Nokian WeatherProof SUV

The Nokian WeatherProof SUV is a Premium Touring All Season tire designed to be fitted to SUV and 4x4s.

This tire has been replaced by the Nokian SeasonProof SUV.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 82%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 79%
Handling 71%
Wear 65%
Comfort 81%
Buy again 88%
Snow Grip 87%
Ice Grip 73%

Tire review data from 11 tire reviews averaging 79% over 60,353 miles driven.

The WeatherProof SUV is ranked 8th of 18 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tire Test - 4th of 9 tires

  • Positive - Strong winter abilities, good aquaplaning result, low noise.
  • Negative - Extended wet and dry braking, understeer in the dry.
View Full Test >>

2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test - 3rd of 10 tires

  • Positive - Short braking distances in the snow, good in the wet, high resistance to aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Long braking distances in the dry, low lateral stability in the snow.
  • Overall - Recommended.
View Full Test >>

2019 Tire Tests

  • 4th: 2019 Auto Bild All Season SUV Tire Test (235/55 R19)
  • 2018 Tire Tests

  • 3rd: 2018 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test (235/60 R18)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    225/70 R16 107H   C B 69  
    235/60 R17 106H   C A 69  
    225/65 R17 106H   C A 69  
    255/55 R18 109V   C A 70  
    235/55 R19 105V   C B 69  

    Sorry, we don't currently have any questions and answers for the Nokian WeatherProof SUV. Why not submit a question to our tire experts using the form below!

    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    YouTube Review

    Top 3 Nokian WeatherProof SUV Reviews

    Given 90% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Bought to replace a set of aging Continetal tires on a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD. Have to say the grip in both the wet and dry is a much better. Snow performance wise we were not able to get out of our street on the old tires last year, the Nokians handled everything thrown at them so we were very pleased and no issues with grp. So far we have done arond 2000 miles on them so it's too early t comment on wear. Road noise wise they were louder than expected when new but the noise reduced after the first 200 miles, and they are much quieter than the previous tires we had. Off road, 4x4 traction and Nokian Tires did not have any problems with muddy roads. Will definately buy again unless the wear turns out to be poor. Value wise, much better than the more expensive brrands available.
    Helpful 51 - tire reviewed on February 17, 2016
    Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on mostly country roads for 10 average miles

    VOLVO XC60 D4
    Purchased 4 Nokian Weatherproof tires 18 months ago and covered less than 10,000 miles in that period , I am now having to replace them as all 4 tires have deep cracks between the tread and I fear they are unsafe to drive on.
    On doing some internet searching I found this seems to be common with these tires with the ones made in Russia (check for yourself )
    Helpful 25 - tire reviewed on November 4, 2019
    Given 93% while driving a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD Auto (235/60 R18 V) on a combination of roads for 12,000 average miles
    Second review. Have now done 12,000 miles on these tires in a Volvo XC60 D5 AWD. Wear has been great, all four tires are just between the 8-6 mm wear marks. Snow, Cold and wet Road performance has been exceptional. As we live in the northern part of the UK we opted for these instead of having a dedicated winter set of tires. Really pleased with these tires, dry Road performance not as good as a summer tire but not far from it. Will buy again.
    Helpful 18 - tire reviewed on March 27, 2017
    Have you driven on the Nokian WeatherProof SUV tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Nokian WeatherProof SUV? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Nokian WeatherProof SUV >

