Sunny SN3830

The Sunny SN3830 is a High Performance Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 55%
Wet Grip 44%
Road Feedback 49%
Handling 44%
Wear 70%
Comfort 67%
Buy again 44%

Tire review data from 17 tire reviews averaging 53% over 158,990 miles driven.

The SN3830 is ranked 53rd of 55 Winter High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2018 Autobild UHP Winter Tire Test - 10th of 11 tires

  • Positive - Good comfort, fuel efficient, low price.
  • Negative - Extremely poor wet grip and long wet braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2014 50 Winter Tire Braking Overview - 35th of 48 tires

View Full Test >>

2013 Winter Tire Overview - Braking - 48th of 50 tires

View Full Test >>

2018 Tire Tests

  • 10th: 2018 Autobild UHP Winter Tire Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2014 Tire Tests

  • 35th: 2014 50 Winter Tire Braking Overview (225/50 R17)
  • 2013 Tire Tests

  • 48th: 2013 Winter Tire Overview - Braking (195/65 R15)
  • 2012 Tire Tests

  • 41st: 2012 Auto Bild 42 Winter Tire Braking Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Sunny SN3830

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Sunny SN3830. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Sunny SN3830 Reviews

    Given 54% while driving a BMW 1 series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
    My scores don't accurately reflect the purpose of the tire, which is for mud and snow. I have been driving them from November through to the end of March for two seasons. Regular routes include Deeside, Perthshire, Aberdeen and Edinburgh. In rain and snow these tires perform adequaltely on my rear wheel drive car and enable me to keep traveling in a challenging environment. In mild weather on dry and damp road surfaces, it pays to be circumspect with speed and acceslaration on corners and roundabouts, as control and grip are more limted than my run flat tyes. In my opinion they are up to the job that they are desgned for and are great value for money at around £240 for four tires.
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on January 5, 2016
    Given 83% while driving a Nissan xtrail 2.0 dci x3 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
    What a purchase, I have been running on these tires for a winter season in Bavaria. I encountered all kinds of conditions and these tires have been brilliant, I would definitely recommend.
    Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2015
    Given 40% while driving a Skoda Octavia Scout (225/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 0 average miles
    Wet/damp road lateral grip is almost non-existent. Don't buy these tires unless you think unexpectedly slipping off a low speed corner into a ditch sounds like fun.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on March 23, 2015
    Have you driven on the Sunny SN3830 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Sunny SN3830? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Sunny SN3830 >

    Latest Sunny SN3830 Reviews

    Given 32% while driving a BMW 520d (225/50 R17) on mostly motorways for 500 spirited miles
    Don't buy these, they're dangerous and have virtually no grip!
    I travel 100 miles daily to/from work doing the same route. Previousley I had Goodyear EfficientGrip Performance on my rear wheels and two different budget tires on the front (the budgets came with the car) and I knew what speed I could take each corner at safely and never once lost control of the car of felt unsafe.
    Within 1 week of having these on I've lost control of the car on more than one occasion on different corners already going much slower than I used to, each time I have managed to regainn control. For example a slight corner that I used to be able to take at 50mph I now have to go less than 30mph the grip is that bad!
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 24, 2017
    Given 29% while driving a Volvo V50 estate (205/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,607 average miles
    Horrific, dangerous Tire. Should not be in production never mind being sold. Terrible in the dry, dangerous in the wet. Removed them from the front to the back and today the backend went sideways totally unexpectedly on a roundabout. Only covered 2600 miles on them and they will be removed as they are extremely dangerous. Driving for 26 yrs covering around 36k miles per year and never had tires anything like this before.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on February 5, 2017
    Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
    Given 54% while driving a BMW 118d m sport (215/55 R16 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    Firstly, these are labelled M+S SnowMaster. We've had the wettest mildest winter for years! I've only driven 1000 miles on them. The first point is their comfort compared with the low profile 18" run-flats. It's like driving a bigger, softer car. That's probably due to them being on 16" wheels and a 55% aspect ratio. I find these tires acceptable for normal driving, but wouldnt want to push them to the limit in warm dry/wet conditions. They are as quiet as the OEM fitment, not harsh over bumps but feel a little slow to respond to steering input. I only paid £176 for the set of 4, which represents excellent value. I'll use them until April this year and next winter. I'll probably change them for a premium winter tire like the Dunlop if I still own the car in a couple of years.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2014
    Given 89% while driving a BMW e60 530i (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 average miles
    I got these for my E60 BMW to improve the winter and snow handling. They perform well in the snow, and icy conditions. No evidence of wear after 6000 miles. Wet grip not as good as wider (premium) summer tires, when the temperature is above 15 degrees Celcius.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 26, 2013
    Given 77% while driving a Ford S Max (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    A good all round winter tire. Have run two sets on two cars. Excellent on snow and slush, good on ice.
    A little noisy at motorway speeds. Frankly some of the reviews are worthless, these are winter tires and the boy racers should drive accordingly. Drivers like these show their lack of knowledge and experience in winter driving.
    These tires are put on in November until April, run on untreated rural roads they are a Godsend for snow particularly getting started on slopes. Positive steering response, good braking performance.
    Drive accordingly and these tires will not let you down.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 11, 2013
    Given 23% while driving a Alfa Romeo MiTo (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 200 easy going miles
    I am a car enthusiast , and drive a sevens type car and so feel have some idea how a car handles on the limit(and sometimes beyond!). FOr my daily runner I have a 95hp mito, and generally trundle to and from work, and when tires are due for it, I usually go for budget tires. Generally I have never had any problems with ordinary driving with cheap tires. I bought the sunnys because they were the cheap ones the tire place had at the time.

