Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905

The Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 is a Premium Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V906.

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 90%
Road Feedback 89%
Handling 89%
Wear 78%
Comfort 84%
Buy again 87%
Snow Grip 93%
Ice Grip 86%

Tire review data from 12 tire reviews averaging 88% over 99,330 miles driven.

The BluEarth Winter V905 is ranked 10th of 65 Winter Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2020 Winter Tire Market Overview - 52 Tire Braking Test - 22nd of 49 tires

View Full Test >>

2019 Winter Tire Test Market Overview - 20th of 47 tires

View Full Test >>

2019 Auto Center Winter Tire Test - 8th of 10 tires

  • Positive - Good wet and dry handling, short wet braking distances.
  • Negative - Poor ice braking and handling, high fuel use.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tire Tests

  • 22nd: 2020 Winter Tire Market Overview - 52 Tire Braking Test (245/45 R18)
  • 2019 Tire Tests

  • 8th: 2019 Auto Center Winter Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • 14th: 2019 Auto Bild Winter 17 inch Tire Test (225/45 R17)
  • 20th: 2019 Winter Tire Test Market Overview (225/45 R17)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 11th: 2018 ADAC Winter Tire Test - 205/55 R16 (205/55 R16)
  • 15th: 2018 Auto Bild Winter Tire Test (195/65 R15)
  • 20th: 2018 51 Winter Tire Shootout (195/65 R15)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Size Price Range  
    235/50 R18 $211.99 - $211.99 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    245/40 R18 $215.96 - $215.96 (1 Prices) Compare Prices >>
    Available in 34 tire sizes - View all.

    Top 3 Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 Reviews

    Given 98% while driving a Mazda 626 (195/60 R15 T) on a combination of roads for 500 average miles
    Great winter tires, on dry these Yokohamas are like summer tires, grip is excellent. On wet there is no problem, even a few cm of water was not a big deal but that was not with highway speed, up to 80kmph. Snow traction is great, no problem in deep snow but I had only one trip on snow in town so it is hard to say how good they are on snow.
    They are comfortable, but should be better. Will buy again definitelly.
    Thread pattern is similar to Continental, but I like this one more :D.
    Helpful 121 - tire reviewed on March 19, 2018
    Given 61% while driving a (235/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 3,730 average miles
    I just put them on my car, I have 2 winters in fact, so I am starting my third and my tires are due to be changed soon...I do 60 km/day 5 days a week that's all...I am really disappointed with the longevity, they are also noisy, as for the rest they did the job, but I will not buy this product again
    Helpful 16 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2023
    Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Freelander TD4 (BMW M47R) (195/80 R15) on a combination of roads for 5,000 easy going miles
    I mostly drive on motorways (70%) but also a fair bit on B-roads and in the city. These are the first winter tires my car has ever had (19 years on all-seasons only). I have no real comparison with other winter tires, although I have used them on other cars (FWD as opposed to my Freelander which is AWD). Ever though, I am very impressed with snow grip and handling of the Yokohamas. I can plough through deep snow, corner a snowy road as if it was dry tarmac and brake confidently. Dry grip is also excellent, I'd even say far better than the all-season Cooper Discoverer AT3s I used to have. All in all I am very pleased with the tires and would recommend them to anyone who does regular winter trips as I do. The only downside is the tire noise, which to me seems a bit excessive - specially around 80 km/h (50 mph). Can't speak of wear just yet.
    Helpful 23 - tire reviewed on November 23, 2022
    Have you driven on the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 >

