Nokian WR D4

The Nokian WR D4 is a Premium Touring Winter tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

Tire review data from 68 tire reviews averaging 79% over 578,243 miles driven, and 35 tests with an average result of 6th.

Dry Grip 83%
Wet Grip 82%
Road Feedback 78%
Handling 79%
Wear 66%
Comfort 83%
Buy again 74%
Snow Grip 89%
Ice Grip 78%

First On MarketFebruary 2015
Wheel Size13 - 17"
Width155 - 225mm
Profile45 - 80
Rolling ResistanceC - D
Wet GripB - B
Noise (dB)68 - 69
Winter Rating3PMSF Rated

The WR D4 is ranked 42nd of 66 Winter Premium Touring tires.

This tire replaced the Nokian WR D3 and this tire has been replaced by the Nokian WR Snowproof.

Tests Included

35

Best Result

1st

Worst Result

14th

Average Result

6th

Latest Tire Test Results

2019 ADAC 185/65 R15 Winter Tire Test
9th of 16 tires
  • Excellent in snow and ice, low fuel consumption
  • Relatively poor dry grip, high wear
  • Good
View Full Test >>

SizeFuelWetNoise
13 inch
155/80R13 79 TDB68
14 inch
175/65R14 82 TCB68
165/70R14 81 TDB68
15 inch
195/55R15 89 H XLCB69
195/65R15 95 H XLCB69
185/65R15 88 TCB68
195/65R15 91 TCB69
16 inch
205/60R16 96 H XLCB69
205/60R16 92 HCB69
205/55R16 91 HCB69
205/55R16 91 TCB69
215/60R16 99 H XLCB69
17 inch
225/45R17 91 HCB69
225/45R17 94 V XLCB69
View All Sizes and EU Label Scores for the Nokian WR D4 >>

Questions and Answers for the Nokian WR D4

2018-04-30 - I have 2017 My WR D4 (195/55/16) winter tires on my Honda CR Z sports model. Can I keep on using them for the summer season at the average temperature of btw 25-35 Celcius? What is the max temperature?

There is no maximum temperature for the WR D4, they are heat tested like all other tires. That said, the compound will be much less effective at warmer temperatures, especially in the wet so it is not advised to use them in the summer months.


2023-02-24 - My daughters car. NOKIAN tires have 60CL as the dot date! Unable to find any age info?!....As they were made in Russia?...

The D4 will have a standard DOT code on, they might be on the inside of the tire. They will also have the country they were made in somewhere on the sidewall!


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Given 92% while driving a Chevrolet aveo (205/55 R16) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
When you decide to buy winter tires , you must know that its made for snow and winter conditions. This means that you will drive at wet roads with speed 20% less than you drive with your summer tires (especially at turns). This is an excellent tire for snow . This is a tire which make your driving easylly at difficult snow and icy conditions. You dont have to expect from this tire to have handling on wet or dry turns as your summer tire because you never expect from your summer tire to climb on a 10% road covered with snow..... + traction on snow + handling on snow + braking distance on snow + buy them again (please nokian dont do that!!! i learn that you will change them with snowproof which are not better than wrd4) - fuel consumption (+ 0.5 lt/ 100km from my summer tires)
Helpful 75 - tire reviewed on March 13, 2021
Given 47% while driving a BMW 3 series (205/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 3,500 spirited miles
I felt the car very unstable when using these tires..on snow they were amazing, but other than that I would not recommend. After 4 years and very little use( about 5k kilometres) the rubber aged quickly and soon started to disintegrate and by that I mean not only micro cracks at the surface, but big chunks of it fell apart.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2022
Given 78% while driving a Dacia Sandero 1.4 (185/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 8,000 average miles
The best tire for grip on snow and ice I experienced so far. You won't find a better tires for such price. It really surprised me how good it holds on snow slowly going up a hill without any problems while others had to go much faster and still were not sure if they would make it.
Helpful 30 - tire reviewed on December 11, 2022
Have you driven on the Nokian WR D4 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WR D4? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Nokian WR D4 >

