Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

With a best-in-class EU label A-grade in wet grip, the new Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO ensures outstanding control in the wet, and all without compromising on wear life.

This tire replaced the Bridgestone Weather Control A005.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 97%
Road Feedback 87%
Handling 88%
Wear 88%
Comfort 89%
Buy again 96%
Snow Grip 70%
Ice Grip 68%

Tire review data from 16 tire reviews averaging 86% over 27,625 miles driven.

The Weather Control A005 EVO is ranked 6th of 42 All Season Premium Touring tires.

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Auto Bild SUV All Season Tire Test - 5th of 12 tires

  • Positive - High traction and short braking distances in the snow, precise steering behavior and dynamic driving qualities in the wet, good safety reserves for longitudinal aquaplaning.
  • Negative - Long dry braking.
View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild All Season Tire Test - 9th of 18 tires

  • Positive - Sporty dynamic dry handling, good traction and short braking on ice and snow, stable wet handling.
  • Negative - Understeer snow handling, poor wear.
View Full Test >>

2021 AZ All Season Tire Test - 5th of 9 tires

  • Overall - Whether cold or warm: The Bridgestone Weather Control A005 Evo is ideal wet and dry conditions. In the snow, however only average grip
View Full Test >>
Sorry, we don't currently have any label data for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

Questions and Answers for the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO

2021-01-02 - Please can you clarify the legal position on fitting these tires for winter use, relative to sizing. Example: normal tire is 225/50/R17 on alloys, but looking at a set of steel rims (for winter use only), that the dealer says will need to be R16, so the winter tire size they recommended would be 215/60/R16. This should give the same rolling radius for the speedometer, but are there any legal or insurance implications? Thanks for any guidance you can offer.

Assuming the manufacturer recommended this size in the handbook there will be no legal issues. It might be prudent to notify your insurance as UK insurers can be very uptight about wheel size changes for winter tires.


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


YouTube Review

Top 3 Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Renault Talisman 160 edc estate (225/45 R17) on mostly motorways for 0 spirited miles
Complete set of tires fitted today.245/40 19 Very little difference in the EVO tire pattern to the original, but maybe the improvements are what you cannot see? I will review in 10,000 kms. I have to make a few journeys through the Alps in the next six months, so I am sure their snow performance will be tested. What I know from my experience with the original A005’s is that wet grip is superb, aquaplaning greatly reduced risk, low wear, quiet and low rolling resistance.
109 - tire reviewed on October 21, 2020   
Given 79% while driving a Volkswagen mk7 Golf GTD (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
A very good tire from Bridgestone. Smashes the current Michelin cross climate in all but dry braking. One of the best straight aquaplaning tires by far. At speed on the motorway in deep standing water there fantastic. A very predictable tire with a very rounded package. You can almost feel the road. Very good. Maybe on the verge of unbeatable. Lets see how they perform when worn. Turn in not as good as Michelin Pilot sport 4 but better than Michelin Cross climate gen 2. Very expensive, but a must for people who just want to go at speed and get done. As a car mechanic and we fit loads of tires these are good.
19 - tire reviewed on December 21, 2020   
Given 92% while driving a Hyundai Accent (215/50 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Replaced a (second) full set of Michelin Cross Climate +, due to slow punctures in 3 of them after 3k miles. These EVO tires immediately felt more responsive, turning and braking, at all speeds. They are quieter and with more forgiving ride, than on the Cross Climate+ when new. My driving is A-roads and Motorways, where roads are wet/greasy or dry but rarely icy/snowy. I'm very pleased with these tires.
17 - tire reviewed on November 13, 2020   
Have you driven on the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO >

Latest Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO Reviews

Given 84% while driving a Jeep Rengade (215/60 R17) on mostly motorways for 4,000 average miles
My Jeep Renegade came with Bridgestone Blizzak wintertires from the factory, which is a bit odd especially since it is produced in sunny Italy. Very noisy and quite useless on anything but snow. So I changed them with these All Seasons before they were worn, mainly based on the Tirerieview.com test. Main reason was the the excellent wet performance of the non-Evo Weathercontrol A005, in exchange for snow performance. This should be better with this one, but since I live in The Netherlands that is not really an issue for me. The tires are very quiet, have very good dry grip. On cold and wet roads the do perform better then any other winter or all season tire (Michelin, Bridgestone, en Dunlop included) I have ever had experience with. Steering feel is non-existent, but that is probably mainly due to the little Jeep itself and the tall walls. Tire wear isn't noticeable yet, but then they are just 2 months and 4k miles old. Lovely tires and I should have replaced the OEM Blizzaks much earlier.
3 - tire reviewed on November 8, 2021   
Given 88% while driving a Ford Fiesta (195/50 R15) on a combination of roads for 1,000 average miles
Hi. I chose this tire on the strength of the TireReviews’ review of its predecessor, and because not all tires in this class are available in the size I need. Fitted to a 1.4l TDCI Fiesta, so not a sports car by any means, but a perfectly capable car, fun to drive on twisty roads and holds its own on the motorway. First 1000 miles driven across M, A and B roads, twisty country lanes and suburban London, in dry and wet weather. Mix of driving styles but mainly average. Not yet driven in winter conditions. So, initially, a very comfortable tire to drive on, not too noisy, comfort levels good, car handles well and responds well to changes of direction, feels sure-footed and safe. Dry grip is very good. Again, not driving a high-performance vehicle in a spirited way, but car grips well in dry conditions and feels safe and predictable. Tires absolutely shine in the wet. Whether rain, running water on the road or standing water, these may be the best wet weather tires I’ve ever driven on. Grip levels extremely high, and remain high even driving through large pools of standing or running water. In the wet, the tires feel incredibly safe indeed. So, first 1000 miles down and so far, so good. A great choice for average motoring on an average car in average UK circumstances. I will endeavour to update after winter. Cheers all, and safe motoring.
4 - tire reviewed on November 3, 2021   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 92% while driving a BMW X3 (225/60 R17) on a combination of roads for 3,000 average miles
Replaced separate sets of winter and summer tires with these. Compared to the original Pirelli BMW * rated OE summer tires, these are quieter, the ride is softer and more comfortable, and economy is about 2mpg (5%) better. There is no obvious difference in grip in the dry, and they feel very secure in the wet. I’ve yet to compare them to the winter tires, but I live in the south of England with frequent trips up north to see family, and their job is to get me home and keep me safe if it snows, so they should be fine. CrossClimate 2’s came out just after I bought these but so far, I’m very impressed.
2 - tire reviewed on September 25, 2021   
Given 93% while driving a Skoda (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Super impressed with these tires on my Yeti 4x4 makes the car more peaceful and relaxing (moved from Pirelli Centro tires) and even though theses are all season tires they better all round for me. Wet grip is astonishing and i'm so glad I went with theses tires. I haven't commented on wear and snow and Ice and I haven't used them long enough to have tried these out.
4 - tire reviewed on August 5, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a Volkswagen EOS (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I was impressed with how good Bridgestone Weather Control A005 EVO performed on all conditions.
4 - tire reviewed on July 12, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 4,000 spirited miles
I've now driven these in cold-wet conditions (best suited to); in heavy snow and ice on Scottish mountains where they "got me home"; and dry hot summer days back in London where you can feel the reduction in grip vs summer tire (but nothing too bad); plus torrential rain to gauge aqua-planing. Really not a bad tire. As in my earlier reviews, they've handled all conditions as advertised, and I would buy again. Key things -- on snow/ice, if you drive carefully, they'll get you home in any conditions. In cold-wet they transform grip, and also great in torrential rain as advertised. In hot-dry conditions, you need to drive & think ahead to avoid any compromises as they are softer than summer-tires and will slide more as they heat-up. Wear was not bad, even on the back of my MX-5. On a heavier car, driven primarily in South of UK, I can imagine 12k miles of life, as this is a stickier softer tire, but that's what you are buying !!! Thoroughly recommend this. A great option if you only see a few days of snow each year.