    Latest Nokian WeatherProof SUV Reviews

    Given 83% while driving a Volvo XC60 (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 43 spirited miles
    My vehicle is now on its second set of Nokian Weatherproof Tires. When I purchased my Volvo XC60. It came with a mix of budget and mid range Tires. So the handling and overall performance of the vehicle on four new Nokians was immediately noticeable. We live in a rural area. So the roads are usually covered in muck from the tires of tractors exiting fields. And in Winter they can be pretty treacherous with snow and ice. The Volvo always appears to be quite happy on these tires no matter what the conditions. So we will be ordering a third set of new Nokian boots for it. The last set were fitted approximately 42,000 miles ago or two years past. And they’re still well above 1.6 mm but getting close to the wear bands. And they are starting to give offa very feint low level drone. Typically heard when tires are nearing the time to be replaced. I’ll get a good few miles out them yet. But will be sticking with the Nokians for my Volvo XC60 for sure.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on April 17, 2022
    Given 80% while driving a Volvo XC70 D5 (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
    Now on my second set of these. excellent wet, mud and snow grip, average on a dry. For an SUV tire they are also pretty good on the motorway especially low reverberation and low noise level. Good value for money only drawback is that they do wear comparatively quickly but at the price that is not too important. i would definitely buy again for my kind of use and have already recommended to friends
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on October 5, 2020
    All Season VS Winter Tires: What is REALLY Best?! Click to find out!
    Given 64% while driving a Volvo XC90 (2) D5 momentum (235/55 R19 V) on a combination of roads for 24,000 spirited miles
    Used all year round for 39000km starting in a snowy winter. They handled snow covered roads with fairly steep inclines very well. Performed better than Pirelli Scorpion winters on snow in my opinion (which are not good at all as they get toward the end of their wear). Handling is ok but not great. They are of course noisier than summer tires but tolerable on most road surfaces. We have been happy with the tires but are now going back to dedicated summer and winter tires.
    Helpful 6 - tire reviewed on September 28, 2020
    Given 86% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover P38 (255/50 R18) on mostly country roads for 6,000 average miles
    Weatherproof SUV on Range Rover P38 diesel. During the hottest summer for years and 6000 miles (2000 around Scotland) only wore down 2mm. I have used them in wet and very pleased with the grip over that from Pirelli Scorpions it previously had. As an off-roader I have used them at our 4x4 site, as well as going to marshal at others. They do very well and are actually better off-road than Falken AT we also have. The Nokians have a kevlar type layer in the sidewalls to give better protection against damage and punctures.

    Will buy them again and also when the time comes see if I can get them for our other vehicles.
    Helpful 11 - tire reviewed on October 30, 2018
    Given 85% while driving a Hyundai Accent (225/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 1,000 easy going miles
    I bought these having checked other "all season" type tires as Nokian actually rate them as more winter with a summer bias.I have replaced the Hankooks on the Tucson as I did not feel they were right for me and as the Tucson is 2WD I needed something more suited to a wet and occasional snowy climate. Well I am delighted with them ,quiet,good roadholding and superb in the wet. I am near Glasgow in the country and now we have had 15" of drifting snow they were absolutely brilliant--on normal road easy pull off,no wheel spin ans drove off on 12" snow no bother. A really good investment--no downsides at all so far.
    Helpful 7 - tire reviewed on March 2, 2018
    Suzuki (215/65 R16) on a combination of roads for 12,000 easy going miles
    Very good tires . comfort with the feeling of security in winter and condition
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on June 25, 2017
    Given 63% while driving a BMW X3 (225/60 R17 H) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
    I have recently mounted the Nokian Weatherproof SUV on my BWM X3. Although I cannot comment on Summer and Snow performance yet, both wet (heavy and light) and dry handling feel excellent; that is, under what I would call "responsible driving behaviour". Too early to comment on wear as I have only covered 300 miles. However, on the road these Nokian tires feel very responsive and amazingly quiet. Off road, 4x4 traction and Nokian Tires did not have any problems with muddy roads. Except any surprises relating to wear, I shall buy these tires again.
    Helpful 12 - tire reviewed on February 7, 2016
    Given 82% while driving a Land Rover Range Rover Evoque (235/55 R18) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
    A good balance of tire which works well in towns and off road on fields much better than summer 4x4 tires.

    Not tried in snow yet
    Helpful 9 - tire reviewed on January 5, 2016