Latest Nokian WR D4 Reviews

Given 67% while driving a Audi A3 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
Beware that this is a snow tire! It is not suitable for mild climates where temperatures are usually around 6 to 12 degrees celsius.The Compound is very soft and if you do not see snow and ice regularly and snow is an exception rather then the rule this will ruin the tire.My driving is usually around town and the rather hot autumns and springs for the tire and somewhat aggressive take offs from stop lights and intersections have torn off the sipes from the side..
Helpful 28 - tire reviewed on December 10, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volkswagen Golf IV 1.9 TDI 110 (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
Hi! I used few kinds of winter tires in time. No 1 I think it is Nokian Hakkapeliita 6 (or 5) on both FWD and AWD very good ones. You can feel the difference right away. On the FWD vehicle I used to have Yokohama normal ones and then Verdrestein directionals (v shaped pattern). Vedrestein were better but nothing like Nokian. Then after buying the AWD for my wife I got a parking spot under the building I was living in and she always got out regardless of how bad was the uphill exit from the parking. Ice, wet show, dry snow, deep snow (~20 cm). At times she was the only one able to get out in the morning from that parking. One time we went to a cabin in the mountains and it showed a lot over night building it up to the top of the bumper of my Toyota RAV4, about half the tire diameter. I got out of there in few long minutes. Had to back up few times to get some momentum to push forward. All the others had to shovel their way out about 10-15 m and they had AWDs too. I think my Nokians had their part to this performance. Same winter my neighbour slide back trying to get out of parking and she damaged her car, a Honda Fit. Tires, some Motomasters directionals, loose grip exactly close to top of the hill at street level. She had the presence to press the button of her remote control to open the garage door while she was slowly sliding back while car whells were spinning foeward and she just lost her left side mirror. Other neighbours had to fix that door after finding themselves in same situation (sliding back into closing garage door). She asked for my help and since the new Nokians were too expensive for her she got a set of used Hakkapeliitas (7 or something, better than mine) on internet. No 6 was still visible on pattern so they were above 6mm tread. Well she never had the random excitement getting out of parking after snowing or ice rain again. When I got my RAV4 it came with Bridgestones. Then I had some Michelin X ICE used from a neighbour that sold his car. Bridgestone were better on snow and Michelins better on ice. These were my best winter tires until I got the Hakkapeliitas. Nokians are better than those on both surfaces. They are also noisier on dry but not by much. If you plan to use them summer time too, don't. They will loose some of their grip on ice next winter. Michelins are the best as summer tires or rain tires if you buy the directional ones. Other tires I had over time on a FWD vehicle were some Continentals directionals too. Better than Yokohama and Vedrestein but when they were less than half something happened and they loose their ballance to the point I had to replace them. Now I got some Nokian WRs since I was unable to find the Hakkapeliita. Hope they will perform next winter. Is not first time I got WRs. I had 2 new ones on the front axle of a FWD VW Golf Variant. Somehow one of them got some side bump and got unballanced, later developed some sort of cut about 6 cm long just beside the rolling pattern while rolling on dry about 10 degr C. Had to replace that one on road. I managed to get out of highway and make it to a shop after inflating it twice with my small portable 12V compressor. While I had that tire car was driven by me, my wife and my sister. (I can't say for sure if tire was abused or not.) This is a second chance I give to WRs based on my expecience with them. I can say, I think they are thinner than Hakkapeliita, also lighter, maybe an inferior kind. I hope those will do better than previous ones. I will still use the "survivor" mounted on rear pairing a Fulda (only one that had about similar pattern and thichness to my good WR in that shop inventory when I had to replace the failing WR. When it happenend I already had them switched to rear axle since I was unable to use them on front due to vibration given the unballance. I was hoping to make it to the end of winter, one month and a half, but it didn't happen. Tire gave up after about 1000 kms on rear axle). Oh! One more thing. One of my friends bought some asian tires that had a pattern identical with Nokian Hakkapeliita. Don't get hooked into that. They start to get some strange chipped wear on rolling pattern and one of them got a side damage by a splint of wood!!! How weird is that! He had to replace that one. Guy was unable to fix it. Grip on snow was compared with some average all season ones even the mountain and snowflake was displayed on them.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on June 19, 2022
What to know the BEST All Season Tires for 2024? Click to find out!
Given 97% while driving a Citroën C4 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 35,000 average miles
Exceptional winter tire, if you are in snowy weather and not so good, for mild winters. You have to be careful with it, if the temperature rises about 10 degrees, as it's very soft and you can ruin it, especially at high speed or fast cornering, in those conditions. If you drive in the snow, though and at around 0 degrees, or bellow, these have no rival. They are quiet and comfortable, with very good road feedback, at low temperatures. They are a very good choice, for true winter tires. The wet grip is very good, handling also, they are a joy to ride, in low temperatures, from all aspects.
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on September 4, 2021
Given 79% while driving a Renault Clio 1.4 16v (195/65 R15 T) on mostly town for 10,000 average miles
Every one has something to say about wearing off too fast. This is not true. I drove them for 5 winters and full 2 summer seasons. They wore close to 4 mm marker. The issue was on ice grip. But can complain. Buy again.
Helpful 31 - tire reviewed on January 13, 2021
Given 82% while driving a BMW 320d efficient dynamics (205/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
These tires have been surprising me every day since I got them fitted to my BMW F30 320d EfficientDinamics LCI. What I liked most about these tires was by far the comfort levels. They absorb the bumps better than the Continentals and Bridgestones I have tried and they are also very quiet. Also, my fuel efficiency seem to have gotten a bit better since fitting these tires. As dry/wet performance, for a tire that is so good in the snow I have to give it first place. The feedback is good, the car does not seem understeery, nor oversteery and it is very predictable. Overall, this is still one of the best tire choices for winter driving especially in the sizes 16-19 inch. The price performance can't get any better and these tires don't make compromises.
Helpful 32 - tire reviewed on January 11, 2021
Given 74% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 1.4 TSI (195/65 R15 H) on a combination of roads for 15,500 average miles
I've fitted these tires now for the forth season. Firs 3 seasons they were great. In the dry - good as any other winter tire, wet - ok, stable enough so that you don't understear in every corner, snow grip was just excelant! I've driven them through a heavy snow storm, about 10-20cm of snow on the highway and no problems. The problems started this year, I've noticed problems with wet grip. I have to be verry careful how fast I come into a corner (especially if the toad is already old and slipary as it is) on a wet road, because the tires break lose verry fast and u end up understearing. Wear after about 25K km is verey good, in my opiniom. On front tires (now feeted on the back) I have a bit less than 6 mm of thread left and on the back tires (now on the front) I have about 6,5mm. Verry confortable tire, quiet, as a winter tire can be haha, and deals with bumps in the road verry well. Generaly verry good tires, but I won't buy them again because of the lack of wet grip. And another "problem" that I find is that I have to balance them every year when I fit them for the winter. That's probably because of the softer compond.
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on November 14, 2020
Given 53% while driving a (215/60 R16 H) on a combination of roads for 20,000 average miles
Very bad on wet roads. Not buying again
Helpful 35 - tire reviewed on February 6, 2020
Given 76% while driving a SEAT LEON 1.8TSI (225/40 R18) on mostly town for 3,000 spirited miles
Used for 2 months. First I can say that these tires are really quiet. Snow handling is great, I was driving in a snow storm on a highway and felt very safe. Haven’t tested too much icy roads yet, but seems to be okay by the first impression.
Sometimes tends to be searching for a path on a straight road, need to adjust with the steering wheel. But not too bad, considering the 225 width.
Dry grip is average, wet grip is bit loose, powerful FWD car cannot put the torque onto the tarmac, gets wheel spin little too easy. Although aquaplaning is great, deep thread works well.
Helpful 36 - tire reviewed on December 3, 2019
Given 87% while driving a SEAT Ibiza FR SC 1.2 TSI (215/45 R16) on a combination of roads for 4,000 average miles
See my winter review: https://youtu.be/5xcEHoJ_Sd0

