Nankang Sportnex AS2+

The Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus is a Ultra High Performance Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Nankang AS2.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 87%
Wet Grip 65%
Road Feedback 77%
Handling 71%
Wear 66%
Comfort 69%
Buy again 67%

Tire review data from 15 tire reviews averaging 72% over 91,210 miles driven.

The Sportnex AS2+ is ranked 80th of 129 Summer Ultra High Performance tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tire Test - 7th of 8 tires

  • Positive - Mostly safe in the wet, with an understeer balance, excellent aquaplaning resistance.
  • Negative - No sporty driving with sluggish inaccurate steering and poor grip. Relatively long braking distances and weak cornering grip in the wet.
  • Overall - The low cost SportNex AS2+ just shines in aquaplaning resistance.
View Full Test >>

2019 Swedish Summer Tire Test - 13th of 13 tires

  • Positive - None mentioned.
  • Negative - Poor dry and wet grip, high rolling resistance.
View Full Test >>

2019 Summer 53 Tire Braking Shootout - 39th of 45 tires

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

Questions and Answers for the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus

2019-06-05 - Are the 265/30 20 runflats?

Your chosen tire retailer will be able to indicate whether the size of the Nankang Sportnex AS2+ will be runflat or not, as run flat models are tire size dependant.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

Given 46% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (205/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 8,000 miles
These tires are made from recycled banana skins treated with a generous amount of grease. In the dry they are fine. But if the road is slightly damp you would be safer dressed all in black trying to walk across eight lanes of the M25 at midnight whilst wearing a blindfold. The ABS kicks in whilst braking gently and traction control is regularly activated in 2nd gear if attempting to accelerate at any speed greater than the acceleration of your average snail.
Aquaplaning - I was aware of this phenomenon but had never experienced it in over 20 years of driving until I had these, now I can aquaplane with the best of them. In rain the car handles worse than Bambi trying to navigate a glacier after ten vodka red bulls. Yes, I know they are advertised as a summer tire, but unfortunately I had no choice in this tire purchase. If you live in an area where it never rains and the temperature never drops below 20 degrees then this is the ideal tire for you. But if you live in the U.K. and value your life then do not buy these tires. If you are a fleet manager purchasing tires for Sun, Daily Mail journalists or Piers Morgan then get your cheque book out immediately.
87 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2017   
Given 99% while driving a Volkswagen Scirocco 2.0 TSI 210hp (235/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
The review below made by the guy who used 205/65R17 on his Mondeo is very misleading. The AS-2+ product doesn't include this exact size in the size range, and the size doesn't fit correctly on Mondeo either!

According to the dealer where I replaced tires, the nankang tire is tested in European proving grounds to live up to the European tires standards, and as-2 plus is also certified by TUV SUD in Germany.

From my first experience of the tires, it works unexpectedly well on wet road. Even if driving on motorway at high speed, the tires offer stable control through water at ease. The way how tires fit on the 18" rims looks nice as well. Would recommend to friends.



24 - tire reviewed on June 23, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 3,000 average miles
Bought these as I was looking for something mid range and mid price. Have read some good and bad reviews. Fitted them to my Octavia VRs on the front around 3000 miles ago. Have driven through the winter in the wet and ice and I can say they have behaved impeccably There's plenty of feed back and not once have they felt as if there was a loss of grip. In the dry they grip well also and even when driving spiritedly there's very little scrubbing. They are quiet compared to the Michelins that came off and so far wear seem reasonable. I will probably get 2 for the rear when needed.
11 - tire reviewed on April 16, 2017   
Have you driven on the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus >

