Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

The MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S is an ultra-high performance tire which replaces the MICHELIN Pilot Super Sport in the range of outstanding tires from the French manufacturer.

Designed for sports cars and high performance saloons, the MICHELIN PILOT SPORT 4 S offers unparalleled driving pleasure thanks to its exceptional steering precision and directional stability. It provides maximum performance and safety on all surfaces due to its optimised tread footprint which grips the road in all situations, even the most extreme.

This tire replaced the Michelin Pilot Super Sport.

Tire Reviews

Dry Grip 93%
Wet Grip 89%
Road Feedback 86%
Handling 89%
Wear 85%
Comfort 86%
Buy again 87%

Tire review data from 92 tire reviews averaging 88% over 483,555 miles driven.

The Pilot Sport 4 S is ranked 3rd of 64 Summer Max Performance tires.

Reports

Latest Tire Test Results

2021 Sport Auto UHP Summer Tire Test - 1st of 8 tires

  • Positive - Very short braking distances in the wet and dry, high levels of grip, very direct steering response and very high steering prevision in the dry, low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Very narrow grip limit with tendency to oversteer in the wet, slight restrictions in ride comfort.
  • Overall - The Pilot Sport 4S delivers precise, reliable steering and top grip in the dry and wet.
View Full Test >>

Should You Fit OE Tires? Michelin Pilot Sport 4S vs 4S * (BMW) - 1st of 2 tires

View Full Test >>

2021 Auto Bild UUHP Summer Tire Test - 3rd of 9 tires

  • Positive - The Pilot Sport 4S is a premium summer tire with sporty dynamic handling in the dry, precise steering, short wet and dry braking distances and low rolling resistance.
  • Negative - Very expensive.
  • Overall - Highly Recommended.
View Full Test >>
Size Fuel Wet Noise Weight
215/35 R18 84Y XL   E A 71 8.58kgs
235/40 R18 95Y XL DT1 E B 71 9.82kgs
245/30 R19 89Y XL   E A 71 9.59kgs
255/30 R19 91Y XL   E A 71 11.15kgs
265/30 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 11.10kgs
275/30 R19 96Y XL   E A 71 12.21kgs
295/30 R19 100Y XL   C A 73 12.79kgs
305/30 R19 102Y XL   C A 73 12.67kgs
325/30 R19 105Y XL   C A 73 14.28kgs
225/35 R19 88Y XL   E A 71 9.50kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL DT1 E A 71 9.87kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.22kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL   C A 71 10.08kgs
235/35 R19 91Y XL MO1 E A 71 9.92kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL MO1 E A 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 10.40kgs
255/35 R19 92Y   E A 72 10.77kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 10.81kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL MO1 E B 71 10.93kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL * E B 71 11.36kgs
255/35 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.44kgs
265/35 R19 98Y XL   C A 71 11.51kgs
275/35 R19 96Y   E A 72 11.93kgs
275/35 R19 100Y XL   C A 71 12.53kgs
285/35 R19 103Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
295/35 R19 104Y XL MO1 E B 73 12.98kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL   E A 71 9.97kgs
225/40 R19 93Y XL * E B 71 9.91kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.26kgs
235/40 R19 96Y XL NA0 E B 71 10.72kgs
255/40 R19 100Y XL   E B 71 12.97kgs
265/40 R19 102Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.25kgs
275/40 R19 105Y XL   E B 71 14.23kgs
225/45 R19 96Y XL   C A 71 11.50kgs
285/25 R20 93Y XL   E A 73 11.70kgs
295/25 R20 95Y XL   E A 73 12.98kgs
305/25 R20 97Y XL   E A 73 12.19kgs
325/25 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.70kgs
235/30 R20 88Y XL   E A 71 9.70kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL AO E B 71 10.30kgs
245/30 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.38kgs
255/30 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.52kgs
265/30 R20 94Y XL   E A 71 11.49kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL A T0 C B 71 12.88kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL MO E A 71 12.09kgs
275/30 R20 97Y XL   C A 71 11.76kgs
285/30 R20 99Y XL   E A 73 12.71kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.18kgs
295/30 R20 101Y XL   C A 73 13.46kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL N0 E B 73 14.12kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL AO E B 73 13.83kgs
305/30 R20 103Y XL   C A 73 13.85kgs
345/30 R20 106Y   C A 72 15.44kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 13.00kgs
225/35 R20 90Y XL   E A 71 10.90kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL N0 E B 71 10.48kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL   E A 71 10.29kgs
