Hankook Optimo 4S

The Hankook Optimo 4S is a High Performance All Season tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 32 tire reviews averaging 83% over 344,352 miles driven, and 10 tests with an average result of 10th.

Dry Grip 86%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 78%
Wear 78%
Comfort 88%
Buy again 90%

First On MarketMay 2021
Wheel Size13 - 17"
Width165 - 225mm
Profile50 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripC - D
Noise (dB)70 - 72
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The Optimo 4S is ranked 4th of 30 All Season High Performance tires.

Tests Included

10

Best Result

3rd

Worst Result

50th

Average Result

10th

Latest Tire Test Results

2016 ADAC All Season Tire Test
7th of 7 tires
  • Relatively low fuel consumption
  • Very weak in the wet, weak on dry roads
View Full Test >>
2014 All Season Tire Test
7th of 10 tires
  • Balanced, safe handling on snow covered and dry roads. Good aquaplaning performance
  • Limited grip in the wet with long braking distances and understeer. High rolling resistance
View Full Test >>
2013 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test
7th of 9 tires
  • Versatile with secure handling on snowy and dry roads, good aquaplaning safety.
  • delayed steering response and driving behavior in wet conditions, long dry braking distances.
View Full Test >>

2016 Tire Tests

2014 Tire Tests

2013 Tire Tests

2012 Tire Tests

2011 Tire Tests

SizeFuelWetNoise
14 inch
175/65R14 82 TDC71
185/70R14 88 TDC71
175/65R14 86 T XLDC71
185/60R14 82 HDC71
165/70R14 85 T XLDD71
165/70R14 81 TDD70
15 inch
195/55R15 85 HDD72
185/65R15 88 HDD71
195/65R15 91 HDC72
16 inch
205/55R16 94 V XLDD72
205/60R16 92 VCC72
205/55R16 91 HDC72
17 inch
225/60R17 99 HCC72
225/50R17 98 V XLCC72
205/50R17 93 V XLCC72
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Hankook Optimo 4S >>

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Hankook Optimo 4S. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Hankook Optimo 4S Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Saab Automobile 93 OG 2.0Turbo 150hp (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
My 2000MY 93 3D runs really nicely on these tires, the quiet road noise is particularly good. BUT... I run lower pressures 28psi instead of 33psi, the 50% profile is harsh at 33psi. No wear issues at all running 28psi. Next set I will go for a higher profile, 55 or 60 to cope with the roughish roads around here.
Helpful 29 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2021
Given 81% while driving a Chevrolet Uplander Van (225/60 R17) on mostly town for 2,400 easy going miles
I purchased these tires in October 2013. While I've only put 4200 Kms on them and mostly in snow (I am in Montreal,
Canada), I've been extremely pleased with them. As winter tires are mandatory here, I didn't want to go through the hassle of purchasing both all season and winters. The Optimo 4S is the only certified all weather tire here so I thought I'd give them a shot. So far so good. They handle extremely well in all weather conditions including deep snow and ice.
Helpful 78 - tire reviewed on April 20, 2014
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi (205/55 R16 R) on a combination of roads for 34,500 spirited miles
Absolutely brilliant tire! Have them on a Peugeot 308 hdi & over 34000 miles on them so have ordered another set to be fitted! The only thing is when new they sound a bit grippy ?
Helpful 33 - tire reviewed on November 23, 2018
Have you driven on the Hankook Optimo 4S tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Hankook Optimo 4S? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Hankook Optimo 4S >

Latest Hankook Optimo 4S Reviews

Mazda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I do not know why I have had several of these tires wear in extraordinary ways. I take my winters off and put my alloy rims and tires on and immediately have problems.i had wheel alignments, rim checks, even bought to other rims and still they wear mostly on the one edge, can be in board or out. Can only figure they are bad quality tires. Never had this issue with other tires in 50 years
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on January 13, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Toyota Corolla (185/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 1,000 average miles
I live in BC, Canada...and I only used all seasons tires ever since, but this time of winter I decided to have all weather tires on my 2003 Toyota Corolla, driving my daughters everyday to school on an uphill and downhill snowy and icy roads...The Hankook Optimo 4S 185/65R15 gave me more confidence and safe driving. The tires deliver and I'm satisfied, went back at Canadian Tires to buy another 4 sets of tires for Honda Odessey but their is no size available 235/65R17 hopefully Hankook Tires Co. will make one?
Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on January 12, 2017
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 100% while driving a Pontiac trans am ws6 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles
Replaced OEM Hankook on GM with 4S. Was hesitant at first with 4 seasons due to wear ability. So far the response on ice and snow has been impressive/ Will have to see hoe long the last. Drive 200k daily on highway.
Helpful 38 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2016
Given 91% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 11,000 average miles
Great tires, selected because I drive all year round and must get to work, even in winter. I also drive to the Alps in both summer and winter. No problems at all with handling, comfort or noise, good in dry and very good in standing water and wet. As for Snow- excellent in deep snow, ice, as in ski lift car parks. Never needed , or felt the need for chains. Max depth of snow 20cm . And this is with tires with 11000 miles on them. - Also great value.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on January 24, 2016
Given 79% while driving a BMW (225/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 28,000 easy going miles
After years of company cars I bought a mint '02 E39 520 SE and ran it as my full time car, including a raft of motorway and urban miles.

I needed to be able to get around during winter so I thought about getting some winter tires to swap to, but our summers and winters in the UK midlands are so variable I'd never know when to make the swap. After researching I decided to give these Hankook optima 4S tires a go.