    Latest Yokohama BluEarth Winter V905 Reviews

    Given 80% while driving a Ford Mondeo TDCI (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 9,600 spirited miles
    Overall very pleased with the tire. Coming from Michelin Pilot Alpin 5 you notice the difference but it is still good handling. I felt alot of understeer when the roads are wet and temperature are high but which is not were winter tires excel. I did not have the chance to drive those tires in the snow. Sadly they did not last long on the front of my car, unlike the Michelin. The price is well placed but when you compare €/milage, in my testing Michelin is more interesting.
    Helpful 21 - tire reviewed on December 28, 2021
    Given 90% while driving a Suzuki SX4 Scross 1.4T Boosterjet (215/60 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    This tires are solid! got them from the dealership together with the car. It's been two years now (two winters) and cca 20-25k km. I have nothing bad to say about them. On dry - good, on snow - good, on wet - good. on slipery blob when snow starts to melt - they are good-ish. And that is the only bad thing I have to say about them. BUT, keep in mind they are stil trustworthy and I can recommend them to anyone. I have 4x4 SUV, and the tires didn't get no mercy.
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on October 26, 2021
    What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
    Given 84% while driving a Audi A6 Avant 3.0 TDI Quattro (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
    It's a very good tire, I use to have it on my previous car as well. It excelsd on dry a wet roads, good road feedback, maybe little bit more rolling resistance but that's acceptable for winter tire surely. For about a 95EUR/piece and the place I live (Czech Republic) is definitely one of the best choice. If you live in the mountains, you better go for the tire which excels in driving in the snow and on the ice but that's what I do not need actually.
    Helpful 22 - tire reviewed on January 13, 2021
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 330D Touring (255/40 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Have run these tires on two different cars over winter for the last 4 years. The first set on a Honda Civic Type R in 205/45 R17 and the second set on a BMW F31 330 Touring in 255/40 R18 These tires are simply incredible! The levels of grip they give when the road surface temp gets below 6 degrees C is almost on par with summer tires. I have absolute confidence in the ability to stop and turn the car as and when required on slippery and frozen surfaces. Have taken the BMW into the French and Swiss alps a number of times and absolutely no drama, even when other cars are stopping to put on snow chains over alpine passes with fresh snow, and my BMW is rear wheel drive so notoriously bad in these conditions with normal tires on. The Honda has also done really well with these tires and with a front to back rotation we have got 20,000 miles out of a set of these tires, and the Type R is pretty hard on front tires being high power and front wheel drive. The only downside I would say is that the tire compound is a bit soft when temps rise. Anything above about 6c road surface temp (not air temp) is going to be putting extra wear on the tires. consequently in the UK I only fit them from December through to March when the weather is coldest. Also the sidewall is a little softer than summer tires so the steering does not feel quite as precise as my summer tires on initial turn in, but the grip is excellent so can forgive them of this. I would have no hesitation buying these tires again
    Helpful 20 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2020
    Given 93% while driving a Subaru Impreza WRX STI (245/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 7,000 spirited miles
    Hands down the best performing tire in snow and ice I've ever used. On snow they are genuinely like a summer tire in the wet. There is a very steep hill leading into my village and I can stop on the steepest point in deep snow and pull away again without spinning a wheel. Breaking on the snow and ice is just as good. Steering is millimetre perfect also. Used these tires for two winters now and put around 7k miles on them and they are barely worn at all. They are also fantastic on cold and wet roads standing water is of no concern. My only complaint about them is that they feel quite unstable at 'high' speed in the dry and feel a bit floaty. However despite this they have handled any emergency manoeuvres with ease and have never let the car get out of control. 100% will buy again without a seconds hesitation.
    Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2020
    Given 98% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/55 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Great hold on both dry and wet road too good and in the snow it makes some noise
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on December 28, 2019
    Given 89% while driving a MINI Clubman (215/40 R18) on for 1,000 average miles
    I have a fairly long commute, and Scottish morning icy conditions this time of year aren’t great for summer rubber. After spending way too much time deciding which winter tires to fit my mini with ended up going for the Yokohamas hoping they would hit the sweet spot in terms of price/quality tradeoff. So far I’ve done about a thousand motorway and b-road miles. Very happy with it. It is way better than the stock mini summer tires in everything but dry grip (which you would expect). But even there the difference is smaller than I expected. Happy so far.
    Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on December 12, 2019
    Given 94% while driving a Ford Fiesta 2010 1.4 tdci (195/50 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 3,500 average miles
    Tried them on snowy and icy roads on mountain, they were excellent even in a really steep climb roads, driven them every day on dry and on rain, tires were excellent. Even on mountain roads with many twists and tight curves, taking them with some speed they showed excellent, without any slips. The handling is very good in every condition, braking is really nice and smooth. Only downside is that they are a bit louder on highways than the others. Strongly recommending them.
    Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on March 23, 2019
    Given 93% while driving a Subaru Legacy (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
    I was driving with these tires for 3 seasons already (in Lithuania). I liked them. The response on wet and dry is really good. On icy and snowy roads one cannot drive like on wet, it's obvious :) For that you have to choose at least soft compound tires, or better spiked. They are pretty soft, which comes as a better comfort on bumpy roads. But what impressed me the most, is the wearing degree. After 20000 miles (3 winters) they are still around 6mm.
    Helpful 61 - tire reviewed on December 5, 2018