Toyo Open Country All Terrain

The Toyo Open Country All Terrain is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tire designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 80%
Road Feedback 76%
Handling 79%
Wear 81%
Comfort 80%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 67%
Ice Grip 47%

Tire review data from 12 tire reviews averaging 75% over 179,530 miles driven.

The Open Country All Terrain is ranked 24th of 40 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tires.

    Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Toyo Open Country All Terrain
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
225/70 R14 98S   E E 73  
30/9 R15 104S   F C 74  
31/10 R15 109S   F C 74  
215/70 R15 98H   E E 73  
225/70 R15 100T   E E 73  
235/70 R15 102S   E E 73  
255/70 R15 112S   F C 75  
265/70 R15 110S   E E 74  
205/75 R15 97S   E E 73  
215/75 R15 100S   E E 73  
225/75 R15 102S   E E 73  
235/75 R15 108S   E E 74  
235/75 R15 105S   E E 73  
235/75 R15 104S   F C 75  
265/75 R15 112S   E E 74  
33/1250 R15 108Q   G C 75  
35/1250 R15 113Q   G C 75  
255/65 R16 109H   E E 74  
215/70 R16 99S   F E 73  
225/70 R16 101S   E E 73  
225/70 R16 102S   E E 73  
235/70 R16 104T   E E 73  
245/70 R16 106S   F E 73  
245/70 R16 111S   E E 74  
255/70 R16 109S   E E 74  
265/70 R16 112T   E E 74  
265/70 R16 117S   F C 75  
275/70 R16 114H   F E 74  
225/75 R16 0Q   F C 75  
225/75 R16 0Q   F C 75  
225/75 R16 104S   E E 73  
235/75 R16 106T   E E 73  
245/75 R16 109S   E E 73  
245/75 R16 0Q   F C 75  
245/75 R16 108S   F C 75  
265/75 R16 119Q   F C 75  
265/75 R16 0S   F C 75  
265/75 R16 119Q   F C 75  
265/75 R16 114S   E E 74  
315/75 R16 121Q   F C 75  
215/85 R16 0Q   F E 75  
215/85 R16 0Q   F E 75  
235/60 R17 102H   E E 74  
275/60 R17 110T   E E 74  
225/65 R17 102H   E E 73  
235/65 R17 103H   E E 73  
245/65 R17 105T   E E 74  
245/65 R17 111H   E E 74  
255/65 R17 110H   F E 74  
265/65 R17 112S   E E 74  
275/65 R17 115T   E E 74  
235/70 R17 108S   E E 74  
245/70 R17 119S   F C 75  
245/70 R17 108S   E E 73  
255/70 R17 110S   E E 74  
265/70 R17 113S   E E 74  
265/70 R17 121S   F C 75  
285/70 R17 117T   E E 74  
285/70 R17 121S   F C 75  
285/70 R17 126S   F C 75  
325/70 R17 122R   F B 75  
355/70 R17 127R   F B 75  
235/75 R17 108S   E E 73  
245/75 R17 110S   E E 73  
245/75 R17 121S   F C 75  
255/75 R17 113S   E E 74  
285/75 R17 128S   F C 75  
235/80 R17 120S   F C 75  
255/55 R18 109H   E E 74  
265/60 R18 109S   E E 74  
285/60 R18 120S   E E 74  
325/60 R18 119S   F C 75  
265/65 R18 112S   E E 74  
275/65 R18 123S   F C 75  
275/65 R18 114T   E E 74  
285/65 R18 125S   F C 75  
325/65 R18 121R   F C 75  
355/65 R18 125R   F B 75  
255/70 R18 112T   E E 74  
265/70 R18 114S   E E 74  
275/70 R18 125S   F C 75  
285/75 R18 129S   F C 75  
285/50 R20 116T   E E 74  
275/55 R20 111S   E E 74  
285/55 R20 122S   F C 75  
305/55 R20 121S   F C 75  
275/60 R20 114T   E E 74  
305/60 R20 123S   F C 75  
325/60 R20 121R   F C 75  
275/65 R20 126S   F C 75  
305/45 R22 118S   E E 74  
325/50 R22 122R   F B 75  
Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Toyo Open Country All Terrain. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Toyo Open Country All Terrain Reviews

Given 73% while driving a Toyota rav (225/65 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 55,000 spirited miles
These tires came with the RAV4 that I bought brand new summer of 2011. I am a fast and spirited driver who does a lot of city and highway driving. These tires have been through two patches, all the recommended tire rotations and I'm over 55,000 miles. I am needing to replace them and am considering buying another set. My only hesitation is price and on some Rav4 forum there was a bit of complaining about these tires???
101 - tire reviewed on December 3, 2013   
Given 90% while driving a Jeep XJ Cherokee (225/75 R15) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I bought these tires about two years ago after reading so many good reviews about them and I haven't been disappointed. I found them to be unstoppable in the snow, allowing me to easily pull stuck cars up hills in my old Jeep Cherokee which was also full of passengers. They are comfortable and quiet in normal road and motorway conditions. The Jeep is quite powerful with no traction control so can be a handful on corners in 2 wheel drive, but I've never felt out of control with the Toyos fitted.
They cover both bases a lot better than you would expect I think they are great value.
After 15000 miles, mine have a long life ahead of them yet and I would definitely buy again.
11 - tire reviewed on April 10, 2015   
Given 79% while driving a Isuzu DMAX (275/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 31,000 average miles
They're good tires, to expensive for what they last. Pay $220 for each tire
11 - tire reviewed on March 6, 2017   
Have you driven on the Toyo Open Country All Terrain tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Toyo Open Country All Terrain? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Toyo Open Country All Terrain >

Latest Toyo Open Country All Terrain Reviews

Given 71% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (235/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 miles
Having had these tires on my crossover for almost a year, I can safely say I have made the right tire choice as I drive roughly 20.000 miles in a year.

