Fulda Kristall Montero 3

The Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is a Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 84%
Handling 81%
Wear 89%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 81%

Tire review data from 29 tire reviews averaging 88% over 220,870 miles driven.

The Kristall Montero 3 is ranked 5th of 96 Winter Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2022 ADAC Winter Tire Test - 185/65 R15 - 13th of 15 tires

  • Positive - Particularly low wear (top mark), low fuel consumption.
  • Negative - Weaknesses on dry and wet roads (devaluation.)
  • Overall - The FULDA Kristall Montero 3 shows weaknesses in the dry and in the wet, in both criteria it is rated as sufficient. Despite the good snow and ice properties, the recommendation for the Kristall Montero 3 is only "conditionally recommended".
View Full Test >>

2017 AC Winter Tire Test - 185/65 R15 - 4th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Good resistance to aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Poor ice handling, long dry braking.
View Full Test >>

2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Winter Tire Test - 17th of 18 tires

  • Positive - Superb braking result and good traction values ​​on hard-packed snow, safe aquaplaning properties, quiet, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Only average handling, braking and steering response on snowy and wet roads, extended wet and dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2022 Tire Tests

  • 13th: 2022 ADAC Winter Tire Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2017 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2017 AC Winter Tire Test - 185/65 R15 (185/65 R15)
  • 2015 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2015 ADAC Winter Tire Test - 165/70 R14 (165/70 R14)
  • 13th: 2015 Winter Tire Market Overview (185/60 R14)
  • 17th: 2015 Auto Bild Top 18 Winter Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2014 Tire Tests

  • 6th: 2014 ADAC Winter Tire Test - 175/65 R14 (175/65 R14)
  • 2013 Tire Tests

  • 9th: 2013 ACE Winter Tire Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2011 Tire Tests

  • 9th: 2011 European Winter Tire Test - 195/65 R15 (195/65 R15)
  • 2010 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2010 European Winter Tire Test Part 2 (185/65 r15)
  • 8th: 2010 Auto Zeitung Winter Tire Test (195/65 r15)
  • 10th: 2010 Auto Bild Winter Tire Test (195/65 r15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Fulda Kristall Montero 3

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Fulda Kristall Montero 3. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Fulda Kristall Montero 3 Reviews

    Given 93% while driving a Fiat Multipla (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 7,000 average miles
    Very good tires. Provides exceptional maneuverability of the vehicle. Very good behavior in all driving conditions. Extremely comfortable and very quiet tire. After 10000 km shows no signs of wear.
    Helpful 105 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2013
    Given 87% while driving a Fiat Punto EVO 1.3MTJ 84hp (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    In general a great winter tire. Had these fitted to my Volvo S60 a couple of years ago with good results, I tried them again for our little Punto. They feel very stable and safe in the snow. I am a spirited drive and lite to push my car from time to time. With these Kristal Montero 3 that is not a problem. Stopping distance and acceleration in snow and slush is superb. In the damp danish weather they sometimes understeer a bit, but is think that is down to the natur of the little Fiat. I can higly recommend these winther Fuldas.
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on January 18, 2023
    Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors Rio (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Mileage approx. 30,000 km. Always dry without problems in dry, wet and snowy conditions. On the ice like everything - it slides on the ice. Quiet and wear little. What more could I want from winter tires ... they're reliable and I'd buy them again
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on April 28, 2022
    Have you driven on the Fulda Kristall Montero 3 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Fulda Kristall Montero 3? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Fulda Kristall Montero 3 >

    Latest Fulda Kristall Montero 3 Reviews

    Given 76% while driving a Opel Astra H 5T 1.8l (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 29,000 easy going miles
    I bought these tires new in autumn of 2019 for an Opel Astra H. Since then I have done about 45.000km on them. This includes a fair share of gravelroads.

    They are at about 4.5mm now and still have good traction, even in the snow, but obviously not as good as when they were new. They will be replaced after this winter with new winter tires.

