Avon ZT5

The Avon ZT5 is a Touring Summer tire designed to be fitted to Passenger Cars.

This tire has been replaced by the Avon ZT7.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 81%
Wet Grip 67%
Road Feedback 73%
Handling 65%
Wear 73%
Comfort 74%
Buy again 60%

Tire review data from 29 tire reviews averaging 70% over 342,422 miles driven.

The ZT5 is ranked 76th of 207 Summer Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2015 Market Overview - Braking Test - 45th of 52 tires

View Full Test >>

2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tire Test - 13th of 16 tires

  • Negative - Weak on dry and wet roads, slightly higher fuel consumption and wear
View Full Test >>

2015 Tire Tests

  • 45th: 2015 Market Overview - Braking Test (185/60 R15)
  • 2014 Tire Tests

  • 13th: 2014 ADAC 175/65 R14 Summer Tire Test (175/65 R14)
  • Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
    155/65 R13 73T   E C 70 5.41kgs
    165/65 R13 77T   E C 70 5.67kgs
    175/65 R13 80T   E C 70 6.15kgs
    155/70 R13 75T   E C 70 5.72kgs
    165/70 R13 79T   E C 70 6.11kgs
    175/70 R13 82T   C C 70 6.57kgs
    185/55 R14 80H   E C 70 7.83kgs
    165/60 R14 75H   E C 70 6.75kgs
    165/60 R14 75T   E C 70 6.16kgs
    185/60 R14 82T   C C 70 7.24kgs
    155/65 R14 75T   E C 70 5.76kgs
    165/65 R14 79T   E C 70 5.96kgs
    175/65 R14 82T   C C 70 6.67kgs
    175/65 R14 86T XL   C C 71 6.67kgs
    175/65 R14 82H   C C 70 7.40kgs
    185/65 R14 86H   C C 70 7.90kgs
    185/65 R14 86T   C C 70 7.26kgs
    165/70 R14 81T   E C 70 6.46kgs
    165/70 R14 85T XL   C C 71 6.46kgs
    175/70 R14 84T   C C 70 7.12kgs
    175/70 R14 88T XL   C C 71 7.12kgs
    185/70 R14 88T   C C 70 7.67kgs
    185/70 R14 88H   C C 70 8.30kgs
    185/55 R15 82H   C C 70 7.91kgs
    195/55 R15 85H   C C 71 8.65kgs
    185/60 R15 88H XL   C C 71 8.24kgs
    195/60 R15 88H   C C 71 8.85kgs
    205/60 R15 95H XL   C C 72 9.39kgs
    165/65 R15 81T   E C 70 6.46kgs
    185/65 R15 88T   C C 70 7.74kgs
    195/65 R15 95T XL   C C 72 8.79kgs
    195/65 R15 95H XL   C C 72 8.94kgs
    195/65 R15 91T   C C 71 8.30kgs
    205/65 R15 94H   C C 71 9.32kgs
    205/60 R16 92H   C C 71 9.92kgs

    Questions and Answers for the Avon ZT5

    2016-05-15 - Hi I run a Opel Manta Stage Rally Car we are Tarmac spec for Stage demo runs. I have 15" rims. BUT we have been asked to do Navigational event North Wales we have had to go back to 14" Ronal wheels to run as 80's period. Being only Grp A spec the car is narrow body so we have to run 60 series tire. I have opted to buy 4 Avon ZT5 . THE QUESTION IS HOW WILL THESE TYRES COPE WITH SMOOTH TARMAC / MUD/ GRAVEL / RIVER CROSSING. (FORD). WHAT COMPOUND ARE THEY IE: super soft/ soft/medium /hard ? I'm not to worried about noise were on intercom

    The Avon ZT5's are likely to struggle with any serious speed on a rough surface - they're a soft structured low rolling resistance road tire.


    Ask a question

    We will never publish or share your email address

    capatha

    To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


    Top 3 Avon ZT5 Reviews

    Given 70% while driving a Fiat doblo (225/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 8,000 easy going miles
    The tire walls perished and cracked to such an extent that all were scrap at 14 months old and 8k miles even though the date stamp showed they were manufactured in the year of fitting (2014) and they were in UK (i.e. negligible sun damage). Never again.
    Helpful 53 - tire reviewed on March 30, 2016
    Given 31% while driving a Volkswagen Golf 1.9 Tdi (195/65 R15) on a combination of roads for 10 average miles
    Got to be the worst griping tire there has ever been made , in the wet they are absolutely lethal you cannot go round roundabout any more than 15mph , tight bends put your toe down and it just slips all over , still wheel spins in 3rd gear in the wet , considering its a vw golf which is a good handling car but it is probably the worst handling with these on never had no problems with my verdisteins , comforts ok and fairly cheap but I would never buy them again they are not safe !!
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on August 28, 2016
    Mitsubishi Colt (175/65 R14) on mostly town for 2,000 easy going miles
    I tend not to drive in such a fashion as to put a tire under any great load, and wet braking at speed is probably not something I have had to do for decades. Perhaps keeping ones distance and considering the road conditions means a driver can avoid such perils. However I accept that emergencies do happen due to the poor driving of others.
    I had two Avon ZT5 tires fitted a few months ago. They replaced two Nexen tires which didn't last very long on the front.
    Given my sedate driving I assumed the Nexen would last, but sadly they showed considerable wear after only 8000 miles.
    The Avons seem quieter although not by much. They are also a very handsome tire, which won't concern some but will interest others. They are yet to show any signs of wear. They seem grippy enough in all conditions for normal driving.
    I have a pair of Continentals on the back, factory fitted. Loads of wear left, but cracking badly after 6 years. When I replace them I will buy some more Avons.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on July 13, 2018
    Have you driven on the Avon ZT5 tire?

