Avon AX7

The Avon AX7 is a All Terrain and Off Road All Season tire designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 92%
Wet Grip 87%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 90%
Wear 90%
Comfort 92%
Buy again 97%
Snow Grip 87%
Ice Grip 77%

Tire review data from 10 tire reviews averaging 89% over 87,500 miles driven.

The AX7 is ranked 3rd of 51 All Season All Terrain and Off Road tires.

Sorry, we don't currently have any magazine tire tests for the Avon AX7

Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/65 R16 102H XL   E C 72 12.45kgs
215/60 R17 100H XL   E C 72 12.87kgs
225/65 R17 106H XL   C C 72 14.11kgs
265/65 R17 116H XL   C C 73 17.04kgs
235/55 R18 104H XL   C C 72 13.95kgs
255/55 R18 109H XL   C C 73 15.42kgs
265/60 R18 114H XL   B C 73 16.79kgs
255/55 R19 111H XL   C C 73 16.06kgs

Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Avon AX7. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Top 3 Avon AX7 Reviews

Given 100% while driving a Mitsubishi Shogun 3.2Ltr Diesel LWB (265/60 R18 W) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Good on and off road mpg is better comfort on road is good for an AT tire some AT tires I have bought in the past had hard side walls giving a bouncy hard ride on the road
Helpful 98 - tire reviewed on October 31, 2019
Given 90% while driving a Suzuki grand vitara (235/65 R17) on a combination of roads for 14,000 easy going miles
Put 1000's of miles on them, wear is good on Tarmac then on hilly tracks in Scotland they handle and wear very well too . . I would but again . .
Helpful 83 - tire reviewed on February 13, 2021
Given 100% while driving a Suzuki Grand Vitara, 2.0 diesel (225/65 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
Regular 700 miles a week up to Scotland in a Suzuki Vitara then up the mountains for Wind Energy works . . . dirt tracks and hills . . .Very happy with their performance, an ideal combination for On & Off road . . . I should get to use them in Snow in a month or so, I expect them to do fine, they are good in Mud . .
Helpful 61 - tire reviewed on November 10, 2020
Have you driven on the Avon AX7 tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Avon AX7? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Avon AX7 >

Latest Avon AX7 Reviews

Given 83% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tire with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on April 17, 2022
Given 83% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (225/65 R17) on mostly country roads for 18,000 average miles
Ran these on my xc70 for 18k. They replaced some road biased Michelins. First positive was how quiet they were on the road, and secondly the grip both in the wet and dry always inspired confidence. They also had some mild off road use and they performed reasonably well. Both on and off road they provided a very comfortable ride. I found that they were quite sensitive in very wet conditions and i would take care to avoid aquaplaning. Despite their mud and snow rating I would only rate them average in snow, and they're not confidence inspiring on ice. They have worn very well, with roughly half of the useable tread left. Overall very quiet and great handling road tire with reasonable off road capability offering long life, but not so great in wintery conditions.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on April 12, 2022
All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
Given 93% while driving a Volkswagen 2.0 TDI 4Motion 16V (245/60 R18) on a combination of roads for 11,000 spirited miles
When I bought them for my amarok I was given the wrong tire size (my fault wanted 65’s but typed 60’s) anyway they are a great tire to be perfectly honest I’d buy them again but the right size ! These tires have driven 5000miles a month and they have never let me down but did get a puncture on site but other than that perfect
Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on October 10, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Ford 05 Mondeo 185 (modded) diesel (225/40 R18) on a combination of roads for 2,500 spirited miles
I haven't had chance to test them in the snow or ice, however in the cold/rain they grip well enough for the price. very progressive feel, with plenty of feedback, and again decent enough grip concidering the price. only thing is they are wearing slightly quicker than i would expect, and they are slightly noiser - especially when it's cold.
Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 27, 2021
Given 84% while driving a Kia Motors Sportage (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 15,000 spirited miles
I have never felt the need to leave a review for a tire before, but these Avon AX7's are quite amazing! I have done 15,000 miles on them now and they are wearing vey well. For a tire designed as an AT they are very good performers on dry country roads. They are attached to a 2013 Kia Sportage 4X4 180hp which is no sports car but these Avons are way better than the summer tires they replaced when pushed hard. Obviously they roll quite a bit on hard corners as the sidewall is so large but you get used to it quite quickly. Off road they are fantastic! the Sportage without these tires in the mud is as useful as a chocolate teapot! but with these its actually quite good and has surprised quite a few people! Snow driving is also excellent, very controllable and easy to use, hill starts in snow had no slippage even when 4x4 left to auto mode. Thet also seem to fill and fit the wheel arches better and give what is essentially quite a dull car a bit more of a purposeful look. Will be buying again 100%.
Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on June 11, 2021
Given 85% while driving a Fiat doblo (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Great tires wet and dry. Quiet too.
Helpful 8 - tire reviewed on March 28, 2021
Given 91% while driving a Renault Koleos (225/65 R17 H) on mostly country roads for 1,000 average miles
Always rated Avon tires never been disappointed when I've fitted them on previous vehicle. So this time i was looking for an all terrain tire that would be able to stand up to mostly country lanes, easy green laning and trips accross Salisbury plain. I was delighted to find that on paper Avon AX7 tire looked the right fit. Well i can say i have throw everything at it snow/mud and flooded roads and not once has they ever struggled. I really rate these tire if you the average country person who needs a litter more than a road bias tire but no need for a full on noisey mud terrian tire. They are a good all rounder and i think are as good as goodrich all terrain tire and at a real cost at saving. Give them a try
Helpful 15 - tire reviewed on February 13, 2021