Dunlop RoadSmart III

The Dunlop RoadSmart III is a Premium Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Motorcycles.

This tire replaced the Dunlop RoadSmart II.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 90%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 90%
Handling 89%
Wear 90%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 86%

Tire review data from 15 tire reviews averaging 89% over 56,506 miles driven.

The RoadSmart III is ranked 5th of 25 Summer Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2020 Motorcycle Sports Touring Tire Test - 2nd of 6 tires

  • Overall - Linear and progressive, with a neutral feel. Super accurate with perfect tracking. Not quite as good from cold as the Metzelers, but once there's a tiny bit of heat, they're great. Good over bumps, but quite a firm ride overall.
View Full Test >>

2020 Tire Tests

  • 2nd: 2020 Motorcycle Sports Touring Tire Test (180/55 R17)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    120/70 R17 58W          

    Questions and Answers for the Dunlop RoadSmart III

    2016-09-21 - I have a Kawasaki Versys 650 (2016) and looking to replace my rear tire (Currently D222 Sportmax), what would be my best options? I will occasionally use on wet but mostly dry road conditions.

    If you're looking at Dunlop tires for mostly dry riding, the SportSmart range is worth looking at. The Michelin Pilot Road range is another well regarded alternative to the Roadsmart.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Dunlop RoadSmart III Reviews

    Given 87% while driving a Kawasaki z1000 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
    Have to say I've always run Dunlop Sport Smarts so was interested to see what these were like compared to the old tires. Have to say that they have not disappointed.

    Plenty of grip (well enough for my riding abilities) and haven't let go once. There was a little slide in sketchy conditions a few weeks ago, going from dry road to wet and then back to dry travelling at dry road speeds. They recovered well and gave good drive.

    Tires warm up well and have a good amount of edge grip.

    I've got these on my ZZR1400 as well but that will be used on my upcoming trip to the Isle of Man. Must say, I am really looking forward to running them over the Mountain section of the course!
    Helpful 63 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2016
    Given 86% while driving a (180/55 R17) on for 0 miles
    Follow up from earlier review of RS3 on my BMW F800GT

    The front RS3 was replaced at 6,000km. I was expecting more km's but maybe this was in part down to the front suspension not working ideally. Replaced with Metzeler Z8 and at 5,600km it's nearly shot.
    The rear was replaced at 13,000km.
    Both tires should have been replaced 1,000km's before they were.

    The rear performed impeccably, even on wet dirty roads and was very reassuring. Got the most km's out of any rear tire i have used before.
    Now trying Metzelers new Interact 01. If this tire is not as good with similar longevity, back to the RoadSmart 3.

    Would happily fit RS3's again and can recommend them, and they are the cheapest of the 'known brand' tires of this S/T category.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on July 5, 2016
    Given 97% while driving a (190/50 R17) on for 0 miles
    The tires I have experienced long term on both my gsxr1000's covering a total distance of 230,000 klms have been the following:
    bridgelstone s20r....oem (came with the bike) ...ok upto 8,000 klms..too soft and wear uneven.
    michelin pilot road 3...Crap, they wear very unevenly and are too squirmy and pick up too many flats as the tread is too busy..like it attracts flat tires.
    michelin pilot power 3... Good tire up to 10,000 klms
    DUNLOP road smart 3....About 17,000 klms a set front and back. The absolute best for longevity and performance, as good as a sport tire with touring ability, I have not had any flat spot yet on front or rear. Great at speed (knee dragging) cornering. This tire is planted when on its edges. Thoroughly recommend and will definitely keep buying..on my 3rd set now. Oh! did I say CHEAP!!!! Very affordable $450 for pair deal.
    Helpful 14 - tire reviewed on March 11, 2019
    Have you driven on the Dunlop RoadSmart III tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Dunlop RoadSmart III? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Dunlop RoadSmart III >

