Driving on mostly town for 3000 average miles
Exellent on dry road, on the wet sometimes slipping during acceleration.
tire reviewed on 2019-01-17 13:24:31
Drive this car? Why not add your own tire review and help other owners pick the right tire