Avon Ice Touring ST

The Avon Ice Touring ST is a Ultra High Performance Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 40 tire reviews averaging 81% over 292,536 miles driven, and 3 tests with an average result of 26th.

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 86%
Road Feedback 74%
Handling 72%
Wear 82%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 88%

The Ice Touring ST is ranked 34th of 43 Winter Ultra High Performance tires.

Tests Included

3

Best Result

19th

Worst Result

40th

Average Result

26th

Latest Tire Test Results

2015 Tire Tests

2013 Tire Tests

2012 Tire Tests

Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Avon Ice Touring ST

Questions and Answers for the Avon Ice Touring ST

2016-12-29 - What is the best pressure to run at on 205 50 R17?

Always go by the vehicle manufacturers pressure recommendation depending on loading. Sometimes winter tires can feel better with a little extra pressure in them, but it's important to monitor wear if you over inflate by more than 2psi.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon Ice Touring ST Reviews

Given 37% while driving a BMW 535d M Sport (225/55 R17 W) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
Had these for a second time, and were hugely disappointing. They are poor in snow (compared to Michelin Alpins), very poor in the wet, noisy (constant whine) and only OK in the dry. Worst of all, they vibrated, due to being not round. Had them checked over with a full road force balance - sure enough not round, but just within accepted tolerance. So 20,000 miles of vibration.

Replaced with Michelins, which are 1000 times better.
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on December 14, 2017
Given 50% while driving a Mercedes Benz E320 (225/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 20,000 easy going miles
I drive a 2003 (w211) E-class 3.2 Estate. First set of winter tires driven for 3 winters, but never seen snow! Compared with Michelin and Continental tires I felt very unsafe driving on the Avons. The car would skid in the dry and the wet, and I drive carefully so never really put them under stress. Just taken them off the car in March 17, having done 20k miles on them, and happily they are worn down. So won't re-purchase and can't recommend them. Fingers crossed will try Michelin Cross Climates next.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on March 18, 2017
Given 77% while driving a Vauxhall Vectra cdti (150) (215/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 30,000 average miles
I had these tires for 4 winters and then left them on the car last summer to 'use them up'. I found them absolutely fine in the dry but by the time they were below the winter tire depth limit they were poor in the wet. lasted at least 30,000 miles but only good for winter use for 4 winters and ~15,000 miles. I have replaced the with the new Avon winter tire WV7
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on December 2, 2016
Have you driven on the Avon Ice Touring ST tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon Ice Touring ST? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Avon Ice Touring ST >

Latest Avon Ice Touring ST Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Jaguar X Type 2.2D Estate (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 average miles
Put them on once max temp drops to around 8 (Oct/Nov) and take them off in spring when it gets to about the same (Mar/Apr). Only had to use them twice in snow, first time did a 3 point turn on top of Snake Pass - no drama, unlike Range Rover in front of me. Second time was on steep hill and got up backwards (fwd) after doing 3 point turn. Very impressive. Brilliant on roads with deep puddles - no steering twitch at all.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on February 1, 2015
Given 82% while driving a Rover 75 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 12 spirited miles
These tires really start to work when the temperature drops below about 8c the wet weather grip improves over normal tires.
On ice and snow the traction is much superior to normal tires but the wheels need to spinning a little for the tires to really work.

In dry warm conditions they feel a little "wobbly" compared to normal tires of the same size, so best kept for winter use only.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on January 29, 2015
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 86% while driving a Renault Megane R26 (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 10 spirited miles
Fantastic winter tires that are easily on par with much more expensive brands. Not as soft as most winter tires had the. On the rollers and didn't overheat so surprising.

Cope extremely well in all conditions from heavy snow/rain/damp cold and dry. Tend to get a bit hairy above 12c though so not to be used year round on a performance car.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on January 18, 2015
Given 80% while driving a Mazda (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
I've had these tires on for 12 months and have found them to be a very good all year round tire. In summer I have found that they grip surprisingly well when thrown into corners, I often forget that they aren't summer tires they are that good.
I found a lane near Buxton in the Peak district yesterday (Dale Head) with 3-4 inches of snow on it and the tires performed admirably despite going up and over a big hill. I expected some loss of grip going down the other side but it was as sure footed as a mountain goat.
I would Highly recommend them for all year round winter tires, I would score them higher but for the fact that I've never had any other brand of winter tire to compare them with.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on December 9, 2014
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 1.9Tdi (195/65 R15 T) on mostly country roads for 10 spirited miles
Fitted these tires to our VW Passat 1.9TDi auto saloon two years ago, have covered 10,000 miles in all weather without problem mostly on country lanes. They are my second experience of winter tires and they are a vast improvement over the Pirelli Cinturatos previously fitted. The wet grip is superb and inspires confidence. Performance in the snow or on ice is excellent and there is plenty of traction, there is very little of the sliding around you get with summer tires. I would say that there is not much "feel" from them however the car can be cornered fast on summer roads and you can only induce squeal at silly speeds but they cling on and do not break away. An excellent all round choice and so suited to our wet and cool roads.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on October 28, 2014
Given 67% while driving a Audi A4 1.9 TDI (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
NORTH WEST England. miles done 4000, from October 2013 to April 2014

cheap to buy 205/55/16
crap around corners above 12 degrees to be expected
crap on very wet grass no traction at all
Good dry and wet braking
No experience in snow or ice(mild winter), going in to storage for the summer.