235/35 R20 92Y XL A T0 E A 71 11.17kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL   C A 71 10.80kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K1 C B 71 10.54kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL MO E B 71 10.85kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL K2 C B 71 10.08kgs
245/35 R20 95Y XL N0 E B 71 11.04kgs
255/35 R20 97Y XL   E A 71 11.96kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 11.79kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL MO1 E B 71 11.92kgs
265/35 R20 99Y XL N0 E B 71 12.41kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL * E B 71 12.20kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL   C A 71 13.38kgs
275/35 R20 102Y XL K1 E C 71 11.76kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL K2 E B 73 13.08kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL * E B 73 13.21kgs
285/35 R20 104Y XL   C A 73 13.77kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL A MO1       13.91kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL K1 C B 73 14.50kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL NA0 E B 73 13.71kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 13.68kgs
295/35 R20 105Y XL   C A 73 13.83kgs
315/35 R20 110Y XL K1 E C 73 15.00kgs
235/40 R20 96Y XL   C A 71 11.41kgs
245/40 R20 99Y XL   C A 71 12.77kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL MO1 C B 71 12.00kgs
255/40 R20 101Y XL   C A 71 12.80kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.78kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL   C A 71 13.10kgs
265/40 R20 104Y XL A MO1       13.45kgs
275/40 R20 106Y XL   C A 71 14.75kgs
235/45 R20 100Y XL   C A 71 13.42kgs
245/45 R20 103Y XL   C A 71 13.51kgs
255/45 R20 105Y XL   C A 71 14.43kgs
295/25 R21 96Y XL   E A 73 12.87kgs
305/25 R21 98Y XL   E A 73 13.02kgs
325/25 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.00kgs
245/30 R21 91Y XL   E A 71 10.68kgs
255/30 R21 93Y XL   E A 71 11.31kgs
265/30 R21 96Y XL   E A 71 11.35kgs
275/30 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 12.50kgs
295/30 R21 102Y XL   C A 73 13.62kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL MO1 E B 73 14.78kgs
315/30 R21 105Y XL A MO1 E B 73 15.33kgs
325/30 R21 108Y XL   C A 73 15.40kgs
245/35 R21 96Y XL A T0 C A 71 11.41kgs
255/35 R21 98Y XL   C A 71 11.39kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL A T0 E B 71 12.77kgs
265/35 R21 101Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL A MO1 E B 71 12.99kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL MO1 E B 71 12.60kgs
275/35 R21 103Y XL   C A 71 14.42kgs
295/35 R21 107Y XL MO1 C B 73 14.30kgs
255/40 R21 102Y XL * E B 71 13.01kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL * E B 71 13.73kgs
265/40 R21 105Y XL MO1 C B 71 13.10kgs
295/25 R22 97Y XL   E A 73 13.17kgs
255/30 R22 95Y XL   E A 71 11.66kgs
285/30 R22 101Y XL   C A 73 11.41kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL N0 C B 73 14.96kgs
315/30 R22 107Y XL   C A 73 16.00kgs
265/35 R22 102Y XL   C A 71 11.95kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL N0 C B 73 14.30kgs
285/35 R22 106Y XL   C A 73 14.72kgs
265/40 R22 106Y XL   C A 71 15.47kgs
275/40 R22 107Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs
275/40 R22 108Y XL   C A 71 13.75kgs

Questions and Answers for the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S

2016-10-06 - What sizes does it come in?

A full list of Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launch sizes can be found here.


2017-04-23 - Which are the differences between Michelin pilot sport 4 and Michelin pilot sport 4S?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4S is the larger, more performance orientated version of the Pilot Sport.


2017-10-03 - ust wondering where the directional indicator is on these tires ? All I can really find is the word "outside" which seems to suggest the tires can be run on both Left and Right sides of the vehicle.. Is this correct ? I recently had 4 tires fitted and when I look at the tread pattern from the rear of the vehicle, the outer tread grooves slant up on one side, whilst on the other side they slant downwards.. Just checking to see if this model of Tire is actually Asymmetrical, and when looking at the tire pattern from the rear, they should flow in the same direction ? Overall - do Michelin make these tires in both Left and Right variations ? or only one variation ?

The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is an asymmetric tire, and are mounted based on outside and inside. There are slight variations of tread directions when looking at left and right side tires mounted, but these have no affect on performance.