    With sunny tires I would say they are very safe, providing you make it round the first few corners in the wet alive. This is in immediate comparison,in the the wet, to the 28000 mile pirellis on the wear limiters with no shoulders left, that were replaced. In the wet or in greasy conditions it feels like you are driving on patchy ice, and therefore in such conditions one has to drive like an undertaker. The steering is very light, no feedback. Noise is actually ok. I hope they will improve a bit as they bed in, but current wet/greasy grip very very poor.

    DO NOT BUY THESE TIRES. For budget tires lokk elsewhere nankangs, accelera, generals etc.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 4, 2013
    Given 43% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 9,000 average miles
    These tires are brander as Sunny Snowmaster and I bought them for my Saab 9:5 1.9TiD to use over the last winter as I would be travelling frequently to Aberdeen and expected to be driving in snow. I was correct, it has been particularly bad this year and in snow they were good. I felt confident and was never stuck. However on damp or greasy roads especially on warmer days (10C+) they had little traction and the traction control frequently had to cut in to keep me going. I was never over-confident when breaking in the wet but had no issues with aquaplaneing. Also the tires are very noisy with a constant hum at motorway speed. I will be glad to change them next week for normal tires and even though they are hardly worn after 9,000 miles I will buy a better make next winter as, even though they are not perfect, they convinced me about the benefits of winter tires when driving in the north of Scotland in winter.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2013
    Given 61% while driving a Audi A6 Allroad 2.5 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 65,983 average miles
    This kind of tires is more for mud and snow.. M+S type. I drive on gravel every day 2 years when rain was mud... by the way... it's a 4x4 car.. and for snow this tires are very good for traction.. but not for break.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2012
    Given 30% while driving a SEAT Ibiza Cupra TDi (205/40 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
    Absolutely awful in the wet. In the dry they are spongey and provide no feedback, but aren't too noisy and made my car ride softer which isnt a bad thing, but made dry roads a chore and driving miserable as they ruined my cars handling. I expect some drop in handling with winter tires, but the performance of these is pathetic.

    Overall they are dangerous and down right scary and unless purchased when they are cheap in the summer, they are really expensive.

    In deep snow and ice they are ok, but not at all amazing and the dismal performance in all other conditions makes them a real waste of money.

    DO NOT BUY THEM! I only did as was expecting loads of snow and due to the size of my wheels I was limited in my choice.

    Seat Ibiza Cupra TDI

    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on July 24, 2012
    Given 54% while driving a Ford fiesta st (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4,000 average miles
    Okay - so I fitted these to a 185bhp/165ftlb modified Fiesta ST on Bilstein suspension/H&R springs - it also has a Quaife ATB differential. This car on summer tires is normally glued to the road. After some scary experiences in the snow last winter I decided to get a set of these Sunny's (from mytires) on for this winter.

    Well, so predictibly we had no snow! On cold, dry mornings the tires seem to grip fine. I certainly have no desire to drive like a hooligan in the cold weather but I'd say the grip was Adequate/Good. But, there's no real feedback from them and they feel 'squashy' I guess the sidewalls are quite soft.

    In the rain (ie. proper falling drops) again the tires were Fair - perhaps on a par with the Toyo T1Rs in the rain. That 'squashy' feel doesn't inspire you with any confidence to push on anyway which probably keeps on from finding what the limit is in the wet.

    Where these tires really fall down, and in a scary dangerous way, is on the sort of surface we've had for about 75% of the winter. Damp (but not raining), greasy roads. These tires will wheelspin with only the very lightest of throttle input, which you can get used to but it slows progress. More disturbingly I've had 2nd gear/10-15mph corners on trailing throttle severe understeer. This with no warning or feedback, mid corner the front just breaks and you're sliding. For this reason I would NEVER RECOMMEND this tire to anyone - an unexperienced driver would find these tires sending them into the path of oncoming cars and into ditches.

    I can't comment on the snow capabilities of these tires as I didn't get any - typical - they might be great for that. But, for damp and greasy roads these tires are treacherous.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on February 24, 2012
    Given 33% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra (215/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Have run these for nearly 2k miles since November. Wet roads - useless. Turning or accelerating on a roundabout/leaving a junction - scary. I dont have Traction control, but a 1.8 Vectra should not wheelespin in 3rd at 30-40 mph!Truly awful, and only passable in the light snow we have had. Lateral control is the worst. Might be ok for some cars but if you have a 1.8SRI Vectra - avoid - ruins the car, and only for those with a deathwish.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on February 22, 2012
    Given 79% while driving a Ford S Max (225/55 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 4,000 easy going miles
    Fitted at the start of the mildest winter in recent years these tires have had a grand total of 2 days of snowy driving. They were spot on in the snow, very predictable and confidence inspiring in slippy conditions. They've done around 3,700 miles commuting between city streets and rural driving and have proved faultless. More comfortable than the Kumho's they replace and more predictable in the rain I can't fault them. Not sure about wear yet, I'd be surprised if I get more than 15,000 miles from them. For £60 each from mytires.com I can't complain.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 17, 2012