3 - tire reviewed on June 25, 2021   
Given 96% while driving a Skoda (225/50 R17 R) on a combination of roads for 1,500 spirited miles
Decided to go for these after a bad skid in ice last winter. 4 Bridgestones replaced 2 Goodyear Efficient Grip and 2 budgets. Waited until I was able to test them in winter conditions before I reviewed. The tires have a distinctive feel. Much less pointed than the Goodyear but that's to be expected and not a bad thing. Noticeable improvement to the ride quality, particularly over bumps. Outstanding ice and snow performance for an all season tire. Climbed a very steep country lane with compacted ice in -6°C weather without a blink. Excellent in the wet. Car feels planted and confident. I have noticed a dip in fuel consumption of about 5 mpg but that's my only negative really.
3 - tire reviewed on March 12, 2021   
Given 87% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 2,000 spirited miles
I've now done 2000 miles with theseveral on my Mazda Mx-5 ND 2.0L manual. They've transformed grip vs OEM in cold wet conditions. And have been used in the snow and ice. Grip is poor, as the car floats on the snow, but I never got stuck despite driving in drifting snow in Scottish Highlands during February, and ocassional ice. Would recommend as advertised for cold wet conditions, and infrequent snow, where the objective is to get home safely.
3 - tire reviewed on February 17, 2021   
Given 92% while driving a Toyota GT86 (215/45 R17 W) on a combination of roads for 100 spirited miles
My Car is a GT86, came standard with Michelin Primacy HP as Summer and Bridgestone Blizzak as Winter. Size is 215/45R17. Both Sets were produced in Q3/2012, so pretty old by now and got very hard by now (especially the Michelins) The new Set of Tires (the Bridgestone Weather Control) are softer and ride quality is much improved. Less crashy over bumps and they feel quieter than before. Due to the softer compound, the tires are now doing more of the suspension work, before the suspension actually starts working. Feels great that way. They are also incredibly grippy (compared to the old ones) so going into a drift takes a little more effort, but once in the drift, its easier to keep it there (less steering input is needed to correct it) Tested it on a rainy day and temperatures were at 7° C
1 - tire reviewed on February 8, 2021   
Given 79% while driving a Audi A1 (215/45 R17 V) on mostly motorways for 1,000 average miles
Overall, a good set of tires. In the dry the grip is good, nothing special but good considering they are all weather tires. In the wet is where they start to shine, good grip both in acceleration and braking as well as in the turns with wet roads. At highway speed, in very wet conditions under heavy rain, no aquaplaning at all. They give a lot of confidence in these situations. In snow they are used to take you home, they do not have a spectacular performance, but if you live in climates like me where it snows once every three or four years, on the days that it snows you will not have problems to return home safely. If you drive on snowy roads frequently or go a lot to ski resorts, these are not the right tires, they have not been designed for that, in those situations a set of full winter tires are the right ones. But as I say, for normal day-to-day driving in dry or wet, very good tires. In the snow they will save you, nothing else.
3 - tire reviewed on January 10, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a BMW BMW X2 XDRIVE 20D M SPORT X AUTO (225/45 R19 V) on mostly country roads for 25 average miles
I have just fitted these tires, which replaced Continental Eco Contact 6 (Run Flat) and thought I would give some initial feedback. After the hard and noisy run flats, these Bridgestone's are so much more compliant and quiet, yet so far I have not noticed any loss of feedback, in fact the first drive in greasy wet conditions, showed the tire to provide good feedback and grip, which inspires confidence. I will update once I have covered more miles.
4 - tire reviewed on December 16, 2020   
Given 100% while driving a Mazda MX5 2.0 SE (ND 2015 onwards) (205/45 R17) on mostly country roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Fitted to rear wheels of Mazda MX5 ND (2017 2.0L), these have immediately cured the sliding issues of the hard Bridgestones that the car was originall fitted with, when it is a bit cold & a bit wet. Feels very secure. Not quite cold enough yet for snow, but very happy with feel and grip at few degrees above zero in the wet. Good price too. Have done 1000 miles since purchase in mostly cold-wet conditions, and was after a premium tire that'll get me home if it snows, and safer in the winter. This is a good option !
1 - tire reviewed on December 13, 2020