    They took a beating on gravelroads wich had the result of small rubberflakes chunking out from the outer thirds of the contact patch. However these didnt go as deep as the groves go, so I did not replace them for that issue.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 26, 2024
    Given 82% while driving a Volkswagen Golf IV 1.9 TDI 110 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,970 easy going miles
    Very satisfied with Fulda winter tires. I have them on my car for 2 years,fitted them after Sava eskimo and you could feel the difference right away. Driving the car is much quieter and the handling is how much you need for easy going drive. For these 2 years I can't see thread wear on them. Also had couple times snow on the road but the grip was exceptional. Would buy them again, no brainer!
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 71% while driving a Alfa Romeo 156 SW 1.9 JTD (185/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    TL;DR Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is better than Sava Eskimo S3+ and Tigar/Taurus/Kormoran winter tires. It is solid tire in every aspekt. It's good in dry braking and cornering. It's good in wet braking. Fulda had never let me down nor put me in risky situation. During the rain, at 80-90 km/h, I had never experienced aquaplaning. It's very good in snow, but Sava is better in this aspekt. In cold weather it's good tire, above 10°C is mediocre, but drivable. Above 15°C you should switch back to summer tires (because of COVID-19, I did change it in late March). I would rather drive summer tires (e.g. my Nexen N'blue HD plus @ 205/55/16) in the range of temperatures 5-7°C at dry road, and above 7°C in wet, than this winter tire. Tire started around 9-8 mm, and after 5 months of drive finished around 7-8 mm. To conclude, I would recommend Fulda tire if you live in some mitteleuropean city with lots of rain and dry periods, and of course snowy days. If you experience more snow, I would go for Sava Eskimo S3+. Fulda Kristall Montero 3 is better than Sava tire in the wet, dry, but just less good in snow. Additional information: 185/65/15 Fulda Kristall Montero is "Made in France", Sava Kristall Montero 3 is "Made in Poland", and Tigar/Taurus/Kormoran is "Made in Serbia".
    Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on September 26, 2020
    Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen (B8) 1.4 TSI (150 Hp) DSG ACT (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 900 average miles
    Very good tires. Very responsive and grippy. Replaced these tires from Sava Eskimo S3+ and you could tell the difference right away. Definetly will buy these tires again!
    Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2020
    Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 1.4 HDi (185/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 20,000 easy going miles
    Excellent winter tires on snow, bit wary on ice/black ice and good all round performance on dry and wet conditions throughout winter. Normal wear on the tire, nothing worth noting and good fuel economy - barely noticed a difference in fuel expense going from summer Bridgestone Ecopia to these in winter. Definitely recommend as in the snow they just grip like it was tarmac.
    Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2017
    Given 89% while driving a Opel Corsa (165/70 R13 T) on mostly country roads for 15,000 miles
    Just brilliant winter tire. I used it on Opel Corsa B for 4 years during whole year, and had made for approx. 15000 miles (4 mm tread left). This tire is king of deep snow performance. So much better anything I drove before in this size (Sava Eskimo, Michelin Alpin).
    I highly recommend it. Dry and wet handling are average, but snow performance is why you should have it fitted on your car.
    Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on October 18, 2017
    Given 93% while driving a Peugeot 307 (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 5,000 average miles
    Very good tire, It was very important for me to buy tire for winter conditions, deep snow on Bosnian roads, and Fulda was probably the best choice (after one season I know that now). Greate on snow, before I had Continental ts830p and Fulda is better in winter conditions numerous times.
    Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on November 11, 2016
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 320D (195/65 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    Very comfortable tires, extreme grip on my rear axle powered BMW. Buy again!
    Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on May 21, 2015
    Given 99% while driving a Ford Mondeo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 spirited miles
    Excellent tire for dry, wet and snowy roads.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on May 7, 2014
    Given 97% while driving a Vauxhall Astra (205/60 R15) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
    Very, very good tires, I will but them again 100%. Driven on snow and ice and they are excellent! very quiet tires!
    Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on February 11, 2014
    Given 88% while driving a SEAT (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
    Amazing grip in winter conditions, snow especially (feels like dry tarmac :)). Also satisfied with other parameters, but as I drive defensively and mostly in the city I haven't tested their limits.
    Helpful 19 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2012
    Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus (165/90 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Last winter in my country we saw the biggest snowfalls for a 3 decades! With this tires I was driving normally like it is summer!
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on October 17, 2012