Compared to the P6 cinturatos they replaced I was immediately taken with the improved wet performance, but also a bit of extra noise. I fitted them in Autumn, so I really only noticed the benefits when the first frosts arrived. The Hankooks were unaffected by even heavy frosts and dustings of snow, with grip being workable in general use. The extra confidence these tires gave in icy conditions was excellent compared to the P6s.

The tires did not magically turn my car into a Land Rover, but they certainly made the car much safer in poor conditions, while not compromising normal dry, warm driving too much. They never felt like "bad tires" in the summer.

They had done 28k miles when my car was written off by a clumsy lotty driver. They still had more than 2.5 mm on them.

Recommended for drivers who want to keep moving all winter without the dry compromise of winter tires.

I just bought some for my new e39 with 17 inch wheels on them.

Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on June 28, 2015
Given 71% while driving a Mitsubishi Spacestar (185/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 34,000 easy going miles
I constantly keep all-season tires on the back axle - so I drove these Optimo's on the back axle through summers and winters. That saves our budget, having total of 6 tires instead of 8. That also means I can't rightfully score progressiveness or road feedback, which are more applicable on the front... It doesn't give me unwanted skids on the back side, since the car is short and the cornering style is calm.
Other than developing an unsolvable problem with rear right tire which deflates about 1 bar/week, I am completely satisfied with them. The problem was tackled 3-4 times by different tire fitting shops (servicemen), but with little change. Run for 55000 km's in all conditions - from -20 deg.C to +40 deg.C (yes, that is the weather amplitude in Serbia). Had to give lower wearing score because of the problem. Plan to replace them next week with my old set of winter Hankooks (which really fine), to wear them for few mm more - this should be the last season for them, too.
Very good tire, despite my problem with one of the two.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2015
Given 77% while driving a Ford Mondeo Titanium 2.0 TCDI (235/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 10,000 spirited miles
This review is for the 97 V XL version of the tire.

Positive Points

* Excellent aquaplane resistance & wet grip performance
* Good snow performance, but only based on approx. 5 days snow driving
* Increased confidence in low temp conditions
* Good levels of comfort
* Great stability at speed and under braking. No tramlining etc
* Retain pressures well
* Good general grip, but see below...

Negative Points

* Dry road performance is as expected, compromised. However, this is by a greater margin than the reviews suggested. I would take the 90% suggested performance of a summer tire and reduce it to 70%. The tires *do* grip, but feel soft underfoot and don't inspire confidence. My Mondeo feels like my old Citroen C5 now!
* Wear doesn't seem great, but that may just be me. 10,000 miles in, and I can only see another 5,000 on the fronts. Rears are fine, and I can see them lasting another 10-15,000

Summary -

You really can tell this is a premium tire, when comparing how it performs to even a good mid range tire. I'm sure they played a big part in me being able to avoid the idiot who pulled out right in front of me the other week. The tire gives a good feeling of safety & stability in all weather conditions. Driving on water logged motorways, for instance, is handled without drama.

My only concern is the soft feeling of the tire in the dry, and the impact this has on cornering feel & confidence. In all other respects, this is a truly excellent tire, and if spirited driving is not your thing, I would whole heartedly recommend this tire. I know a Mondeo is hardly a sports car, it did have sharper handling on well worn Michelins!

Given that we don't have many snow days, I probably won't buy these again and get a premium summer tire instead. But I could be tempted back if that doesn't go well...
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on May 14, 2015
Given 97% while driving a Toyota Avensis (205/50 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 40,000 average miles
Just about to replace a set of these after 40,000 miles spanning 3 winters.

Remaining tread is around 2.0 mm so still good for another couple of thousand miles, but with winter just around the corner it makes sense to replace now whilst they're still available.

A little noisy when new, but the noise reduced after a while.

They were great in the winter, ploughing through snow with ease. Even left behind a 4x4 which couldn't gain transaction in fresh, deep snow.

Absolutely no complaints whatsoever, excellent regardless of the weather conditions and with excellent lifetime.
Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on September 10, 2014
Given 77% while driving a Renault Captur (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,500 average miles
after years off Expensive Michelin Primacy 3 with start 6.5 mm? this is a excellent Tire, and the complete fam switched over on all seasons from Hankook.
Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2014
Given 89% while driving a Citroën C4 Grand Picasso (215/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
Could this be the only tire we should buy? I think so! After driving on a wide range of tires over the years I can say with confidence the Hankook Optimo 4S is the best tire I have ever had.
Still need to try it in the snow and if it performs as well as it does in the heavy rain we've had I will be very happy.
It is quiet - comfortable and stable It has changed the feel of my car dramatically I no longer want to sell my car...
If we get some snow I will update this review but for now put this tire on your wish list you won't be disappointed.
Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on February 19, 2014
Given 76% while driving a Peugeot 308 1.6 HDi (195/65 R15) on mostly motorways for 15,000 average miles
Bought these to replace the OE Michelin Energy Savers. The Hankooks use the same fuel, ride fine and are no noisier. No braking or handling issues in the dry or wet (or very wet). But on snow and ice they are just as good as Winter tires I had on the previous car. Rears have hardly worn at all, the fronts by 2 mm after a lot of summer motorway miles. And they were a very reasonable price, certainly alot cheaper then the Michelins. I can't see a down side to these. So much so I now have these on our other car too.
Helpful 26 - tire reviewed on November 19, 2013
Given 99% while driving a SEAT Toledo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 30 average miles
I've just brought a pair of GoodYears and the're FANTASTIC:

- low noise
- excellent grip
- outstanding quality
- great confort

Do I have to say more???
Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on September 30, 2013