2018-02-22 - How have people found the 4 and 4S for driving from cold? I have used Asymmetrics 2s which will need replacing soon and would miss the fact that they seem to have the full complement of grip from the first turn of the wheel ,wet or dry. (Car is a B7 RS4).

The warm up of the 4S is incredibly impressive from cold on my M3. It's mentioned in the latest youtube video here


2018-04-23 - I have a 1-year old AMG C63 which will shortly need new tires all round. After research I would like to fit Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires all round but they don't come in a size for my rears. My fronts are 255/35 ZR19 and the rears are 285/30 ZR19. Do you think it would be okay to fit Pilot Sport 4S tires to the fronts and Pilot Super Sport to the rears? Neither tire comes in both the sizes I need. If it is not a good idea to fit these two types what would you recommend? My car currently has Continental ContiSport Contact 5P all round but these are wearing out so quickly. My annual mileage is about 6 - 7,000 miles of which a number are not done too gently. Thanks for your assistance.

I'd be more inclined to fit the PSS all round (you can get it in your front size) as I find a balanced car key to driving enjoyment. There's sadly no current plans for 285/30 R19 PS4S.


2018-07-22 - what would be the recommended camber angles for Michelin Pilot Sport 4S tires 235/45/17 for track day use on a rwd car? I know that exact number depends on car suspension etc, but can you please give me the reference point.

Camber angles are so vehicle and application dependant it's almost impossible to give an accurate starting point. As with any performance tire, using camber and pressures to ensure the tire is heated evenly is key. My starting point would likely be a little more negative camber than the OE settings and go from there.


2018-08-27 - Will the PS4S be available in 18" in the near future? I'd like to substitute the Potenza S001 on my 147 GTA by the PS4S but they aren't available and I don't want to spend the money in some PSS and that in a few months the release them. Thank you very much

There's no official date for 17 or 18 inch versions of the PS4S in Europe, but there are rumours it is coming! I wouldn't rely on seeing it before 2019.


2018-08-31 - I am driving a 2018 Mercedes E63s sedan. It came with Pirelli P zero tires. Even in comfort mode the car is extremely harsh for ride quality. I am looking to replace them with a set of tires that would give me the best ride quality over everything else. Is there a better soft riding tire for this car than the Michelin pilot sport 4s. Thank you.

The Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 3 is regarding as a very comfortable tire in certain sizes so worth checking out, but the 4S is the best all round tire available at the moment.


2019-05-06 - Will these PS4s be good for BMW 530d GT F07 for daily use, highway, city traffic? (20" size)

The PS4S is a great option for daily use.


2019-07-02 - Any news on if and when the PS4S will be available in 17" or 18"?

There's rumours a few 18" sizes will be available at some point in the future, but don't expect a lot of key sizes as they have in America. Michelin are happy with the PS4 covering this size range.


2019-08-16 - Hello, I have a Mercedes C63 with the 19” wheels, currently on MPSS which are fabulous although could be a little better for traction in the cold and wet. I don’t track the car just want solid road driving and enhanced wet weather grip. Would you recommend MPS4s or the new GoodYear supersports? Loved your recent film which leads me to believe the Goodyear are even better in the wet?

According to our test, the Goodyear Eagle F1 SuperSport should offer a little more wet traction than the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S. More tests will hopefully confirm this next year!


2019-09-27 - Hi Jonathan, first of all thanks for the excellent tire review videos and this great website! First question: how big is the difference between getting a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S with the BMW star indicator in comparison to a Michelin Pilot Sport 4S without any indicator or even a wrong indicator like MO for a BMW? Would be great to see a video on this with a BMW M2!!! Second question: how do you exactly measure stopping distance? When for example in the video it gives the average stopping distance for 100-0kph at which speed did you hit the brakes? At +6kph? And why don’t you measure 100-5kph as the german stopping distance DIN recommends? And how many brakes do you do to get an average? And do you just read the braking distance from the race logic instrumentation or do you use a different calculation like the MFDD (mean fully developed deceleration) to determine stopping distance? And which Instrumentation with how much Hz do you use? Thanks a lot in advance and keep up the fantastic reviews!

That's a lot of questions, so I'll summarise. Email in if you'd like more details.
1) Sometime very little differences between * and AO etc marked tires, sometimes a lot. You'd have to test on a case by case basis. 2) We always start braking at a higher speed, usually +5-8, and usually measure down to ~5kph due to ABS systems effecting the last few km/h. Sometimes we calculate down to zero, sometimes we just show the 100-5 distances. 3) We usually do 5-7 good braking runs to average per set. 4) Instrument depends on test location. Usually it's racelogic.