Latest Nankang Sportnex AS2 Plus Reviews

Given 86% while driving a Audi A5 2.0TFSI Quattro (265/30 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 30,000 spirited miles
Size: 265/30/20 I’m not one to usually post reviews but after seeing the amount of negative reviews the nankangs are recieving, I had to tell you about my extremely positive experience. Honestly, these tires are some of the best value for money / performance you can buy. I own a Audi A5 (Quattro) and the tires perform brilliantly in wet, dry, summer and winter. Handling and feedback is very good, economy as well. I put four new ones on my car for £400.00 (£100.00 each) and got 30,000 miles out of the front pair. The backs will need replacing soon (I expect about 34,000 miles). Given they ‘cheapest’ premium tire (Dunlop/Mitchelin/Conti) will set you back £220.00 per tire, you really cannot complain for the performance and wear on the nankangs. I have to question some of these reviews about their performance, any tire will slip in the wet if you’re driving like an idiot. Says more about your poor driving! If you’re debating getting these tires, I cannot recommend them highly enough - new pair on order as I’m writing this!
6 - tire reviewed on December 24, 2020   
Given 83% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (265/35 R18) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Driving a Mercedes w212 3.0d sport by far a superior tire to the continental mo tires I had previously, purchased them at half the price of the the originals as the Conti's didn't like potholes. Far better in the wet only time will tell how they wear.
6 - tire reviewed on September 21, 2020   
Want the best performance tire? Click here!
Given 55% while driving a BMW 1 series 2.0l Diesel (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Lethal in wet! Driftlube (rain) = waves the back end like a dog in every corner and roundabouts
3 - tire reviewed on June 29, 2020   
Given 87% while driving a Peugeot 308 sw 1.6 hdi (225/40 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 10,000 average miles
Buy a set of four for my Peugeot 308 sw. They handle quite well in dry and wet . Its a very rigid tire because is a very low profile tire. Altough it gives excelent feedback to the stering wheel. Worns very fast . Definitly buy again
2 - tire reviewed on June 17, 2020   
Given 43% while driving a Audi A7 3.0TDi Auto (265/35 R20 W) on a combination of roads for 0 average miles
I bought the car with these tires already on it (although have driven the same model with a different brand tire). Due to these being on the car when I purchased it, I cannot say what milage is on them. These have good grip in the dry but aren't good in the went, and despite the 4 wheel drive they like to skid a bit without trying! Road noise is also very noticeable. Won't be buying these!
3 - tire reviewed on February 23, 2020   
Given 85% while driving a Mercedes Benz E350 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 600 spirited miles
No issues, great in wet, can take power from heavy right foot. Great price. Not sure why some users have had such a bad experience.
6 - tire reviewed on December 26, 2019   
Given 83% while driving a Nissan Pulsar (205/50 R17 V) on for 8,000 miles
Bought these to replace Continental Sport Contact 5s and they are a much better tire all round, Dry grip is improved around bends although setting off quickly they aren't as good but its not night and day. Wet grip is greatly improved over the conti's I feel confident going into bends knowing the tire will go where I want it to. In terms of wear I have done 8k on them so far the fronts have 4.8mm and the rears are on 6.2mm so I think they are wearing quite well. I would purchase again or an equivalent all season tire from Nankang.
2 - tire reviewed on October 15, 2019   
Given 43% while driving a Volkswagen Golf R estate (235/35 R19 W) on a combination of roads for 150 spirited miles
These were fitted after trying some of Nankang's track tires (NS-2R) on a different car which I thought were excellent. I thought it was only fair to give some if their UHP road tires a go.

They've been on for a week and they're coming off already. Never before have I experienced a tire that has changed the characteristics of a car so much (for the worse).

To start with they weigh a ton which was never going to be a good start. They make the car feel like I’ve fitted run flats. But the real change is in the precision and feedback from the steering which has just vanished. Turn in is vague. The accuracy around the straight ahead is woolly at best and as you increase steering angle they weight up hideously. All confidence in the front end has gone and I'm going round corners noticeably slower than I was on the Contis as I simply haven't got a clue/don't trust what's going on underneath me.

Add to that every tiny imperfection in the road is transmitted to the cabin making for a less comfortable and more fidgety ride. Some people will say that's feedback, but premium tires somehow seem to give you what you need and filter out the rest. These just send absolutely everything to the steering wheel and your backside.

I haven’t even driven them in the rain. I can’t be bothered to wait for some. They’ve ruined a brilliant car and on that basis alone they're coming off.

Are they dangerous? I wouldn't go that far. If you have no interest in driving and only ever buy budget tires then you're not going to notice their dynamic shortcomings. Nankang should also be applauded on their Road Hazard Lifetime Tire Warranty where they'll replace the tire on a sliding discount scale (excluding fitting and disposal) dependent on how much tread is left on your non-repairable tire. However for anybody that possesses sensory receptors in their fingers and backside, these are going to fall a long way short.

I never expected the AS-2+ to stand up to the CSC6, but I didn't expect them to be this far off either.
0 - tire reviewed on May 18, 2019   
Given 56% while driving a Ford Mondeo estate (225/40 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 9,960 average miles
Purchased these tires in January 2018 for my Ford Mondeo ST TDCi Estate. They replaced my previous tires (Avons) which had lasted for 17,000mls and we were recommended these Nankangs as a good performance tire which would easily last as long as the Avons. It is now October 2018 and we have just had the MOT and the tester has put an advisory that all 4 tires are on the 1.6mm warning markers.. The milage from fitting in January to the Advisory is 9,960mls. I have never had a set of tires which have lasted so poorly even the Pirelli P Zero's notorious for wearing quickly gave me 16,000mls. I have no issues with the tires on the road perfomance wet or dry they aquitted themselves just fine and in fact the wear is perfectly even on the tires with little shoulder wear which is usual on these vehicles. But the fact is they have work to UK Minimum in under 10,000mls which I feel is very poor and I would never buy again.
0 - tire reviewed on October 27, 2018   
Given 78% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (225/45 R18 W) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Seems to be really good tires in the dry and wet with no lose of grip. I do find them a bit noisy compared with my previous tires but i would still buy them again. Can't comment on wear as haven't had them long.
7 - tire reviewed on August 6, 2018   
Given 86% while driving a Honda Accord Tourer (225/40 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,500 average miles
I used to have Bridgestone Potenzas before and I replaced them with Nankang's. I have had Nankang's before and I wasn't very happy with them. These Sportnex AS+ instead are very good value for money. Very comfortable and quiet tires (especially compared to Potenzas). The wet grip has also much more better than in other Chinese tires I used to have. My opinion is that for normal road use these tires are very good choice. Unofotunately I drove only 5000 km's before I sold tires with car but will defintely consider to buy these again.
5 - tire reviewed on February 28, 2018