Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 Reviews - Page 3

Given 90% while driving a Ford RS (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Great tires on my RS best I've had on replaced cumos and handles great dry or wet and price is decent aswell for a tire made by conti
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 10, 2013
Given 50% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 JTD (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
As soon as these tires went on my car I noticed a big change, they went on the rear replacing a pair of PZeros. The rear end of the car felt like it was disconnected from the front, turn into a corner and instead of the rear feeling solid it felt disconnected and very soft. These tires have very soft sidewalls that are great when it comes to potholes but nothing else. In the wet they wander around too much, they do not inspire confidence. So I put them on the front, which improved matters however they are still not very nice though. The grip seems ok in the dry, but I've lost all feeling with the road, they kill any and all feedback. Go spend a couple more quid and get KU39s. I can't wait for another ~8000miles to pass and get some better tires.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 29, 2013
Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 17,000 spirited miles
I had these tires put on my car approximately 6 months ago. I do quite alot of miles to and from work every day and these tires have been fantastic. I have done some extensive research into this brand since buying these tires as I have been so impressed. I found that matador is a slovakian company (south east of germany) which was taken over by continental around 2008 and since then have been introduced to continental tire technology.even a number of the continental tires are produced from the matador factory. You can tell just from looking at the tire that these are not a cheap chinese tire and are infact a mid range quality tire. I could go on but take it from someone who knows what they are talking about.... these are a quality tire at a great price.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2013
Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
Given 100% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very happy with my MATADOR tires put on my st and wife's gti don't understand how anyone can fault them made by conti 95% as good and60% the price wil always put them on in the future anyone look at them quality easy to see 😀❤😀❤
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 21, 2013
Given 89% while driving a Toyota Avensis (215/45 R17 W) on mostly town for 8,000 average miles
nice tires and price IS ok.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 6, 2013
Given 30% while driving a BMW (215/40 R17) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
These are horriffic tires, I read the company is owned 51% by Continental but they are not made by continental, if you want cheap tires then buy these but in all honesty they are utter crap. I was hopefull and skint so bought some, why any of these other bright sparks on here bought them I don't know but they clearly have a poor education and have never used good tires. Learn from my mistakes and save your money, Ryman will sell rubber bands that will make better tires than these.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2013
Given 93% while driving a Ford S Max Titanium X Sport (225/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 17,000 average miles
Buy far a superior tire and made by continel I had a rep friend in tire industry for last 16 years he had them on his and his family's car so asked and he told me the best kept secret a good tire all round and great price for a quality mid range tire will be keeping them on my car for the future ..
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2013
Given 99% while driving a Saab Automobile 9 3 Vector Sport TiD 150 Saloon (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
This is the best budget brand used by me so far. Made by Continental in France. Very good grip on wet surfaces, on dry roads is excellent. For second time new pair of front tires was fitted on my Saab 9-3. Previous pair last 16 000 miles, which for my sporty stile of driving is more than enough. Rear tires are less than half way worn after these 16k miles. Simply cannot wish more from tire with such a good quality and priced usually around 65 pounds.
In the past used to use Barum as another brand from Continental family, but the difference is huge. Matador Hectorra2 is even better than more expensive Good Year tires used by me on my old Mazda 6.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 29, 2013
Given 96% while driving a Jaguar XF S (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 13,000 spirited miles
After my Jaguar dealer wanted to replace the worn rear tires after 27,000 miles with jaguar 'approved' Dunlop Sports at £300 each, I started to look for alternatives and my local dealer suggested Matador and quoted £153 (255/35 ZR20s) inc balancing, fitting and VAT. Was a bit nervous as I do tend to drive fairly quickly on a few sweeping country lanes on my journey to/from work, so didn't want cheap at the expense of death or injury! Did some research and found really helpful reviews here and that they are made by Continental but with the same compound, so I thought I'd risk a pair to replace the rear tires.

Needn't have worried - they felt great immediately, although some of the assurance down to new rubber but within a week they got a real test as snow and ice arrived. To me they seemed to be better than the Dunlops and coped admirably with icy surfaces (for a rear wheel drive).

I have been so pleased with them that when the front set needed replacing I got two more and now have all four corners sporting Matadors and can find no fault. The original rear set have done 14,000 miles and have plenty of tread left (I expected them to last half as long but I reckon they are going to do at least 25,000), which given my tendency to get away quickly with lots of power and torque in the Jag, is pretty decent performance - they may even last longer than the £300 Dunlops!

Until they become so good and popular that the prices go up and lose that advantage, they are now my tire of choice!
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 20, 2013
Given 100% while driving a Renault Megane RenaultSport Cup (225/45 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 9,000 spirited miles
Ive got nothing bad to say about these tires. Ive used them for Touring on my 2009 Megane convertible from Midlands UK to Monaco, very comfortable and minimal wear. I also use these on my Renault Sport Megane 225bhp and they are fantastic.
I usualy use Continental sport contact 3 on the Meg sport but decided to give them a go, and I wasnt disapointed. The level of grip is fantastic and unlike the continental they dont wear quickly. The wet grip is also really really good, can push the car hard and I dont get oversteer and very very minimal undesteer in the wet. I will use this tire on every car I have for as long as they are avaliable.

Against other mid range tires at the same price, these come out top. I can comapre these to Falkens which wear quickly, and Nexens which give massive understeer.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on January 15, 2013
Given 86% while driving a BMW 325i M Sport (265/30 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Excellent tire for the price, bought them apprehensively due to the cheap price but have been pleasantly surprised in the short time I have had them on the car. Side walls a little soft, but otherwise cannot fault them.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2012
Given 87% while driving a Volkswagen Touran sport TDi (225/45 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Coincidently bought them. I have Touran tdi sport with Pirelli P6000. When front one's wear off I ordered B'stone Turanza but it was delayed and guy at local tire shop showed me this Matador. Look at the thread design, that oozed quality. I was told its made by Conti's so with out any more thoughts I bought 2 front ones. It was a sensible choice. Car handling is improved a lot and much more confidence. My wife who drives it mostly have been liking them as road feedback is very good. I checked their website and they are owned by Conti's. Road noise is more then b'stone I have in 5 series but less then Pirelli. Wet handling and braking is second to none. It cost me £120 for 2 tires. Go and buy them. You will not go wrong. Don't waste money on anything more expensive.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2012