So far I would still recommend them because there cheap but not terrible.
will report back next year if we do experience a proper winter, better safe than sorry to fit winter tires.
Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on April 8, 2014
Given 91% while driving a Volkswagen Golf MK5 1.6 FSI (205/55 R16 H) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
the best tire I've ever purchased! superb value for money. excellent and reliable grip on wet surfaces. safe in the snow and low temperatures. very quiet and comfortable.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on March 4, 2014
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Passat 2.0TDI (215/55 R16) on mostly motorways for 16,000 average miles
I've had these on for three winters now and though I should review my findings. These tires never seem to score well in group tests against the premium brands, probably because they're made in England.
I have found these to be excellent winter tires for the UK, they never aquaplane in deep water due to the wide block spacing and deep tread pattern. This year I went skiing in the Alps and tested these tires in proper Alpine conditions, even on steep roads covered in snow, ice and slush they gripped and braked well. With a gentle foot there was no traction control or ABS required. Hill starts in the same were no problem.
They can slip on normal roads under hard acceleration, but they are a winter tire so that is to be expected. They have also worn very slowly, at this rate they should last 30,000 miles before reaching 3 or 4mm at which point there is little point in using them despite still being legal.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on February 15, 2014
Given 89% while driving a Rover 75 2.0 cdti Tourer (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
I bought a set of 4 alloy wheels for my diesel Rover 75 Tourer on the web 5 years ago and shod them with Avon Ice Touring winter tires. I put them on from December until the end of March, thus saving wear on my "Summer" Tires.

They really came into their own last January when I was returning from Spain into France over the Pyrenees mountains via the 6000' Puymorens Pass near Andorra. I hit a heavy snow storm. The Rover's traction control and ABS worked overtime on the hairpin bends. Many car owners were struggling to fit chains and I passed a 4x4 Audi A7 which had spun off the road (low profile summer tires?). But I kept going.

Lesson? If you want to keep on the road in winter, invest in a set of Avon Ice Touring winter tires. Apart from the security and peace of mind they bring, they pay for themselves in the long term.
Helpful 17 - tire reviewed on November 9, 2013
Given 87% while driving a Ford Focus mk2 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 12,000 average miles
A truly excellent tire. I bought a set of 4 for my Ford Focus (front wheel drive)to use in the Alps during the winter season. We had lots of snow, and I never needed my chains. Awesome grip. The tires fling out the snow and present a fresh profile to the road surface on each turn. The compound remains soft in sub zero temperatures, and the tread is deep! I have just bought a Land Rover Freelander. I shall be putting the Avons on it for this winter. I chose the Avons because I'd bought the previous model of Avon snow tires for by BMW 730i, a rear wheel drive car. It impressed not only me but people who saw the Beemer go up some steep snow slopes. One person gawped at the car and asked me how I got up the slope ( to a local bar) without chains... it was the Avon tires! I'm surprised they are not at the top of the list.
Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on October 3, 2013
Given 100% while driving a Kia Motors Pro ceed (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Fantastic tires!

I should have written a review long ago.

We drove from Kent to Wales in the worst snow the UK has seen in decades!
Everyone we know said we wouldn't make it and we'd have to turn back; there was 2 feet of snow in some areas (not drift, that was fallen snow).

I was able to drive over the Brecon Beacons into Wales when the only other cars able to move were serious 4x4's such as Defenders and Landcruisers and one or two of those were in ditches. We were in a brand new front wheel drive Kia Pro-cee'd.

We spent a week touring Wales in heavy snow of several inches deep and very low temperatures and these tires were simply amazing.

I kept them on a spare set of wheels for winter use but you could run them all year round as they were very refined on good roads and great in the wet.
Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on August 15, 2013
Given 74% while driving a Mercedes Benz E280 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 4 average miles
Purchased these 2nd hand on a 2nd hand set of alloys for my E280. Off came my Continental Contact 2's and on went these Avons- still with 4-5 mm if tread. Dry road handling good and on a par to the Continentals. When the snow arrived a few days later, they were very good.
Lateral/sideways grip round bends - very sure footed.
Pull away/ rear wheel drive- minimal wheel spin.
Steering- confident with good feedback.
Braking- good grip, good feedback. Minimal ATC even on ice.
Noise- only marginally louder on dry roads.
Basically- massive improvement over a brand new sew set of Continental Contacts run last year in snow.
Tire pressures run at 36psi- 50kg in the boot same as last year.
Hope this helps.
-I may try T830 P's next depending on prices, but will swop winter/ summer tire sets.

Helpful 13 - tire reviewed on February 1, 2013