2019-12-05 - Hi I'm looking to buy Michelin ps4s for my TTRS but I've noticed the EU rating of C and E does this make a big difference to the performance of the tire.

The difference between a C and E grade in wet braking can be very small in the real world (grade D isn't used), but where possible always buy the newest version of the tire.


2021-07-04 - Recently replaced the pretty worn and aging Pilot Sport PS2 N2’s on my Porsche 997 Carrera S with PS4S. Sizes are 235/35/19 and 305/30/19. For whatever reason, the fronts were only available in a ‘DT1’ version. I was hesitant but went ahead with them. Having driven 200 km on them, so far I absolutely hate them. Turn in is so vague and indirect, simply changing lanes in the dry at normal speeds almost felt scary. I can’t find any good info on that DT1 version. These are my first 4S tires. Will things improve with mileage, different pressures, is it the DT1 (only front, rear is non-DT1) or is it just I made a mistake and should get PS2’s again? Thanks for any advice!

This is a common complaint about the PS4S. I'd suggest upping the pressures slightly on the front to try and compensate. The tires will bed in more, however it's unlikely they'll feel like the N specific PS2 sadly.


2021-07-26 - Where can I find the spec when it comes to the Run Flat characteristics of the Michelin Pilot Sport 4S?

Sadly I've never seen any runflat tires tested.


2021-11-13 - I’d appreciate some tire advice please. Wanting to change my F82 M4 competition tires from PSS to PS4S, as I have these on my Cayman and they are excellent. Weirdly though, I can only find the 285 30 20 rears in BMW homologation, not the fronts 265 30 20. I’m persuaded by your videos that OEM is better due to the R&D, but combining OEM with non-OEM on a different axle probably defeats the point. Is it better to just put the generic PS4S on both axles or generic front and BMW rear? Thoughts appreciated, thanks.

I'm not sure the F82 ever got the 4S officially, you're finding the rear of the G82. As you've seen in the video, they're quite different tires so I would probably choose to match all four tires with non-oe. Or fit a set of G82 wheels and use the 19" front :)


Ask a question

We will never publish or share your email address

capatha

To verify you're human please type the word you see above in the box below.


Pilot Sport 4 S Prices

Size Price Range  
225/45 R17 $201.00 - $207.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
235/35 R19 $263.00 - $268.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
245/35 R19 $262.00 - $308.99 (3 Prices) Compare Prices >>
255/35 R19 $253.00 - $266.99 (2 Prices) Compare Prices >>
Available in 67 tire sizes - View all.

YouTube Review

Top 3 Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 100% while driving a BMW M3 (275/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 1,000 spirited miles
Replaced the Pilot Super Sports on my F80 M3 and it's better in every way. The wet grip is insane, it's like you're driving in the dry. Best tire on the market.
352 - tire reviewed on March 9, 2017   
Given 77% while driving a Skoda Octavia vRS (235/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 5,000 average miles
I have Skoda Octavia vRS 2019.
Before those tires i had the original one ( Pirelli P zero).
Those tires was so much better, the feedback is amazing and the grip is perfect !
But i have to say that after 3 track days and 10K kilometers the tyers are dead !
79 - tire reviewed on September 2, 2019   
Given 89% while driving a Audi a6 avant 3.0 tdi s line (255/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 300 average miles
These replaced some Goodyear F1 Supersport tires. The Goodyears had amazing grip, great steering response and I got almost 30k miles out of them. The problem with them was the harsh ride, really noticed a difference when I had the PS4 S fitted and it wasn’t a case of old v new, I noticed the harsh ride after the Goodyears replaced some Pirelli’s. The Michelins are so much more comfortable, a little quieter but are still responsive to steering input. If you’re an out and out racer choose the Goodyears, if you want 99% of the Goodyear’s steering response but value comfort choose the Michelins, I will in future!
44 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2021   
Have you driven on the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S tire?

