Michelin Primacy 4 Reviews - Page 2

Given 81% while driving a Alfa Romeo 147 (215/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 14,000 spirited miles
I had a pair of these on a,n Alfa 147 with a pair of Michelin pilot sport 4 on the other axle. The grip is lacking slightly compared to the sports, I did have to swap the axles as I had the grippy pilots on the front originally, a couple of slides around a tight bend later I swapped the grippy tires to the rear! Wear on the primacy 4is far superior however, quite spirited driving up and down twisty mountain roads has seen to the pilots after just 8500 miles whilst the primacy still showing around 3 mm with 14000 miles, both tires are good in the wet although the pilots definitely excel more. Comfort on either tire is good and road noise is less than engine noise so can’t complain. Handling is more than adequate earning me a chat with the rozzers one day, he was upset that I drove up the mountain faster than he could so informed me I was driving too fast for the conditions, how that was as I remained in my lane all the way up and he was using both lanes to try and keep up I’m not quite sure
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on January 29, 2022
Given 87% while driving a Suzuki SX4 1.6 LITRE PETROL (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 200 average miles
Great tires. First and foremost the grip is incredible in both dry and wet. Very comfortable ride, the tires absorb small bumps and road imperfections very well, made the car much more comfortable. Much quieter than anything else I had on this car (Toyo's and Dunlop's). The car doesn't feel "floaty" at all like others have reviewed, but the tires are very comfort oriented so the sidewall and tread are soft and so the tire feels a bit vague under aggressive cornering. It doesn't mean that they lack grip, just that the steering wheel feels a bit vague and not direct. So if you are looking for a sporty and direct tire look for something else. As I said there's plenty of grip and the tires feel quite progressive at the limit, there's plenty of warning before they completely "let go".
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on January 28, 2022
Given 90% while driving a Mercedes Benz 2010 W204 C180 Kompressor (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 51 average miles
81,810-km on a single set of tires. They're great in the wet and even better in the dry. Quiet, comfortable, yet precise, responsive, and amazing value for money. Changed the old set out just as the wear bars are level with the tread surface. Awesome tires for use in Singapore and Malaysian highways and trunk roads. I'm wondering how Michelin is going to outdo Primacy 4 with e.Primacy.
Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on January 22, 2022
Want your tires to save you money on petrol? Click here!
Given 100% while driving a Audi A3 1.8T sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 6,500 spirited miles
11/10 Tire, I'm amazed by it, performs incredbily well, very nice feedback from the road, never slipped in heavy rain conditions, not noisy at all and they are also one of the longest lasting tires in this class. Would always buy again.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on December 7, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Volkswagen Passat B6 (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 71,000 easy going miles
VW Passat 1.6 Estate '64 plate, changed front tires at 35k miles, then changed all 4 at 71k, (so the rears had done 71k, amazing), hence the '10' rating for 'tires lasting', mainly motorway (often with Daxara 198 trailer and getting 65mpg) & town commuting mileage
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on November 27, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Mercedes Benz CLK 270 CDI (225/50 R16) on mostly motorways for 20,000 spirited miles
Just very good grip in every condition, except in snow, where rhey dont work at all. Really linear and good grip, far from a pilot sport 4. Normal fuel consumption and really low noise levels, really confortablw over bumps. All in all the most confortable tires i have used. They did not work good on dry track, but were very fun in wet track.
Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on November 23, 2021
Given 86% while driving a Toyota Corolla Altis (195/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
It’s a good tire for normal driving, which we do 95% of our driving. Its grippy both dry and wet, it’s soft & comfortable , it’s quite, low rolling resistance and excellent feedback. Again, I’m saying this as I drive normally i.e. daily commuting and occasionally interstate. Don’t be fooled by negative reviews by some drivers who are used to PS4/Potenzas and other UHP tires. They drove at insane speeds and expect this touring tire to have same level of performance. They are just posers.
Helpful 10 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2021
Given 60% while driving a Honda Accord (195/65 R15) on mostly country roads for 8,700 average miles
Comfortable and quiet tire. Decent roadholding and grip on dry and wet. Even on wet tarmac and temperatures as low as 5 degrees Celsius, the grip is fine. Handling and steering response is not as good as some performance-oriented tires ( Bridgestone is much better here). The worst thing is excessive wear ! After only 8700 miles ( 14 000 km ) front tires were worn to the 4mm, and rear to the 5mm. That is terrible short life for a regular non-performance tire. Previous Energy Saver + had to be driven for 40.000 km to wear off to 4mm. How I see now this Primacy 4 will turn into slicks before they reach 30.000 km. They are definitely NOT that improvement in performance, and do not justify longevity ( shortevity, better say) with better acting on the road (comparing to Energy Saver, or Turanza ER300).
Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 16, 2021
Given 94% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 21,000 spirited miles
I bought these tires in May 2019. If I remember correctly, Michelin advertised them to last 20,000 miles. At the moment of writing, November 2021, I have driven 21,000 miles with them and have less than 2 mm tread left on all 4 tires. Right now, I can feel they are at the end of their life. :D The performance of the tires was really good on both dry and wet surfaces. I used them mostly on UK's roads, but also took a trip around Europe with them for around 5,000 miles.
Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2021
Given 70% while driving a Hyundai i30 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 18,000 average miles
Pros: Wear - I have this tires for 30,000km before having to replace them due to puncture. I reckon they can go at least another 10-20k km more. Driving style is 70% highway and 30% city. Comfort - Tires soak up imperfections on the road well and are relatively quiet. It start to get noisier at around 20,000km Cons: Wished the aquaplaning resistance is better especially when there is water pooled at the side of the road. Anything faster than ~80km/hr and you will feel it. Struggle for traction especially when the road is wet and you need to exit a slip road slightly faster. Overall: Good comfortable tires for those who drives leisurely. If you want some dynamic better to explore other tires in the market
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on October 12, 2021
Given 97% while driving a Peugeot 2008 (2021) (215/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
Excellent tire for a compact SUV and other smaller vehicles. Exceptional handling on occasional wet roads in summer. Dry surface, absolutely no complaint there. Great looking tires, quiet as well. Awesome traction for braking. My go-to tire for replacement in the future.
Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on October 1, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Subaru Impreza (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 7,500 spirited miles
So I'm not comparing these to sports tires, but to eco touring tires. The Primacy 4's feel really sticky. Not slippery at all. The grip is great, also in the corner. Compared to regular touring tires this feels almost like a performance tire. It’s a premium touring three season tire that has fantastic grip. The supposed side wall deflection I sometimes read about is really, really not an issue for me. The steering feels a bit heavier, but in a good way. It for sure feels very secure in curvy mountain roads and curvy asphalt down hills. Much more secure in faster turning. I feel like I'm glued to the road going up to our house over curvy steep mountain roads here in Japan. My car does have a relatively low centre of gravity with a (underpowered) boxer engine. I feel the Primacy 4's are good to use till 5C. You'll not be as secure as in spring, the rubber compound will get a bit harder, but still usable.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on September 29, 2021