Goodyear OptiGrip

The Goodyear OptiGrip is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 74%
Wet Grip 83%
Road Feedback 66%
Handling 71%
Wear 71%
Comfort 66%
Buy again 67%

Tire review data from 16 tire reviews averaging 71% over 208,500 miles driven.

The OptiGrip is ranked 91st of 135 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2012 European Summer Tire Test - 205/55 R16 - 2nd of 14 tires

  • Positive - Very well balanced tire, very low wear
View Full Test >>

2010 Autocar Tire Test - FWD - 4th of 6 tires

View Full Test >>

2009 AMS Summer and Winter Tire Test - Summer - 2nd of 6 tires

View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Goodyear OptiGrip
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Goodyear OptiGrip. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Have you driven on the Goodyear OptiGrip tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Goodyear OptiGrip? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Goodyear OptiGrip >

Latest Goodyear OptiGrip Reviews

Given 80% while driving a Skoda Octavia estate (225/45 R17) on mostly town for 30,000 average miles
I fitted 4 of this on my Skoda octavia in December 2011 and have driven 30,000 miles since. I have just gone to change 2 of them today because of damaged side wall and nail puncture. The remaining 2 have about 5mm thread depth left. I think the wear and tear all depends on driving style. If you slow down your car in good time by changing down the gears; not speeding fast towards a traffic light will prolong the life of the tires. Road noise was very terrible at some points on M25
1 - tire reviewed on May 6, 2016   
Given 36% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
10000 km and the tires are so loud I had to change them. I am so disapointed with them I'll never buy Good Year again. Dry grip is good, wet grip good but overall the tire is worse-buy. When I changed the winter tires/rims and put on summer tires/rims the noise was so loud I went to my mechanic to ask him to verify/change my bearings. The bearings were fine. The loudest noise is at 40-50 km/h. The wear on the both sides of each front and back tire looked like the saw teeth. The mechanic checked the weels orientation and it was OK. winter tires wear even after 20000+ km. Today I bouth new tires and my car is quiet again. The worse way to spend 100 euro/tire.
0 - tire reviewed on March 30, 2014   
Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
Given 64% while driving a Citro├źn C4 (205/50 R17 W) on mostly town for 15,000 average miles
at the moment (For a few days) I have one of these at the front nearside and another type of tire on the front offside. It is noticeable that the road noise is much louder from the nearside. There was one of these on the front offside until a few days ago when it failed MOT due to cracked side walls.
The side walls have cracked on both fronts after 1 year and 15000 miles, with 3.8mm tread left. Goodyear have agreed to take it back to investigate under their 5 year warranty.
0 - tire reviewed on September 18, 2013   
Given 77% while driving a Volvo V70 2.4 (205/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Absolutely superb tires in the wet. I've now done approx. 5000 miles on these, and with the exception of the first 250 miles or so (I've seen a few complaints about initial grip - they do take a while to bed-in), the wet grip has been pretty much constant since I got them. The 'tread gets wider as the tire wears' design really does seem to work.

The drawback is the dry performance. Grip levels are OK (though not up to my previous Vredestein Sportracs), but there's not a huge amount of feedback from them, and if you push hard it feels like the tread is squirming around a bit on the road surface. They never feel unsafe though, and I've not had a single 'moment' with them, even with some fairly enthusiastic driving.

Overall a great tire for all-round use, though with the bias firmly towards wet performance, which is exactly what you want in a big lardy old barge of a car with a torquey engine, like I've got. I'd hesitate to recommend them if you've got a more sporty car that you like slinging round bends in the dry, as there are definitely better tires for that, but if you want something for general touring / commuting use all year round, they should definitely be high on your list. They are also (at least in my size) considerably cheaper than Conti Premium Contacts (which I've yet to try, but tend to rate even higher than the Optigrips).
0 - tire reviewed on October 26, 2012   
Given 94% while driving a Rover 75 (225/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 50,000 average miles
I was very happy with Dunlop SP Sport Maxx tires however on switching to the Goodyears, the wear and wet grip are fantastic. Highly recommended.
6 - tire reviewed on May 23, 2012   
Given 31% while driving a Audi A6 2.5 TDI Quattro (205/55 R16 H) on mostly motorways for 25,000 average miles
terrible tires, especially on wet!!!
0 - tire reviewed on December 25, 2011   
Given 90% while driving a Volvo V70 2,4D Automatic (225/50 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
Nice tires. Replaced my OEM Michelins with them. No complaints whatsoever. Particularly the wet grip is exceptional. Wery good for Scandinavian weather, where it can suudenly rain heaps. So far very good wear. I've had the front ones for two summers now and the back ones for a summer. No visible difference between them. Quiet, comfortable, steady and predictable performance. All in all a good buy.
0 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2011   
Given 73% while driving a Volvo v70 D5 (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 average miles
These are very good in the wet but there is a compromise in the performance in the dry, especially when it is hot. I had thought that with a broader tread pattern they might be good in the snow as well but fared no better than any other summer tire last winter.
0 - tire reviewed on August 1, 2011   
Given 84% while driving a Renault Laguna 1.9 dCI (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
exellent grip in the wet, road noise was quieter than previous p6000's not as impressed with them in the snow (though to be fair conditions were pretty bad )tire wear is good 5000 so far using 2mm of rubber on front should be good for arround 17000 before renewal,would recomend.
0 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2011   
Given 49% while driving a Ford Mondeo (205/55 R16 V) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I bought these tires as a replacement for the Continental Premium Contact I had used for 50K miles. I looked at the various reviews on line and the Optigrip seemed to fit the bill. However, I have been disappointed with them.
Initially the overall grip was really poor but this improved somewhat after about 1000 miles. It has continued to improve a little to the 5000 miles I am now.
The ride is smoother and you feel the bumps and potholes less than the Contis, but the road noise is loud and wearing especially on long journeys.Some road surfaces make it sound as if a bearing has gone! It hasn't.
The Contis had a presicion and accuracy when cornering. The Optigrips seem to float and wander round. The grip in the dry is not as good and the grip in the wet is a little less. But because of the lack of feel it seems worse. In the recent snow they performed quite well.
Wear is ok but not as good as the Contis.
Don't get me wrong, these tires are not unsafe but I think there are much better tires available for the money.If you drive briskly or do long journeys - get something else.
0 - tire reviewed on February 11, 2011   
Given 88% while driving a Audi A3 2.0 TDI 140 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
Seem like a great tire, they're last a long time, I've had these for around 15 months and I've still got 3mm of tread left on the fronts and 5mm on the rear. No complaints with the traction, I can spin the wheels in the dry a little more now than when they were new (I don't make a habit of it!). No issues with wet weather either, had to perform an emergency stop last month down a country lane when the driver infront piled on the breaks because of a large puddle! (twit)
0 - tire reviewed on September 6, 2010   
Given 76% while driving a Mazda 6 Series (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 16,000 spirited miles
Okay, Final feedback from my previous mazda 6 report. Car now sitting at 36K and need to change these optigrip tires. Done me well over 1 1/4 with about 16k mile son the clock (from what I can remember from initial review as I cannot reaccess the full review from this website).

Would recommend them again.
0 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2010