Matador MP 46 Hectorra 2 Reviews - Page 4

Given 93% while driving a Skoda Octavia (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
Pros:
- quiet
- superb anti-aquaplaning tire
- great wet handling
- good mpg
- tire wears very well

Cons: practically none.

Comments:

Great tire, sub brand of Continental from what I know/have been told. It is superb in the wet - I have done some tests and I have never felt out of control. This was fortuitous, as in the dark I hit a deep road-wide puddle at 60-65mph and besides the shock of hitting this, I quickly had control of the car. I cannot comment on whether I aquaplaned in that instance, but when I hit the brakes the car responded and didn't feel like any other time I know I aquaplaned.

The first 10k miles on the front and the tires had a lot of tread - then I replaced the tie rod ends, scrubbed the tires taking it to get re-aligned and ended up losing a bunch of mms so the last 5k I have been driving like a lunatic - pushing the limits as the replacements are ordered. I generally drive fast, but the last 5k has been an attempt to wear tires. I know they would have hit 20-25k on the front, as currently they are still legal and I have been trying to ruin them.

I'd like a little more feedback from the tire, but to be fair these are as good as any I have driven. I know when they are about to let up and they behave well in understeer on a corner etc... I think in 15k + miles I have experienced 1 instance of ABS when braking very hard, which is amazing as on the previous yoke (Focus w/k415 hankooks) I had slid a few times over their duration. Furthermore, the previous set of cheap Perillis on the Focus were ditch finders... Real skid pan stuff...

I am changing my tire at the front to a Hankook Ventus Prime 2 as camskill don't have the Matador in stock, I want to try another highly rated tire and I like change. If they suck the pristine Matadors on the rear will be going on the front.

Hope this ramble helps. Mike
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2012
Given 100% while driving a Vauxhall Corsa Sxi (215/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
These tires are amazing! Had 2 of these baby's put on the front of my 1.4 sxi corsa having previously read the reviews on here and OMG!! The grip is amazing dry or wet... It literally feels like a go cart! Highly recommend these to anyone! Great price too!
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 12, 2012
Given 87% while driving a Ford Mondeo (215/45 R17 V) on mostly country roads for 16,000 spirited miles
After an almost new Continental tire was ruined by a pot-hole, I decided I was no longer going to spend £125 per tire. With a little research I found out about the Matador brand. I was instantly interested because the circumferentially grooved pattern (much like the Contis) lends itself well to quiet running and water clearance.
I fitted a pair which cost £56 each on offer from Camskill. I was instantly impressed and resolved to promptly buy another pair for the back.
I am a keen driver, my hobby is race driving, which I hope lends credability to my assertion that these tires are as good if not better than Conti Sport Contact 3s.
I fit and balance my tires myself. These required only 50 or 60 grammes per wheel to balance- a sign of a quality tire
They are as smooth and quiet as the continentals
Dry and wet grip is as good as the continentals
Puncture and bulge resistance is better than the continentals
Also, over the 16,000 miles I have used them I have found them to be more durable than the Continentals, and they are still performing now the fronts are down to 3mm.
Highly Recommended.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 22, 2012
Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 90% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 JTD (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 6,500 average miles
I purchased these tires after reading the reviews on this website.
Approx 6,000 miles later, these tires have been great they appear to be hard wearing.

They grip well in wet weather and dry weather, however I would say they exceeded my expectations in wet weather conditions.

Excellent tire for the money, and I will be purchasing these again
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 15, 2012
Given 89% while driving a Ford Focus ST (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Excellent tire for a good price. Spent ages looking for something that was not expensive but highly rated and I have to say that they are brilliant. The car came with avon zz3's on it but after a few weeks went out of shape and very noisy. With these the car is very quiet, comfortable and handles much better.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 12, 2012
Given 94% while driving a Honda Accord (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 800 average miles
Absolutely superb tires. Got them several days ago and so far it is just the best of everything I had before. Very stable on high speeds, silent, comfortable and actually not expensive. Definitely best choice if you are looking for best price/performance.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 4, 2012
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 206 GTI 180 (205/40 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
Went from continentals to goodyear to toyos now on the matadors, and im simply going to say, its the last time i will change, they are simply excellent on my 206 GTI 180 with modifications to nearly 200bhp
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on March 19, 2012
Given 86% while driving a Mazda 6 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 1,000 easy going miles
I have bought these tires before 15 days for 400€. So with few km on my car I could say that tires are quite enough and very good grip in wet and of cource in dry conditions. Very comfartable to. After 30.000 more reliable opinion.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 31, 2011
Given 91% while driving a Volvo S40 D5 180BHP (205/50 R17) on mostly country roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Great Tire, was tough to decide wheather or not to move from directional to these but I am certainly converted now. Prob won't move from these for a long time. Better than Federal, Nangkahn, Sunny's, budget range tires. Matador are made by continental.
BUY BUY BUY..
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 28, 2011
Given 90% while driving a SEAT Altea (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Having read all there is to read about these tires I decided to give them a go and I can not rate them highly enough they are fantastic value for money. I suffered with high road noise with the previos dunlop tires and this has improved greatly. They have good grip in all conditions better than the Dunlops and the previous set which were Bridgestone. They are made by continental as a budget brand but they are excellent tires.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on September 17, 2011
Given 93% while driving a Audi S3 (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
These are very good tires. I fitted 4 to an S3.

I have the extra load (XL) version because of the relative weight of the Audi, and together with such a low profile (40) it helps to keep the side-wall rigid under hard cornering.

The tires themselves I purchased online for about £75 each and I was chuffed with how they looked (?) I know that's meaningless but they look and feel like a quality product. Matador is owned by Continental and it shows in the quality of construction.

My reasoning for choosing this tire was that because the car was made in 2002 it wasn't worth spending extra on the very best tires available today (i.e. conti SC) as it wasn't designed with them in mind. This is a mid to high range tire and really fits the characteristics of the car, there isn't much more grip to be had, any more and on-road handling would simply become unprogressive and snappy at the limit.

Performance wise I can't fault much, the new tires replaced well worn Yokohama Parada 2's and Pirelli P Zeros, the Yokohamas gave a little more grip in very hot conditions but were dangerous in the wet. I'm glad I chose this tire.
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2011
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Touran sport TDi (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 20,000 spirited miles
They are basically an unbranded continental tire. Made in the same factory, same design, construction, tread pattern, materials etc, the only difference being the laminate on the side bears a different name. Cant rate them enough as a budget alternative, shop around and get a bargain £60 each fitted for 205/55/16
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on May 3, 2011