Have YOU got experience with the Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S? Help millions of other tire buyers

Review your Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S >

Latest Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S Reviews

Given 89% while driving a Audi S5 (255/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 3,000 spirited miles
Replaced OEM fit Pirelli Pzero Rosso with the PS4S and have before noticed a bigger improvement. It actually felt like I have fitted a different suspension setup. The Pirellis wore well but had dramatic tramlining and not the best dry grip. The PS4S immediately gave better steering feedback. They raised the levels of a sporty drive all round like I had replaced my S5 with a new model with no steering or suspension wear that comes with miles. The ride did firm up, like a new feel rather than harsh. when you first drive at speed through corners, it does feel unstable at first, but you realise it is the steering input is more direct and you realise with other tires you over input as the feedback is dampened, so the Ps4S just give a sharper more direct feeling. They stay centred on the motorway and wander or tramline. I don't do a lot of miles so can't really comment on tire wear, but I have done a several thousand and they still look like new and now abnormal wear. It can loose traction under heavy acceleration, but with over 450bhp it i to be expected. Not noticed any issues in wet grip and is as good as the dry. To sum up, a sporty feeling, confidence inspiring tire that does what a good summer tire should.
0 - tire reviewed on November 18, 2021   
Jaguar (/35 R20) on a combination of roads for 5,500 average miles
I got Michelin Pilot Sport 4s tires fitted to all 4 wheels & instantly they appear to be noticeably quieter than the Continental Contact 5P which were previously fitted to my car. The front end grip & cornering is more positive & confirming which gives a good level of confidence when travelling at motorway speeds & carving up the twisty A & B roads in the dry & at times very wet weather we have here in the UK. This positive & confirming feedback also gives great & slightly better breaking performance compared to the previous tires in both wet & dry conditions. Having travelled over 5500 miles I took my car back to the Tire Shop to check the tracking, alignment & tire health check. They pointed out how well the tires were lasting having hardly worn. For the price I have paid these tires are so far doing really well & I would get another set fitted to my car when the current set run down.
0 - tire reviewed on November 17, 2021   
Want the best all season tire? Click here!
Given 43% while driving a BMW 435d (225/45 R17) on for 400 miles
Put 275/30 20r rears and 235/35 20r on front on my bmw435d stage 2 f33 xdrive..... the car did not like them with lots of slipping from the xdrive...the size was perfect match only thing i can think of is the rubber on the rears is harder than the fronts...hadn't problems until i fitted these and i won't be buying any again...4 tires for sale
1 - tire reviewed on November 1, 2021   
Given 92% while driving a BMW X5 (275/40 R20) on a combination of roads for 5,000 spirited miles
Replaced the front tires on my 2014 BMW X5 50i M-sport. Can't being to express what a huge difference this made. Absolutely blown away by the Michelin. Obviously would be a big change coming from Bridgestone Dueler H/P Sport runflats. I was always annoyed by the amount of noise made by these, but even only replacing the fronts has cut the noise significantly. The rears are are still the old bridgestones at size 315/35/20, and just to demonstrate how much more grip the smaller Michelins have in dry, any corner I can load up the fronts progressively or snap steer and the rear just oversteers way before there is even any hint of the front Michelins losing grip. Prior to the Michelins it was understeer only unless you applied boatloads of power. No experience (yet) with wet, live in the middle east. Lastly the comfort levels are hugely improved. Obviously the change from a runflat might make the largest difference, but for a sport tire comfort is really good. Would most certainly buy again(and will), by far the best tire I've ever bought. Handling is excellent, immediate response and accuracy.
2 - tire reviewed on October 12, 2021   
Given 81% while driving a BMW 330i (255/30 R19) on mostly town for 9,000 spirited miles
Had these on other cars. LOVED THEM, but all had higher profiles. These were fitted here on a BMW e93 330i convertible @;47psi so ROCK hard. They are quite impressive, but they perform much better with a higher profile. That said, wet and dry grip is excellent, but they have worn much quicker than I'd hope. Done 10k max. Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5's seem to rate better in most areas, so going to go for those.
0 - tire reviewed on September 5, 2021   
Given 52% while driving a Audi A4 (255/30 R20) on a combination of roads for 180 spirited miles
After changing to this tires after using the goodyear asymmetric 5, i was really shocked at how outdated the car feels. Road roughness vibrates through the cabin, more noise, the sidewall is soft but tires are harsh. So opposite of asymmetric 5 which has harder sidewalls but very plush to drive absorbing road imperfections. Steering feels also feels so inconsistent. I guess many people just buy this because its expensive. Used for a week, changed to Dunlop RT2 and never regretted. Straight away feels so much smoother, quieter with more direct steering. Stay off this outdated tire. Expensive doesn't mean better. Trust me.