    Latest Dunlop RoadSmart III Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Triumph Speed Triple (/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 0 miles
    I would feel the rear tires slip slightly in turns when knee down in corners with any slight power input. I have not felt this slipping with the Bridgestone t32s. Lasted quite long even while running about 32 psi in the rear the whole life of the tire.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2022
    Given 93% while driving a Suzuki Gsxr1000 k4 (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 9,000 spirited miles
    Although these tires are marketed as a sports touring tire I decided to try them on my 2004 gsxr1000 k4 as I was fed up with having to purchase a set of tires every 3 to 4 thousand miles and wanted something longer lasting. These are the best tires I have ever fitted to my 1000 gsxr. They don't move whatsoever in the dry and with the front profile turn in really sharp. Just look where you want to go and your there. In the wet they are just as good and I allways rode with 36f/42r. I rode to France twice and over to the t.t. When I sold the bike I still had the receipt with the fitting mileage on and couldn't believe the back was just beginning to square very slightly but the front still looked brand new. The mileage 9000 miles! Unbelieavable. My current gsxr1000r L8 came with bridgestone rs10s which are nice and square after less than 4000 miles so will be fitted with the sportsmart 3s pretty soon.
    Couldn't recommend them highly enough.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on January 4, 2020
    Want to know what the BEST AT tires are? Watch below!
    Given 91% while driving a BMW 218d Active Tourer (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 1,500 average miles
    BMW K1600 GTL E
    Best tires to date, love them and can't fault them.
    Yes, I will be fitting them again and to my Deauville when I get the chance.
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on December 30, 2019
    Yamaha TDM850 (170/70 R17) on a combination of roads for 10,000 average miles
    Outstanding tires, never felt loosing grip both dry and wet roads. Very long mileage - 16500 km (10000 miles), half with luggage and passenger on mountain roads. Replaced with Michelin Pilot Road 4, also good tires but very noisy compare to Dunlop. Definitely the best tires I ever had on my Yamaha!
    Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on June 26, 2019
    Given 98% while driving a BMW K1600 GTL (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    BMW K1600GTL. First class tire when fitted to this bike. I am not going to go on about them other than to say Great tires and I would definitely buy again.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on May 4, 2019
    Given 86% while driving a Honda VFR1200FD (190/55 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
    This pair of Roadsmart 3 tires were bought for a trip from the Welsh borders to Southern France and back lasting 2 weeks, solo first week, pillion second week using motorways there and back with full luggage, hard riding in Alpine passes and gorges (no luggage) while there.
    Rating: overall great tires easily lasting the 4,000 mile round trip with excellent dry grip and enough grip to cope in the wet (didn't push the lean angles but hard wet braking never resulted in the ABS kicking in). Nice profile with effortless leaning into corners. Absorbed the worst road conditions with ease (especially in the UK!). After 4,000 miles the front is still above the wear markers by about 1mm with plenty left on the rear, the latter probably has another couple of thousand in it. Not surprised the front wore more quickly given the braking forces required for downhill hairpins on a heavy bike. With more modest riding I'd say it would match the rear for longevity.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on June 20, 2018
    Given 85% while driving a BMW F800GT (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 3,000 spirited miles
    These RS3 tires are on a BMW F800GT motorcycle.

    They have not been used in the wet (yet).

    The front tire has 2600km and the rear 3700km to date. Both are wearing OK with the eventual flat section from cornering on the front tire (rhs) half just starting to show itself. The rear is wearing uniformly.

    They are typical RS Dunlop's in that they have stiff carcasses which sharpens up steering, gives a firm but not hard ride and gives good feedback.

    I gave dry grip 9 as i have no idea what their limit is but with spirited riding so far they have not let go or slipped.

    I used a set of RS2's on a Honda VFR800 before i got the BMW and of the 6 different make/model sets of tires used on this bike, the RS2's were my favorite and got the most KM's. From the Dunlop PR blurb, the RS3's should be as good if not better. So far the RS2 & RS3 feel the same but hopefully there will be extra km's available.

    If they get the extra km's will likely buy again, especially the rear. I may go for a Dunlop Q3 on the front next time.

    Maybe an up date in the future if i can.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 14, 2016