Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP

The Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP is a Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire replaced the Toyo Observe GSI 5.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 88%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 85%
Wear 73%
Comfort 90%
Buy again 87%
Snow Grip 94%
Ice Grip 90%

Tire review data from 8 tire reviews averaging 87% over 61,982 miles driven.

The OBSERVE GSI 6 HP is ranked 7th of 91 Winter Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2020 Nordic and Studded Winter Tire Test - 18th of 20 tires

  • Positive - Stable handling in the snow, short braking distance in the wet, stable and short braking distances in the dry.
  • Negative - Poor ice performance, high rolling resistance, high noise.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tire Tests

  • 18th: 2020 Nordic and Studded Winter Tire Test (205/55 R16)
  • Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP Reviews

    Given 97% while driving a Infiniti 2004 G35 (215/55 R17) on mostly town for 2,000 spirited miles
    Best Winter Tires available for sports coupes or sedan! Been using 1 month in CDN winter. Handles like a summer tire on dry pavement in winter temperatures. WHISPER quiet too. When there is snow - traction is 5/5. treadwear on the GSI is amazing. the previous gsi5 model got 100 000km so these should be the same or better. Dont look else where. The siping goes all the way to the bottom too, unlike most winters so they will be good for a long time! no complaints whatsoever
    Helpful 50 - tire reviewed on November 7, 2018
    Given 100% while driving a (235/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
    These are snow tires, there should be a "Snow Grip" and "Ice Grip" score.
    The traction on snowy roads, compact as well as fresh loose snow is excellent, on icy roads it's also very good for a non studded tire. Great acceleration, but more importantly excellent lateral stability while turning and great braking!

    Very impressed with these GSi-6 tires, my previous tires were Nokian Hakkapeliitta.
    Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on December 13, 2018
    Audi A6, 3.2L, Quattro (225/45 R18) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
    Snow in Sweden and below 0C, replaced my old worn down studded Hakkapelitta. Must say im impressed by the grip of the tires in snowy conditions so far. A bit noisy in my opinion but performs very well overall. I recommend them.
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on January 30, 2021
    Have you driven on the Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP >

    Latest Toyo OBSERVE GSI 6 HP Reviews

    Given 100% while driving a Honda Civic Si Sedan (215/55 R16) on mostly town for 100 average miles
    Previously I owed Toyo Garit winter tires (no longer available) and I was absolutely amazed with the winter grip, braking and cornering. in October 2022 I purchased Toyo GSi 6 tires for my Honda civic sedan. The first winter storm in Calgary Canada quickly paid for them. I was able to momentarily brake and then quickly steer clear of a an unexpected vehicle and bus interaction in front of me. Yes, you can always driver more defensively to avoid these type of interactions. This time I wasn't and couldn't. My daughter as a passenger said "how on earth did you just do that! I simply shouted in delight "Toyo GSi 6s Baby!"
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on November 7, 2022
    Given 67% while driving a Chevrolet Malibu LTZ (225/55 R17) on a combination of roads for 37,282 easy going miles
    Purchased on October 31, 2019 so three winters for a total of 59791 km. They are completely finished after only 3 winters...normal? Install November 1 and removed April 1 each year. I don't have a sporty driving style. (60 years)
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on October 31, 2022
    All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 79% while driving a Hyundai ix35 (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
    Overall good winter tires. Pretty good on dry and wet road at autumn temps taking into account these are winter tires. Slightly blurred "zero" steering position at town speeds. Tires of this size have rim protector which not every tire has and sidewall is moderately stiff. Snow pull is good to excellent. Handling on ice and mixed snow/ice is very stable while feedback is exceptional. You can definetely say when where tires will start to slip. Ice grip is great for friction winter tires. Overall feeling is better than more expensive Nokian Hakkapellitta R2.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on October 11, 2021
    Given 91% while driving a Volvo V60 T6 AWD (235/50 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
    I had these tires installed prior to picking up my new(to me) V60. Drove the car from Montreal to Halifax. Initially on dry roads with temperatures below freezing. What first struck was how quiet these tires are. Not just for winter tires but also compared to the all season Continentals I use for summer driving. The next day I drove in blizzard conditions(driving snow on uncleared highway) which eventually turned to slushy(wet snow) roads then finally wet roads. So within 24 hours I was able to test these tires in every winter condition other than hardpacked ice. They performed flawlessly and were confidence inspiring. Very stable, quiet and responsive. Very happy with these tires and would recommend to anyone.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on December 16, 2020
    Given 89% while driving a BMW 320D M Sport (225/50 R17 V) on a combination of roads for 6,000 spirited miles
    Bought these tires for girlfriends bimmer with 2 sizes down for more comfortable driving in winter conditions. Comparing to Goodyear’s UltraGrip ice 2 on my Lexus toyo’s grips in the same way but they are a lil bit louder and firmer, I think it’s because of speed rating. As for thread life rear wheels lost 1mm of pattern, maybe because I drive it spiritly. Anyway tires for such price is definitely good choice for winter time. Just ordered a pair of Toyo for my Lexus front axle.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2020