4 - tire reviewed on August 13, 2021   
Given 97% while driving a Audi A7 Bi Turbo black edition (285/30 R21) on a combination of roads for 10,000 spirited miles
Got these for a bargain price off amazon (£110 each). Wouldn't have paid the £275 per corner going rate. However, they are way better than the Bridgestones that were fitted previously. They hold the road perfectly, and have been put through a bit of punishment to be honest. Only the sheer weight of the Audi A7 can make them break traction in the wet or the dry when corner sharply, on a roundabout for example, when going too quickly. The tires are at about 50% wear and have been on the car for about a year and 10,000 miles. Maybe a little more. The previous Bridgestones wore faster. I'm changing car soon and it'll have 19 inch wheels. I'll be fitting PS4S to that as well when it needs new tires. Just not sure I'd pay the full price on 21 inch wheels as it is astronomical.
1 - tire reviewed on July 24, 2021   
Given 74% while driving a Ford FG Falcon XR6 Turbo (245/35 R19) on mostly country roads for 32,000 spirited miles
I had michelin ps4 before 245 40 18 and switched to 245 35 19 ps4s. Obviously going from 18s to 19s is going to affect ride quality. I found the PS4 excellent in the wet especially in real heavy rain in the dry they were good and wear was good ride a little firm. The ps4s the grip in the dry and steering response is excellent. In the wet they grip up to a point then brake away I definitely preferred the PS4 in the wet they were great on the limit in the wet. The ride on the ps4s is hard and they are really noisy on coarse bitumen I mean really noisy.
0 - tire reviewed on July 16, 2021   
BMW (/40 R19) on a combination of roads for 19,000 spirited miles
I replaced the 19" Bridgestone runflats (F: 225/40 R19. R: 255/35 R19) with these Michelin Pilot 4 S and have never looked back. The factory tires had plenty of tread at the time I replaced them. The OEMs were harsh, a little noisy and felt like skateboard wheels when cornering but in the wet they weren't too bad at all. Just not confidence inspiring. After watching endless reviews on Youtube I decided on the 4 S'. I knew it would be the right decision and have never looked back. Cornering grip, braking distances, confidence, wet and dry weather handling and tire wear are perfect after 2 years. I will be replacing the Continental 5 Ps on my other car with a set of these in the next few weeks (stock isn't great at the moment for my sizes).
0 - tire reviewed on July 7, 2021   
Given 94% while driving a Honda Civic Type R (245/30 R20) on track for 3,000 spirited miles
I'm at my second set of PS4S-es on an FK8 Civic Type R. From a mileage perspective it's about half and half road and track use with typical track usage following the following pattern: 1 warm-up lap - 1-2 hot laps (depending on the weather) - 1 cool-down lap and so on. The car is stock, minus race pads (Ferodo DS 3.12). Now for the tire - it's a good all-rounder, lasted probably around 4-5K km in this drive mode, decent lap times and the lot. The MOST IMPORTANT issue that I encountered is that the sidewall is soft and you need to run them at higher pressures than what "everybody" tells you. Anything below 2.5 bar and the sidewall, especially on a front-heavy, FWD car as I have will have the car riding on the sidewall and destroying the tire in a couple of laps. (Found this the hard way, BTW). So, as a conclusion, GOOD tire to arrive at the track, pound all-day-long and return home on the same rubber, but keep the pressures up. Cheers
0 - tire reviewed on July 3, 2021   
Given 100% while driving a BMW 335i (225/35 R19) on a combination of roads for 0 spirited miles
Can't really fault this tire or the previous one, althcar, i don;t know about wear as I'm a spirited weekend driver so tend to not care about that or notice that much when it comes to changing tires. Been on Michelins for around 5 years now and will never swap to another tire now.
0 - tire reviewed on May 24, 2021   
Given 90% while driving a Volkswagen Jetta 2.0 FSI Sport (225/45 R17) on a combination of roads for 500 spirited miles
Michelin Pilot Sport 4S on my 2010 VW Jetta 2.0 turbo....The best all around summer tire I have ever driven on. I had never spent $200 per tire in my life, but I can say it was worth every penny. Heavy braking with lots of grip, cornering with a very good feel which took a little time to get used to so I could trust it. Once I got used to it I felt comfortable pushing it in the corners and realized that it has excellent grip cornering. For me, they were not too noisy. The two piece rotors make a little noise, so that may cover up some tire noise. The only down side is that living up here in northern new hampshire, usa, it gets cold in the winter, so I have to remove the wheels off the car and store them in the basement because apparently the tire compound does not like to be exposed the the cold temperatures ( I have these on my summer car which I don't drive in the winter). Highly recommended for Jettas or GTIs.
1 - tire reviewed on May 12, 2021