    Have YOU got experience with the Avon ZT5? Help millions of other tire buyers

    Review your Avon ZT5 >

    Latest Avon ZT5 Reviews

    Given 84% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 20,000 spirited miles
    Purchased these tires twice for a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v. Not the quickest of cars by any stretch, but driven hard almost all the time. Tires lasted 20000 miles both times they were fitted and a good price also.

    Never noticed any issues with heavy breaking, but the tires would easily slide on a wet road given half a chance, especially when accelerating off of a roundabout.

    Quiet and comfortable enough, no issues there.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on August 1, 2019
    Given 86% while driving a Daihatsu Sirion (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 34,000 average miles
    I have been well pleased with Avon ZT5 tires. They have lasted a lot longer than the original tires fitted to the car. At 34000 miles they are still giving good grip, are above the legal limit & shall only be replacing them to be assured of passing MOT. Shall replace with Avon XT5.

    For a general family car these are great value tires.

    For folks saying they break away in the wet, could I respectfully suggest that your driving style is not suited to a family car.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on June 3, 2018
    Want the best Performance summer tire? Click here!
    Given 84% while driving a Citroën xsara picasso (185/65 R15 N) on a combination of roads for 15,000 easy going miles
    Fitted to my wife's MPV so far these tires have been no problems at all. Compared to the previous tires they have a much lower wear rate and improved handling. They provide good grip in both wet and dry conditions and excellent wear rate. For a family vehicle, they are a good choice. Will definitely buy again.
    Helpful 4 - tire reviewed on March 20, 2018
    Given 91% while driving a (195/60 R15) on a combination of roads for 2,000 average miles
    Replaced my previous tires which were Runway Enduro (and rubbish even though they were only half worn) with the ZT5's. What a diference! The feel through the steering is a revelation, the comfort, road noise and fuel economy are all much better. They grip well in dry or wet conditions and all for under £50 a corner fitted. Obviously they are not fitted to a sports car so not tested to extreme levels but overall very impressed. I would definitely recommend.
    Helpful 5 - tire reviewed on September 10, 2017
    Given 64% while driving a Citroën C2 VTS (175/60 R14) on mostly country roads for 500 average miles
    Got some ZT5's on the front of my Citroen c2 and although they seem great in dry weather and very little road noise they just don't perform as well in wet and gravel, I pull away from a junction near where I live and almost always wheel spin as there is some gravel. once when it was wet on the same junction they just wouldn't find any grip. At first I thought I had broken something on the car as it juddered and wouldn't move for a split second and then realised the tires were slipping on the slight wet gravel. Compared to some grip 300's (cheap) I have on some alloys that were on the car previously the avons seems to be a lot less capable in the wet and I just don't feel so safe with them on.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on July 16, 2016
    Given 77% while driving a Volkswagen fox (185/60 R14 H) on a combination of roads for 18,000 spirited miles
    Very Mid-range tire. Will grip effectively in all conditions, but they are fairly noisy (especially on motorway). Last approx 20K on front and 30K on back
    Helpful 3 - tire reviewed on March 18, 2016
    Given 75% while driving a Volkswagen Sharan 1.9TDi (190/65 R15 H) on mostly town for 7,000 average miles
    Replaced Front tires on my VW Sharan 1996 with 195/65 R15 XL 95H load tires. I was looking for a set with the 95 Load rating vs the 91 rating. Overall the tires seem good, only replaced the fronts to start around 3 month ago, wear seems ok, done around 3000 miles. The ride is a bit nicer than when on the 91 tires but saying that the noise is slightly more, not sure if that normal or not. Mainly I was attracted to these by the price and Avon being a know brand. I am considering replacing the rears now and will probably opt for the same one.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on September 29, 2015
    Given 60% while driving a Daewoo Matiz (155/65 R13 T) on a combination of roads for 18,000 easy going miles
    Better grip than Barum Brilliantis and Khumo KH17, but quite a bit noisier than both. Average wear.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on August 8, 2015
    Given 100% while driving a Skoda Fabia 1.2 (165/70 R14 T) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
    i have put the tires on my car on my car and i love them amazing grip and i have pushed them to the limit racing my mate on a closed track on them and grip was top marks and drove home in the wet never lost grip ones i recommend them
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on February 27, 2015
    Given 46% while driving a Ford Fiesta (175/65 R14 T) on mostly motorways for 15,000 easy going miles
    After 24000 km I changed them due to wearness. I was feeling unsafe especially on wet road. The front tires in order to look properly should be inflated with 45 psi. Avoid them!
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on October 9, 2014
    Given 90% while driving a Fiat Punto 1.2 8v (165/70 R14 T) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    First set of tires I've ever had to buy, and for my Fiat Punto, they are a nice cheap set of tires that offer good grip and wear levels. I previously had 3 makes of tire on the car, so going to one set across the car made a big difference.
    Would buy again when I need to get some more.
    Helpful 1 - tire reviewed on April 15, 2014
    Given 53% while driving a Volkswagen Caddy (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
    Have avon zt 5 tires fitted to my vw caddy van they are very good in dry conditions , but in the wet are very poor ,no grip at low speeds on roundabouts , and some corners.
    Helpful 2 - tire reviewed on October 3, 2013