I have tried several different brands of tired in the 2 years I've owned my crossover and the Toyo's have been superior!

My only regret is that I didn't get them sooner.

They have gotten me everywhere I wanted to go in comfort and safety.

If I can find another set in a different size I will buy them again.
1 - tire reviewed on April 8, 2019   
Given 71% while driving a Hyundai Tucson (235/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 11,000 miles
Having had these tires on my crossover for almost a year, I can safely say I have made the right tire choice as I drive roughly 20.000 miles in a year.

I have tried several different brands of tired in the 2 years I've owned my crossover and the Toyo's have been superior!

My only regret is that I didn't get them sooner.

They have gotten me everywhere I wanted to go in comfort and safety.

If I can find another set in a different size I will buy them again.
0 - tire reviewed on April 7, 2019   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 91% while driving a Jeep Grand Cherokee 2.7 LTD (245/65 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 12,000 easy going miles
Purchased these Feb 2018 just after buying my 2004 Jeep GCL 2.7, due to the previous Volvo V50 having a PSA engine....

Have done about 12k miles on them so far, tried in gravel, mud, snow, ice and rock and will say that they are a superb all-rounder. I have full confidence in them now and know I made the right choice in buying them.

Economy - my Jeep is getting better MPG than manufacturer stats
Noise - no noticeable extra noise compared with the road tires they replaced
Wear - hardly wearing at all, I'm not surprised they last 50k miles. Makes me laugh when I remember wearing out 4 new Yokohamas in 10k miles that were fitted on my classic (proper) Mini.
Tarmac - not pushed it to it's limits on the road as it's a proper solid axle 4x4, not a racing car, so these are more than adequate for the vehicles that they were designed for.
Wet grip - never had reason to panic, it goes round corners, stops etc as it should
Snow/ice - it's fantastic to be able to drive past £80k "premium 4x4s" that are stuck in snow! This is worth the investment alone!
Mud - not really got in-deep as they are not MT tires, however, I have been on slippy stuff on a hill (snowy wet grassy sloppy mud) they got me up it. MT tires would without doubt excel here.
Rock/gravel/sand - no worries here really either

I would recommend them to anyone with a 4x4 or AWD that needs to go off road or have a play once in a while, or is even just wanting peace of mind - they will not let you down.

Mud Terrain tires they are not, so any serious off-roading will require more aggressive tires.
3 - tire reviewed on December 28, 2018   
Given 83% while driving a Kia Motors (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
SORENTO PURCHASED IN APRIL 2010 DURING THE WINTER WE HAD DEEP SNOW FROM NOV TO FEB IN MY AREA FINDING SLIPPAGE WITH THE STANDARD TYRES I SWITCHED TO THE TOYO OPEN COUNTRY AND THEY NEVER LET ME DOWN INFACT I WAS THE ONLY ONE ABLE TO LEAVE MY VILLAGE OFTEN IN A FOOT OF SNOW,5 YEARS LATER WITH 100.000 MILES ON THE CLOCK I HAVE JUST FITTED THE 4TH SET OF TOYO'S THEY ARE GREAT BOTH ON AND OFF ROAD AND LAST WELL.
ON A RECENT SKI TRIP TO SCOTLAND IN SNOW DRIFTS I GOT PAST MANY OTHER LARGER 4X4 VEHICLES WITHOUT PROBLEM. EVEN IN MUD THEY ARE GREAT PULLED A FEW CARS OUT OF DEEP MUD AT AN OPEN AIR CONCERT LAST YEAR.
6 - tire reviewed on January 28, 2015   
Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Discovery 2 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Bearing in mind this is an All Terrain tire and therefore a compromise, it is surprising just how good this tire is off-road. I cannot fault this tire on snow and having driven through deep snow both on and off road the only thing that stopped me was when the depth of snow pushed the vehicle up under the floor.
On road it handles well and there is little appreciable increase in road noise.

These tires have a long way to go but when the time comes I shall certainly be fitting them again
0 - tire reviewed on January 21, 2013   
Given 87% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 35,000 spirited miles
Had these tires on a Landcruiser amazon and done over 35,000 on them, excellent on road in any condition, very good off road. Used many AT tires in the past BFG, General etc both on and off road and have found these to be the best overall of the lot.
1 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2012   
Given 86% while driving a Nissan Terrano II (245/70 R16 S) on mostly country roads for 7,500 average miles
Tried many types of A/T tires on this vehicle,Toyo open country being the best all round tire,going from sand in France during summer hols,to five foot of snow on the high peaks,and hundreds of motorway miles nothing will phase this tire.
Although they seem to be a softer compound than say Pirelli/Kumho/Avon,all of which I have used and seem to wear slightely faster I would 100% buy these again as an all round A/T tire
0 - tire reviewed on January 3, 2010   
Given 77% while driving a Toyota Landcruiser (285/75 R18 S) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
Very quiet, smooth and competant, very good all rounder for road use that copes well with snow and mud for an AT.
0 - tire reviewed on January 2, 2010