Although there are possibly better winter tires suited to the British climate, I really wanted to try out the Nokian WR D4 in snow, so was hopeful for a cold winter.

I've had the tires on from November to March and I've used them in a range of temperatures from sub zero to the mild winter days we've had this time round

My initial reactions when I first had them fitted and it was mild, was that I felt the car frequently understeer on country road corners - obvious, I guess, as there's less rubber on the road. I'm not a particularly fast driver, but I did have to change my driving style slightly whilst cornering.

When the temperature dropped though these tires felt amazing. Especially 4°c and below the soft compound really gripped the road. I noticed on frosty and icy mornings that the grip level was superior to my summer tires.

Then it snowed. Wow! I almost felt like I was driving in my summer tires on a bone dry road. The Nokians gripped the road to get my up steep hills without a problem, the breaking response was amazing as the car easily slowed or stopped and just general driving in the snow felt normal.

These tires gave me so much confidence in the snow and, having a young child, I felt safe.

They're definitely going back on next winter.
Helpful 40 - tire reviewed on March 18, 2019
Given 96% while driving a Opel Corsa C (175/65 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 1,800 average miles
I drove Nokian WR D4 on 14inch wheels for more than 2500 km (all season) and i am very satisfy from the tires, about their feedback on dry and snowy roads, especially on snow when i had no problems with grip or the most important braking. after 2500 km i still got 7 - 7.5 mm of thread on my tires, i higly recomend WR D4 especially because of the price/performance ratio, and their silent wall technology which makes them very quit tire even on 120km/h speed on high way....
Helpful 45 - tire reviewed on March 7, 2019
Given 87% while driving a Citroën C5 (225/55 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 15,000 spirited miles
If you use that tire with correct pressure, you can not complain about any other items and no need to look for any other tires for winter. I had lost first 4mm after 9000 km by 32 psi. Then i increased the pressure to 35 psi and lost other 3 mm after 14.000 km. For wet, dry and snow i cannot offer any other tire since i had almost used 12 different tires in winters and covered more than 200k km. for ice, performance is a little bit behind of UG and Alpin.
Helpful 47 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2019
Given 84% while driving a Renault clio iv 1.5 DCI 90ps (195/55 R16) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
these tires are brilliant for winter conditions and cold rain conditions i have them on my 2015 renault clio iv 1.5 dci i have put around 15.000 kilometers in snow and rain and dry conditions in 2 years the wear is fairly good they have about 70-60 % treadlife still on them .the only think that i dont like but i guess its the same in the winter tires is the noise they make and especially when braking . last but not least they are very very good in pooring rain, just 2 days ago i made 650 kms in 1 day in pooring rain almost all day they eat through the water like nothing they grip the road and make you feel safe.
Helpful 27 - tire reviewed on January 27, 2019